We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon trip”

Children's Museum of New Hampshire
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Children's Museum of New Hampshire invites families to explore amazing creative exhibits that make learning fun. Discover dinosaurs, submarine, aerodynamics, brain waves, music, art, nature and more. Special area for babies and toddlers upstairs. Riverfront setting with playground, benches and picnic tables. Open year round with special events, classes, performances and workshops. Fall/Winter/Spring Hours: Tues-Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 12-5pm. Summer Hours (mid-June - Labor Day): Mon-Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 12-5pm.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great afternoon trip”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I visited last fall with my two-year-old niece. She had a fantastic time. Lots of interactive gadgets for kids to play with. It was a great afternoon. They have a fun gift shop. If you live in Dover, you can get free passes at the library.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FiftyandDiningOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChildrensMuseumNH, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of New Hampshire, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for sharing your review. Many libraries do have passes to visit the museum, but the program offers half-price rather than free admission. It's still a great savings over the $9 regular rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    39
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Papa"s favorite”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I take my three grandsons two are 2 years old and the oldest is 4 . They all love it.. so many busy and fun things to do. The oldest favorite is the submarine. They have alego area where you make a car and race it down a track. Also a dinosaur area where you pretend to dig up bones. An area for coloring and painting. A cool place to dress up and see yourself on a tv screen. My favorite as BIG KID is where you touch these pieces of wood and music sounds come out. Always check the schedule for upcoming events. There is more... Around the corner is a new LEAF, yogurt shop also. HAVE FUN!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChildrensMuseumNH, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of New Hampshire, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for your review, Frank - you covered so many of visitors' favorite areas to play and explore! And yes, we do have a new Orange Leaf frozen yogurt up the street. The other nearby restaurants and shops make Dover a great destination for a family day trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun place to take your grandchildren!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a lovely place to take your grandchildren on a rainy day or on one of those very cold winter days. So much to see, do and experience. No matter what their interests are or what their learning style is, there is something for every child here! Don't miss this hidden gem in Dover . . . . check it out soon! While in town, try Week's Kitchen for breakfast or lunch, right up the street, two blocks away.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChildrensMuseumNH, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of New Hampshire, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for this great review, and we appreciate that you shared a recommendation of where to eat in Dover, too! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tha Bo, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place (especially if you're a nanny!)”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

When I was a nanny for a 3-year-old boy and a 4-year-old girl - this place made for a wonderful way to spend the morning or afternoon. There are activities to suit all sorts of ages, interests, and abilities. You can find something great to do on each floor. The family I nannied for had a membership - which I would recommend (to get for your own family, or as a great gift idea for friends with families of their own). The museum is so interactive and fun - and interesting! It was a great place to take the kids, particularly if I had run out of clever and creative ideas/activities for that week. We would bring lunch and picnic inside their cafeteria, and finish up with some playtime on the playground. Fun!

I'd suggest calling ahead to check and see if there are any / how many school groups may be visiting that day. If your kiddos don't like crowds, I'm sure the staff would be able to help you figure out a relatively mellow time for you to visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChildrensMuseumNH, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of New Hampshire, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of our museum. We love our river-front location and adjacent playground in the park. The playground will be getting a major makeover in 2015 so it will be even more fun for kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for the grandchildren”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have our grandchildrens birthday partys here, and when they visit we often go and have a great time. I enjoy it has much as the kids.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank da3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChildrensMuseumNH, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of New Hampshire, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review about birthday parties at the Children's Museum of NH. We host parties all year round and are introducing new themes and activities in 2014. We are glad you enjoy the museum as much as your grandchildren do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Children's Museum of New Hampshire also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of New Hampshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing