We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise”

Weathervane Seafood Restaurants
Ranked #33 of 118 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hamburg, NY
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Surprise”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great value for your money....great specials......great sea scallops never disappointed. Always fresh, tasty & good!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mustang88actuator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Weathervane”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had dinner here with my Daughter and Grandson on Friday night. We got there just in time as it filled up quickly (a good sign).
We ordered the Pa's Onion Rings for the table, they were plentiful and great tasting.
My wife and I each ordered the half and half fried oysters and clams, very fresh and cooked to perfection. Our Daughter ordered the sirloin tips with asparagus spears which she said was very good. Our Grandson had the kids portion of Lobster Claws which he devoured, so it must have been good.
The bottom line here is:
The food is expensive, However, when it comes to fresh seafood, you get what you pay for.
I would come here again, But, due to the cost it would be sparingly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“They Cooked a Special Dish for my Friend”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My first visit but my friend goes at least once a week...they know her & make her a wonderful dish that is not on the menu...how nice ! I ordered a lobster roll that was good but needed some more seasoning...not just the mayo that it came with. Super friendly servers & very clean & comfortable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebel500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
“Great Seafood, Great Value”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I dine at this restaurant quite frequently. We have tried the other seafood restaurants in the area, and this is our favorite. The seafood is always fresh and very tasty. The staff always does their best to make sure we are satisfied with the food and the service. The restaurant has a casual, friendly atmosphere, and provides a good value for quality food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
987 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,080 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SERVICE & CONSISTENT QUALITY FOOD AT BUDGET PRICES”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Weathervane Seafood Restaurant in Dover is one of several locations for this small regional chain.

I've dined in most of their locations over the years. I'm partial to this location for the consistent quality of the food and the excellent service.

This most-recent visit was with a group of friends. We were a party of six. We had a reservation. On arrival, we were seated promptly. Our waitress took our drink orders quickly. After delivering our drinks, she took our food orders.

Although The Weathervane is known for its seafood dishes, one friend ordered the Seafarer Apple Harvest Chicken at $12.45. It was a fall special. I'd seen her eat that dish before and decided to try it myself. Friend #2 had the Haddock Nuggets Dinner at $11.50. Friend #3 had the Fantail Shrimp Dinner at $14.50. Friend #4 had the Clam Strip Roll at $8.75. Friend #5 had the Basket of Shells at Market Price. That was a basket of steamers.

While waiting, we enjoyed the rolls and butter with our drinks.

Our food orders came out about 15 minutes later. Everything was prepared to everyone's satisfaction.

I really liked the Seafarer Apple Harvest Chicken. The topping was a crabmeat stuffing mixed with nice seasonings that went well with the flavors of the two chicken breast fillets. There was a light application of Side Hill Farm Maple Apple Drizzle. The meal came with steamed vegetables and a small side of coleslaw. I was able to eat half the meal. The rest got packed to go.

The service from our waitress was excellent.

It was a pleasant lunchtime outing to catch up with friends and have a very good meal. .

These are the reasons why our group has returned here several times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurene_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Weathervane Seafood Restaurants also viewed

 

Been to Weathervane Seafood Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing