We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exeter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Exeter Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Country comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Set in the quiet and picturesque country town of Exeter, the Inn used to be owned by Phillips Exeter Academy, which dominates the town. Thankfully, it is now managed by a hotel group, Hay. Rooms are very comfortable and sufficiently roomy, although they have been decorated by a cushion fetishist. The décor attempts, unsuccessfully, to imitate an English country club, but tries too hard, with clashing carpets and soft furnishings. The restaurant is good - the best in town - if a little pricey. Prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Check out the dates of key events at PEA - the place gets very heavily booked then. There is no publ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhineasFogg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear PhineasFogg 54,

Thank you for the Hay Creek Hotels management shout-out! I appreciate your take on the “English country Inn”, but we actually followed the blue print of a 4-diamond upscale, luxury hotel company. The quality of the hard and soft goods is high end. We also wanted to add a fresh, contemporary feel to the property while paying homage to the tradition and history the property deserves - a delicate balance to say the least. Overall I think by and large guests think we hit it just about right. Thank you for the compliments regarding Epoch our restaurant. WE have just recently changed the menu to a fall/winter menu, added 3 more entrees and decreased our prices. Casual elegance at reasonable prices – you can’t beat that! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    66
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
45
81
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying here because not many places have turn down service at night and a cookie every night.
I really enjoyed the bathrobe and slippers as well! It really made me feel at home! The beds are very comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Hillarie S,

One of our objectives is to provide the service you would expect in a major metropolitan city-center hotel in the countryside of seacoast New Hampshire. That’s part of our delight & surprise philosophy. E are pleased to have made your stay comfortable and memorable. We look forward to being of service to you again - soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was spending one night in Exeter to visit a friend on the tail end of another trip and she recommended the Exeter Inn. I stayed on a Sunday night, so it was very quiet, all of the wedding guests having checked out (I arrived early and the place was swarming with folks checking out), so can't say how it would be on a weekend - busy I am guessing as it appears to be a lovely venue for wedding receptions. My room was very small, but good enough for me alone for one night. My only complaint was that the bathroom sink was one of those lovely vessel sinks, but it made it so there really was nowhere to easily put your stuff in the bathroom. My friend and I had a drink and cheese plate in the bar and the bartender, Brian was super nice. We then ate at the restaurant "Epoch", which was good as well. I'd likely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear BJL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I am delighted that your stay with us was so pleasurable. I agree, if I may, it is a beautiful place to have a wedding, so much so that we have been non-stop through mid-November well past the “traditional” wedding season. The vessel sinks, which can be viewed on line are enchanting. I will check your room and see if we can add more glass shelf space. Thank you for the tip. I am glad you enjoyed Epoch (pronounced Epic) restaurant. We have an enormously talented Chef, culinary team and anxious to please bar staff. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

old world, charming inn with nice traditional finishes, but poor ventilation and old or malfunctioned plumbing in 2 rooms we used. Receptionist was defensive when we brought it to her attention that "it was not her fault" when all we wanted to do was get a new room, not there to fix plumbing. Rooms smelled like the rooms are not ventilated properly due to small nooks of the architecture. When we opened the window, one had screen window, the other had none. No blow dryer in both and peeling wall paper in one room for a 3.5 star hotel? Nice touch that they have coffee tea at reception.

Room Tip: make sure room air is good before settling down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84susan_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear 84susan_1958,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are always appreciative the time guests take and the positive as well as constructive comments they share. In review of your comments, our staff service by and large does not typically get a review such as this. My apologies for the guest service agent who was not able to appropriately deal with your concerns. There is no reason to get defensive when a guest is who is simply trying to assist us when we fall short. We have addressed the staff and used this as a “teachable moment”. I believe we were able to isolate the issue that contributed to the smell in your room and made the appropriate adjustments. It was an overflowing AC water catch pan that on occasion can overflow and create a smell until addressed. Our apologies and thank you for bringing this to our attention. When travel brings you back to the Exeter area we look forward to being of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked the Exeter Inn at the last minute and were so pleased with both the town and the hotel that we extended our stay. The hotel is beautifully decorated - the room was immaculate and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The price for the accommodation was very reasonable for the quality of the hotel and the services offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Suzie 1319,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I am delighted that your stay with us was so pleasurable. Comments like yours are the pinnacle of success for us and source of great pride. We are focused on delivering a level service long lost and are dedicated to the belief that while we may never reach perfection we will endeavor to achieve this every day. I will share your comments with the staff, I know they will be very pleased. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just spent a night at the Exeter Inn in New Hampshire. It was very nice. The room was very spacious, clean & neat. It is a very short and picturesque walk to town with many nice shops & restaurants. I recommend the Green Bean for a delicious breakfast in town. The Epoch restaurant at the Exeter Inn was also very good. We had a very inexperienced waiter, but all turned out well nonetheless.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drhino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear drhino1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and utilized our facilities to their fullest. We are blessed to be in such a beautiful and historic town of Exeter, among the oldest in America and the Revolutionary capital for 14 years. I am sorry we were not on our “A” game while we trained a new service staff member. New to the property and based on your comments, we have reviewed our training procedures, made some adjustments that may help when we introduce new service staff. Thai you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again on the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had no clear idea what to expect from Exeter, since we only read about it in John Irving's novels. It actually is a beautiful town, very charming and New England. The Exeter Inn is the great little hotel to stay at. The rooms are comfortable and quaint, the price is very soft and there are little attention all over the place, like cookies in the room and coffee at reception. Only reason why I don't give 5 stars is, it is a bit worn out. The elevator could use some painting, same for the doors and the stairs to the entrance are made of sad concrete. With a bit more effort and decoration, this could become a beautiful boutique hotel in a wonderful town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear WanderingProfessor,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are always appreciative the time guests take and the positive as well as constructive comments they share. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and rated us near a 5. I have just arrived 2 weeks ago and have reviewed your comments with the maintenance staff. Given the historic nature of our property we unfortunately do not have a service elevator to transport tables and chairs. I can see the elevator has taken some hits over the years. It’s not as easy as putty and paint unfortunately but we do have a plan to remove the paneling carefully sand it and refinish it while developing a plan to improve transportation of hardware when needing to use the elevator. Thank you for focusing us on this area and for your gracious comments. We look forward to your “wandering” return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
6.4 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
12.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Inn

Property: Exeter Inn
Address: 90 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Exeter Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1932 Georgian Stately brick building originally designed to accommodate prestigous families visiting Phillips Exeter Acedemy. The Acedemy is known around the world for its prepareness to attend Harvard University and other major ivy league colleges. The Inn has 46 rooms featuring 3 suites. Located in walking distance to downtown Exeter town center, a short driving distance to Portsmouth, Hampton, Stratham and Epping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Exeter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Hotel Exeter
Inn Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing