We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love the Stanford B&B!!”
Review of Stanford B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stanford B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Enfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our second stay with Sue and Ray at the Stanford B&B and once again it did NOT disappoint. They are so kind and accommodating and whip up some of the best breakfasts. The maple and acorn room are a perfect fit for my husband and our kids and the beds are so comfortable! The views all around are amazing and make sure you take a trip down to the lake. Also, pencil in some time to look at the stars because you can see hundreds of them. This place is a definite must- don't hesitate and book now!! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catherinemartin512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Sue and Ray were the perfect hosts for our one night stay and welcomed us into their beautiful home overlooking Crystal Lake. The house is a modern log pine home with huge picture windows looking out over the lake and is surrounded by lawns and woodland.
The room and en suite were both spacious, well appointed and immaculate.
It was lovely to chat to Sue and Ray in the evening, learning about the area and its history whilst Sue made scrumptious blue berry muffins which we realised the next morning were just a small part of our breakfast feast.
Stanford B&B would make a great place to stay for a longer break and we were only sorry we couldn't extend our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Went to Lebanon NH for a concert with my wife and had no idea where to stay. With so many positive reviews for the Stanford B&B, this was a no-brainer. Can't say enough about this B&B: exceptionally clean inside and out, hosts Sue and Ray are incredibly welcoming, fantastic breakfast, great tips for local spots. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishing_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanfordBB, Owner at Stanford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks so much for the review. We always appreciate your input. Glad you had a great
visit. Ray and Sue Stanford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We loved staying with Sue and Ray in their beautiful house on Crystal Lake. The rooms are beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts delicious, all freshly cooked by Sue. The Lake is stunning with the opportunity to use Sue's canoe for trip on the lake. Sue and Ray could not have been more welcoming. Highly recommend as a place to stay, anytime of year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanJer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ray and Sue are so warm and welcoming. My BF and I biked in from the Northern Rail Trail (27 miles). We were tired and hungry when we arrived. Ray picked us up in a van a few miles from the B&B so we wouldn't have to ride up "Hearbreak Hill". As they went into town for dinner, they were nice enough to order and bring us back our dinner while we had our showers and recovered from our bike ride. The Maple room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was across the hall. It was very big, clean and had everything that we needed (a hot, hot shower :-)). Both Ray and Sue made a wonderful breakfast. We had pleasant conversation with another couple staying there. Ray was nice enough to offer us a ride back to our car so we didn't have to ride 4 hours in the rain. Ray and Sue go out of their way to make you comfortable and enjoy your stay. You know that they take great pride in their B&B and making sure that their guests are having a pleasant experience. We will visit again in the summer to swim and kyak on the beautiful Crystal Lake. Thank you, Ray & Sue!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were on a nostalgia tour, visiting Crystal Lake where we used to have a property on the shore opposite the Stanfords. For eight summers (1967-73), our family reveled in the beauty and serenity of the lake and its surroundings, but then moved to the West Coast and had to give it up. What a joy to find Sue and Ray's marvelous B&B on our favorite lake! Their beautiful log home, with its wonderful view and very comfortable and attractive accommodations, proved a perfect setting for us to reminisce and enjoy the scenery --- including a handsome red fox and several wild turkeys in their field. We've never encountered more congenial and attentive hosts than Sue and Ray, and they go all-out to ensure a home-like experience. Sue's breakfasts are superb and they even gave us a boat ride around the lake so we could view our former property from the water. All in all, we couldn't have been happier than we were with the Stanfords and their B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanfordBB, Owner at Stanford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

We meet amazing people like you two. Thanks for selecting us for your trip. It was a joy to have you at our B & B.
Ray & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a lovely setting! Great breakfasts made by Sue and something different every day to tempt us. Four of us stayed here during a trip around North America and Canada. It was clean and there was plenty of room to spread out, we especially enjoyed the balcony and views to the lake. Ray and Sue were very attentive and even treated us to a boat trip around the lake when we arrived. The weather was hot so we took advantage of the canoes and rowing boat provided. We loved the whole atmosphere which was very relaxing. Only sorry to leave!

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LambLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stanford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford B&B

Address: 241 Crystal Lake Rd, Enfield, NH 03748-3741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Enfield
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Enfield
Price Range: £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New, modern log home. Enjoy views of Crystal Lake from our deck and dining area. Three rooms with private baths. Queen size bed, king size, and twin beds available. Roll away available. Ceiling fans, hardwood floors, cozy down quilts, air conditioning in summer. Very clean rooms, nicely decorated. Breakfast included. Enjoy our dock, canoe, kayaks, fishing boat. Shallow swimming area. You may see loons and a blue heron, also deer and wild turkey in the field. Fishing with a NH license. Beautiful foliage in the fall. Snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Areas of interest include Dartmouth College, Cardigan Mt. School, St. Gaudens National Historic Site, LaSalette Shrine, Shaker Museum. Great restaurants in area. Enjoy a quiet stay while visiting the area. Picturesque Vermont just across the river. The White Mountains one hour away. $90 rate is for one person. Additional charge of 9% NH meals and rooms tax. Rate for two people is $125, plus additional charge of 9% NH meals and rooms tax. An extra person is $20. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing