We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm beer, cold food!”

Margaritas Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 49 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentically delicious food and drinks made fresh to order daily. Art and furnishings handcrafted in Mexico. For family, friends and community, the fiesta starts here. It's like being in Mexico without getting on a plane.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm beer, cold food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Sam Adam's Summer Ale served in a warm pint glass fresh from the dishwasher, head instantly disappeared and it looked like someone had taken a gulp before it reached the table. Fajitas, my wife's served with a sizzle, mine served without a sound. Black beans had a crust on them; maybe they had sat on the platter just a wee bit too long. Tortilla shells had steamed until they just fell apart making them useless. On the up side the salsa and chips were good. Not impressed, while others seem to be. Kind of high priced for Mexican fare as well-pedestrian at best.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KidTaco, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review and your feedback. We strive to make every fajita perfect and taste great and the sizzle just makes it a fiesta. Sorry that we let you down on your most recent visit. Warm beer is disappointing as well and we will order more glass ware so that we can stay ahead of keeping them frosty. Again thank you for your feedback it helps us to improve. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    34
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I used to come to the Exeter location more often when I lived in town but I always try to go back every once and a while. The staff is always very friendly and this last visit our waitress Allison was very accommodating and patient. Everyone I was with decided to try out some menu items they hadn't had yet and no one was disappointed. As always we look forward to returning!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KidTaco, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for the review Lea. We look forward to your returning. Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

place was not that busy they only had one waitress for our section not very attentative not one to keep up with table and beverage's etc if it was busyer I would have understood but she only had us and another table when we were there wont go back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovebirds428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KidTaco, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Every guest is important to us and we will use it to coach our staff on the importance of not becoming complacent during the slower periods of the evening. I'm sorry that your experience with us was not the fun and festive time that we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
167 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Generous portions, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although Mexican purists may decry the 'americanization' of Mexican food by chain restaurants, some of the chains do a pretty good job getting close to authentic. I consider Margaritas to be one of these. The location in Exeter is right off the main highway and the restaurant is spacious with a good amount of outside seating in fair weather. On the evening we visited - a Saturday - it was not very crowded so there was no wait for a table. Indoors, the decor is distinctly Mexican with some interesting artwork. It is a pleasant environment and the booth we were in was comfortable. Service was good, but not outstanding. Free chips and salsa starts you out and we had several refills as we were pondering the menu so we actually skipped the (seemingly expensive) appetizers. The entrees are mostly in the $11 to $18 range. The 4 of us had items from all over the menu including a Fajita Salad, Burritos, Tacos, and one 'special' that had one of each main entree choices - sort of a sampler. All of us rated the food as 'good' but not great and the portions were generous. As a result, we did not try any of the desserts as we were totally stuffed. We all had beer - bottled and on draft, and the selection was pretty good.

Overall, this is a place I would recommend if you are looking for large portions at moderate prices. We plan to visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northern_Traveler701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KidTaco, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the review and we are happy you gave us a try. We also have some great appetizer specials in our lounge every Monday through Friday from 3 to 6 that you may be interested in. Hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
203 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Generic, but decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had a quick dinner here while in town visiting friends. The location was convenient to my hotel - practically right across the street. I ordered tacos that were pretty good, but the refried beans were ridiculously spicy....I couldn't even eat them but the server did take them off of the check without me even asking. Prices are good and service is friendly!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KidTaco, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for the review. We appreciate your dining with us. Sorry to hear you felt our beans were overly spiced. Normally they are not, so we will review with our kitchen team to make sure recipes are being followed, etc. Our refried beans have been a fan favorite for years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margaritas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Margaritas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing