We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday arrival”

Newick's Lobster House
Ranked #2 of 117 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamburg, NY
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sunday arrival”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Have been going here for years and seafood chowder is still very good, but sea scallops were just okay and whole belly clams the same, not horrible just average. We found better later in the week somewhere else. A little disappointed because we expected better, plus our server was just about like not there. It was not busy so we did expect service to be more than wait long time to have someone come to take our order (plenty of staff standing around, like they were waiting for it to get busy) and after bringing our food never checked with us and had to hunt down to get the check.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mustang88actuator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    151
    79
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala Fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in the State”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Grew up on Dover Point right next door to Newicks moved away 15 years ago and always make it a point to return to this place every year when we come back to visit Capt Jack makes this a great place to eat can not find anything here in Floreida to compare to the great taste of a good old Newicks Seafood Plate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nateseke10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
301 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointment after many years”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've been coming here since our grandparents were around and have taken our children many times. We've always loved the fisherman's platter, onion rings, and chowder. This time, the chowder was the equivalent of watered-down skim milk with some small pieces of potato and clam, not the thick comforting chowder we've come to expect. Disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMF568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Have never wanted to eat at a restaurant two nights in a row, until now”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is one of our favorite spots in New England. On a recent return visit to the area (we have moved away), it reminded us of how much we missed it. Wonderful selection of great seafood, view of the water, and relaxed atmosphere. Great place and a must visit in the area. Be warned if you are looking for upscale--the plates are paper, and it goes for the picnic look. But, the food is top notch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Tagged along with the Wedding Rehearsal group who was having their Dinner here. I had the Lobster Stew which was simply large chunks of lobster in a butter and cream base (maybe 16oz? in paper bowl). That plus a large onion ring appetizer (on styrofoam plate) and two plastic (punch bowl size) cups of red wine came to $40. I don't eat seafood very often and rarely lobster, so I cannot comment on value or taste, but I did enjoy the stew not the onion rings (they were only warm by the time they came out). The idea of the plastic and styrofoam is supposed to save you some $$, so I'll have to let you decide. This place is definitely accommodating for large groups (about 30 in ours). We were able to have separate checks without any trouble.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieG723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newick's Lobster House also viewed

 

Been to Newick's Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing