We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whaleback Mountain Still Offering Lots of Winter Fun”
Review of Whaleback Ski Area

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #5 of 5 things to do in Enfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small ski area that offers both alpine skiing and snowboarding, at a base elevation of 1,100 and summit elevation of 1,800 feet.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Whaleback Mountain Still Offering Lots of Winter Fun”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I am certainly a bit bias about the Whale having skied here for years and even worked here. But I can tell you that this is a great little mountain with affordable skiing and riding. A perfect place for a child or adult to learn how to ski or ride. Excellent, experienced, caring instructors with lessons that don't cost an arm and a leg. 700 vertical feet, 32 trails, 3 lifts, 2 terrain parks, night skiing/riding, cruisers, steeps, glades, magic carpet learning area, and 100% FUN.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRedWheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Hartland
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bank owned now”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This property was just auctioned off. Not in business as of now. August 6, 2013
Hopefully, they will find someone that can get it up and running again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bankrupt”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

According to local news reports, they are bankrupt as of April, 2013. I would check before visiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SEAsiaVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small mountain, but lots of fun”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We were a little leary when we first arrived, but was pleasantly surprised once we got off the lift. It is larger than it appears. Very helpful and friendly staff. Considering the lack of snow this year, this mountain has done a great job at maintaining the trails that still have snow. Well worth the stop.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nikcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intervale, NH
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Needs some serious infusion of cash”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I had a discount coupon for $20, turns out I could have skied for $15 on Sunday from 9 a.m. - Noon. It was Super Bowl Sunday and the place was pretty deserted. Maybe 3 dozen cars in the parking lot and this is locals area not a destination resort. Good thing I decided on Sunday as they are closed Mondays and other weekdays don't open until 1p.m. There is one double chair not detachable that goes to the top. It broke down several times and it looked they were flipping circuit breakers to get it running again. There were only 9 of the 30 trails open. Yes it has been a tough year for natural snow but if you don't make they won't come. Someone needs to put some cash into the mountain, replace the lift, open the west side of the mountain, etc. It's a catch 22.
Staff was friendly. Cafeteria had mostly fried foods, wanted a sandwich and they had to go to the lounge upstairs. Didn't even have tuna salad made and only had hamburg or hot dog buns.
Had I known I never would have bought the discount coupon. Sorry!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MeaganLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whaleback Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Whaleback Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing