We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids had a great time”
Review of Hampton Inn Dover

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dover
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Came up here for a week-end swim meet with our 9-year-old, and we'll be back. Quiet (despite most of the swim team staying here), a very comfortable room, and extremely practical.

The best thing about this hotel, as far as the team was concerned, was not the nice, warm pool, but the large lobby/breakfast area, which served as an informal meeting area/dining area and rumpus room. It was large, comfortable and perfect for just hanging out.

Also good, from our point of view, was the hot breakfast. We had to be at the meet at 6:15 am (!), and the breakfast started, supposedly, at 6:00 am, so we thought it would be a tight scrape. But the management was practical and customer-friendly, and the food was out and ready before 6:00 am.

The objections? Well, it's a Hampton Inn, not one of the more upscale brands in the Hilton lineup. So the in-room coffee was pretty thin, the fittings not quite sumptuous, etc., etc. It was a cold day in June, and we could NOT manage the heat properly, so I woke up in the middle of the night dreaming of global warning, I kid you not. But it's a minor complaint; you know the drill already if you do a lot of chain hotels.

All in all, though, a pretty good experience at a fair price. This is apparently the default hotel for our Boston-based swim club, and I can see why.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferlinghetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

We enjoyed hosting your swim meet at the Hotel. I am glad you were happy with the Breakfast and our lobby area. We do look forward to your next visit to Dover. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel is in a great location, is very clean and has a pleasant staff. We used the pool and jacuzzi and it was well kept with fresh pool towels available-even though they are the size of a hand towel. They offer a free hotel shuttle but they do not advertise it. You need to ask for it and sign up for a space. When we were there they had 2 weddings going on so the shuttle was blocked off for "wedding runs" which was not convenient for the other guests not attending the weddings.
The room was clean and I liked the bathroom. It had a large walk in shower (no tub) and a nightlight which is handy when in unfamiliar hotel rooms. The tv is a flat screen but it is small and looks odd in such a large room. The bed was not very comfortable, but that's a personal observation and some may love it.
The only real issue we had was that we didn't sleep at all!! The doors on the rooms do not have a "slow close" feature, so they slam. And loud! All night, as the various wedding guests went in and out of their rooms, we heard slam slam slam! It was fairly constant until about 3am. Sadly our alarm went off at 7am so we were exhausted. When staying at a hotel, getting some rest is important and it was not possible here.
Perhaps if it's a slower time you would not be bothered by the closing doors. The hotel is wonderful, if not for this issue.
I don't think I would return because being awake all night is not enjoyable and I wanted a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabbygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We do appreciate your business. I hope you reconsider staying with us in the future. I will alert our Maintenance Dept to check on the doors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Hotel seems fairly new, everything is clean and up to date, Nice room, flat screen TV, super comfy king bed, No microwave in room, we wouldn't have used it anyway...just saying, but very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardoyoungini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have stopped here the last 2 years on our return from Florida. This hotel is well worth the drive in from the Interstate 95. Great breakfast and always clean rooms. This hotel gets top marks and staff are always friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willi442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Dover for business and the location was perfect - just three minutes from where I needed to be and to the downtown area of Dover. It is also convenient to highways. The hotel itself is just what you would expect from a Hampton Inn. My only complaint is that the TV was small and situated quite far from the bed so was hard to see. The heating/cooling unit was also very noisy and it woke me up a few times during the night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocesweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We are located just off Route 16 exit 9 and 2-3 min. from down town where you can shop or have many options to eat. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. I have informed our Maintenance Dept. to check the Unit in the room you stayed in for repairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a relatively new hotel property conveniently located right off Route 16 in Dover, NH. It is close to many restaurant and shopping locations. My wife and I stayed for 1 night while attending a wedding in Dover and the hotel was a good example of a modern Hampton Inn. Comfortable room, decent bathroom, typical breakfast offerings. All in all, a decent choice if you need lodging in the Greater Portsmouth/Dover area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gf2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

I would like to Thank you for your feedback on your visit to Dover. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you next visit to the Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

A good Hampton will have a comfortable bed, decent linen, be clean and fresh, with friendly customer service, tea/coffe 24/7, good wifi and business center - and this one delivered. Easy to get to, but away from worst of the strip stuff, short drive to center of Dover, near many chain food restos and some great indie restos/cafes. Like all other Hampton free breakfasts, could have healthier, lower fat/sugar choices.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingnearandfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for your review of the Hotel. We enjoy having you stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.4 mi away
The Garrison Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
6.1 mi away
The Anchorage Inn - Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dover

Address: 9 Hotel Dr, Dover, NH 03820-2171
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Dover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dover
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dover
Price Range: £79 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located close to the beaches, malls & outlets, airports, mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dover Hotel Dover
Dover Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing