We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was a little disappointed in the breakfast. Everything...”
Review of Days Inn Dover

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Dover
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dover
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    187
    113
    56
    40
See reviews for
256
125
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We made reservations months ago to stop at this hotel on our way to Maine. We specifically picked this hotel because of the availability of the room type we needed. We checked in late on Friday evening and was told we were in room 127 and when the hotel key would not work we looked at the card holder and it said 125, Tried that and it worked. Hopefully no one was on 127 and was panicked thinking some one was trying to break into their room. Upon walking into the room we discovered it was two full beds, We had booked a king suite room. My fiancee went immediately to the desk and told them and they said he was wrong that is what we booked. He came to the room and looked up our reservation on his email and our confirmation said it was a king bed suite. He went back to the desk with the confirmation number and the lady still claimed we were booked for a double full beds and said it would be the same price no matter what size the beds were anyway. The bathroom floor was dirty and the rug in the room could use a good shampooing. The only positive I have to say is the air conditioner was wonderful!! The breakfast was not bad for a free breakfast. I found it rather ironic that on the bed stand there is a laminated letter from the management saying that if you do not get first rate service form the staff to make sure to let them know because they strive to make sure all needs are met. Evidently the staff have not read that letter yet!! We will not stay here again and will not recommend this hotel at all. We used rewards points to book this room and will make sure that the hotel chain knows how disappointed we were with the room we were given on Monday morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyjoy300, General Manager at Days Inn Dover, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
As I explained to Stephen on the telephone today and in his review on Trip Advisor that in researching your reservation we found that your reservation has been changed from a king to two double beds on August 9, 2014 by central reservations. We did upgrade you to our poolside room which had a microwave and fridge and two double beds. We here at the hotel did have you originally in a King Size Suite but moved you due to the change on August 9, 2014. Please note that we only have one King Size Suite in the hotel. We were unable to change your reservation when you checked in as we were full and someone was already in that room. We have contacted Days Inn Customer Care and they will be researching your reservation to see why it was changed on August 9.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the last time I will let me husband book a hotel for us. Between the terrible deal and the nightmare that ensued, I would have preferred a tent.
My husband has a large extended family in New Hampshire and we drove up from New Jersey for a 25th wedding anniversary party this past weekend. We have plans to return several times over the next year as we love it up there and always have a great time. Unfortunately, as charming as Dover is (LOVE the churches and repurposed mills), we will never stay at the Days Inn again and I made sure to tell the rest of the huge family to find other accommodations nearby.
Things were okay at first, although the Saturday night desk guy takes his job of policing smokers and anyone daring to breathe too loud way too seriously. When you check in they tell you 9pm to 9am is 'quiet time' and they are very serious about it. We met another guest who was told he had to leave the hotel property entirely to smoke and was chastised again for sitting at the picnic area talking with his family, not yelling, no music, just talking over a couple of beers outside. We came in from our party and barely heard them when we parked our car near where they were hanging out, they were not loud by any means. I did wonder if the parents of the girl screaming down the hall near the pool at 7am were admonished so severely.
The beds were comfortable except for the oddly place spare bed in the area outside the bathroom where my son slept as opposed to sharing a full bed with his sister. Being the room was small, I can understand that was the only place for the spare bed. I also agree with another reviewer who said the rooms were either too dark or turned into a peep show with the large windows that open out to the pool.
My husband and I woke up early and went down for coffee and breakfast. He ate and I just had coffee thankfully (more on that in a minute). We took our coffee and went walking around Dover, well off the hotel property, to smoke. We actually walked over four miles around town before the kids got up. The town itself is quaint and seems to be making an effort to reinvent itself and repurpose old buildings, which I love.
We went back up to the room and I went to the bathroom to brush my teeth. I flipped on the light just in time to see our extra guests scurrying off of my toothbrush, up the wall and behind the mirror...yes COCKROACHES! Four of them! I screamed and woke the kids up, I am surprised the noise police from the front desk didn't come up and scold me. After that, there was no way I would touch any of the food there, I had a hard time even sitting in the room waiting for the kids to get up and ready. A very nice girl that was working in the kitchen told us about a great bakery in town to get myself something to eat, but they are closed on Sundays unfortunately. We had a hard time finding anything open, so I ate honey roasted cashews for breakfast that were in the car. I also walked to the cute little grocery store with sweet employees down the street to get a new toothbrush, which I waited to use until we stopped for gas. I was so grossed out, I couldn't even use the sink in the room.
I wanted to run screaming to the front desk at 6am when I found them, but my husband is way too nice. He told the uninterested girl at the front desk when we checked out and instead of taking it seriously or making ANY attempt to make it right, she said "Thank you, these are the things we need to know about." It's lucky for the Days Inn that he 'handled it' because I wanted to stand in the kitchen doorway and let all the guests know that the hotel has rooms right above the kitchen with the most disgusting, pervasive, disease carrying bugs on the planet as roommates.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyjoy300, General Manager at Days Inn Dover, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for letting me know of your experiences at our hotel and our downtown areas. We do take all your comments and concerns very seriously. We are not sure what you saw in the bathroom but our Maintenance Staff and Pest Control Company inspected your room and the surrounding rooms as well and no bugs of any type were found. We are smoke free property and our quiet time is 9:00pm to 9:00am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I've been staying there for business last week. It's a great location, right in the city center of Dover NH. More than enough free parking places. Many restaurants at walking distance. The Fish Shanty is the next door neighbour. The rooms are nice and clean. They offer a nice breakfast. The staff is very friendly and more than willing to help you with anything. One of the most impressing things is their indoor pool and spa. The spa is so nice and warm, great relaxing moment after a days work.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ico J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyjoy300, General Manager at Days Inn Dover, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for letting me know of your stay at the Dover Days Inn. It is so nice being downtown to walk right next door to get a great meal at the Fish Shanty. The spa is very relaxing and so glad you took advantage of the pool too! Looking forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

stayed for 3 nights while visiting our daughter and family in Dover. Enjoyed our stay. Found a lot of confusion when making our reservation by phone. On 2 different calls we were quoted different prices over a time lapse of only 30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyjoy300, General Manager at Days Inn Dover, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are so very glad to hear that you stayed with us at the Dover Days Inn while visiting your daughter and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry for the confusion with rates but sometimes rates will change depending upon availability at any time. Please call the hotel directly and we will be happy to make your reservation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are clean as well. Bed was ok, but clean and free of any kind of bugs. Breakfast was good as well. It has everything to fill you up quickly, fruits, yogurts, bread, oatmeal, cereals, orange juice and cofee. I will go again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyjoy300, General Manager at Days Inn Dover, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments on your stay at the Dover Days Inn. We try very hard to make sure that you have a clean and comfortable room! We are so very glad that you enjoyed our new Day Break Breakfast and that you will be joining us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Metro
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Nice indoor pool, the room was clean, beds were OK. The property is clean. Plenty of parking, rooms in the back were quiet. Free breakfast was a plus, but the omelet was horrible. The hard boiled eggs were better. There was also toast, cereal and pancakes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asia999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyjoy300, General Manager at Days Inn Dover, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for letting me know of your recent stay at the Dover Days Inn. We have recently turned up our warmer to keep the omelets hotter. Putting them in the microwave for about 30 seconds warms them up nicely too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#1 of 6 in Dover
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
5.1 mi away
Three Chimneys Inn
Three Chimneys Inn
#1 of 2 in Durham
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Dover

Property: Days Inn Dover
Address: 481 Central Ave, Dover, NH 03820-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Dover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Dover 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is up on us at the Days Inn Dover Durham Downtown hotel! Book a room at this pet-friendly hotel, and get more out of your next trip. Conveniently located off Route 108, our Downtown Dover, NH, hotel near University of New Hampshire and just 33 miles from New Hampshire Motor Speedway is a great value. Our free parking lot makes it easy to get on and off the road. Coming to the area to visit the University of New Hampshire? We are less than a 15 minute drive to the campus! Make each morning shine with our Daybreak complimentary breakfast featuring a make-your-own waffle station, juice, coffee and more. Our non-smoking hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access in all rooms as well as a business center and meeting space. After a long day, relax in our Heated Indoor Pool with Jacuzzi(R) hot tub. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. All guest rooms include a Coffee Maker, TV with expanded cable and HBO, a clock, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and personal safe. We have a 24-Hour Front Desk Service as well as Laundry and Valet Service available. Daily or weekly rentals are also available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Days Inn Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing