We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All Around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn by the Bandstand
Ranked #1 of 2 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Visited over Thanksgiving weekend -Great Place!!! Plan on going back next weekend after Thanksgiving! Room was very nice, very private, very clean. Hosts were the best! Shopping area right out of the 1960'S - Christmas shopped local and loved it. Thank you for such a relaxing time Innkeepers!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helwhells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Kate L, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

You are MOST WELCOME! Exeter, NH is right out of a Norman Rockwell picture... with its very quaint New England charm. Yes, the shops here in town are great. I hope you were able to take advantage of our 'Show Your Room Key' discounts at many of the local shops and restaurants. We definitely support all small business owners and our towns 'shop local' campaign. We would love to have you come visit us again. ~ Sincerely, Jim & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

We recently spent 2 days for my birthday early this month after purchasing a package from Gilt City...Innkeepers Kate & Jim were professional, informative and very gracious and down to earth. Our room was rustic, large, with a working fireplace, big easy chairs with afghans, a desk, tv and mini refrigerator and a sink... the bathroom was ample size as well. We were treated to Port wine in our room and fresh baked cookies in the afternoon and endless coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the common area. Jim arranged for a local winery tour/tasting of 3 vineyards and we spent several hours trying many types of wines including my first ever Pumpkin wine- we even saw the staff chopping, roasting and preparing next year's batch for the presses! We took a short ride to Portsmouth and had a great time exploring the downtown riverfront and made our dinner from several half priced appetizers at Rudi's in the bar during Happy Hour! If it wasn't sooo far away, we would definitely return to the Inn by the Bandstand!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GigiLYMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Kate L, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to our Inn. We love to hear what our guests loved most about their stay. The Lakeheath room is definitely one of our most popular rooms. It is a great room to snuggle in front of the fire in the winter months. We have had many positive comments from our guests with regards to their visits to the local vineyards. Each vineyard is distinct in their own way and the wine is surprisingly very good. We are blessed to be so close to Portsmouth. We do recommend to our guests that are staying at least two nights to make the short trip up there. The variety of shopping and restaurants is just phenomenal. Also close by are the Kittery outlet malls and even closer, several NH beaches. We hope that you do get a chance to come visit us again in the summer months. It is beautiful here then too!! ~ Thank you, Jim & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Inn by the Bandstand and found the experience very pleasing. Our room was the smallest of the bunch (it was a Living Social deal), but it was clean with a comfy bed, nice sheets and a fireplace. I am not a fan of B&B's because a lot of times there is a lot of face-to-face time with strangers and for me, it is a bit much when you are on vacation. The innkeepers Jim and Kate strike a really nice balance -- they are there when you need them or want to chat in a fire-placed living room and they let you have you privacy when you need it. Plus the breakfast is served in a dining room at individual tables seating 2-4 people, so you don't need to chat with strangers unless you want to. Breakfast was your basic hot eggs/bacon/pancakes, but the coffee was nice and strong and the service was great. Lots of little great restaurants in walking distance and most of them give you 15-20% discount if you show them your room key. Nice walking trails all over as well. And don't forget the local vineyards, all within 20-40 min drive. Listen to Kate -- she gave us the best food advise as far as the restaurants go! We will definitely go back!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Kate L, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you SO much. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Inn and got to explore the local area. Your comments regarding b&b's are comments that we hear often. Some folks are more reserved and have a notion that you have to be very social when you stay at a small inn, but as you experienced, that is not always the case. We do try to give both a very intimate experience and a social experience depending on the needs of our individual guests. For the folks that want a even more privacy, we do offer breakfast delivered to your room (for an additional cost). That works well also for folks that do not want to be rushed getting dressed in the AM. We have had GREAT success teaming up with our local vineyards. Each vineyard is small & quaint with distinct wines and atmosphere. We are glad you got to visit some of them. And YES we have GREAT RESTAURANT here in Exeter. I am very lucky to be able to eat well and share my dining experiences with our guests. We look forward to your return visit. ~ Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We recently stayed at this place. It is situated very nicely and is well appointed. Has most of the charm of a New England Bed and Breakfast but little annoyances took away from the "best" experience. For example, breakfast is served at the "exact" time and if you are not there on time (8:30am), you would get served "warmed over" breakfast. Since we were on vacation, the first night we didn't set alarm clock and had to be rushed. It would be nice, if they can ask the guest for their preference for the breakfast time and plan accordingly. Although, hosts were knowledgeable and helpful about the area, it would be nice to have some printed material including local maps available.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDinAvonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Kate L, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments. We explain to our guests at check-in, when we do a tour of our inn and show them our dining room, that we are a 200 year old residential building. Unfortunately, we do not have a commercial kitchen and do not have the facilities to keep items hot. Due to this we indicate that breakfast can only be served hot at one seating. We could put out a cold buffet, but our guest seem to prefer a hot, fresh from the oven breakfast.
Oh gosh, I wish you had asked for information and/or maps of the area and of your interests. We have many pamphlets, guide books and maps available right in our entry area. There are a lot of great things to do in Exeter and in the surrounding area. From the Independence Museum and Philips Exeter Academy right here in Exeter, or antique shops & small local vineyards, the ocean and coastal route or the shopping outlets in nearby Maine and quaint shops & restaurants in Portsmouth, NH, there is PLENTY for EVERYONE! We hope you visit us again if your travels bring you back to Southern NH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The room was beautiful. The food was delicious. The Innkeepers were informative and very personable. Would highly recommend this Inn and plan to return in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nana11Durand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return visit. Please check out our facebook page and our website for new specials and packages. ~ Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Jim and Kate were excellent hosts during our 5 night stay. They helped us plan each day based on our interests, whether it be historical sights, antiquing, shopping, a day at the beach, etc. They will advise you of the best locations and give excellent directions. They also serve an excellent breakfast. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in their beautiful victorian inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Devonshire Room, it was very cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

You are so kind! We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us here at the Inn by the Bandstand. It was very nice to chat with you each morning about your adventures the day before and to give you tips on were to head on the new days adventures. There is so much to do and see here in this area (Maine / NH / MA), we are glad you got to stay with us for 5 days. You were the 'ideal' guest to our home/inn. We hope that you visit us again. ~ Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We recently enjoyed a wonderful weekend at this lovely B& B in nearby Exeter,N.H..The innkeepers were friendly and helpful in planning our time.The downtown is full of fun shops and restaurants.We're outdoor enthusiasts and loved that we could kayak the Exeter river from the marina across the street and bike along the riverside.Plus, being only minutes from Hampton we were able to take in a concert at the Casino Ballroom. Our room was over- the- top gorgeous! We had a wonderful night sleep on a huge high bed full of luxurious pillows! Even though we had a rainy morning it was so relaxing to lounge in the sitting area of our room....then down to the cozy dining room for a yummy breakfast served by our gracious hosts. We're N.H. natives and can't believe we missed this place. We'll definitely return.We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Thank you! You are such a wonderful couple! We are so glad you had such a fun visit. We look forward to you return visit. We would love for you to experience our Inn in the winter.......snuggled next to the fire with a glass of port after a day of snowshoeing at one of our local vineyards! ~ Thank you again, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Bandstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Bandstand

Address: 6 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833-2737
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: £191 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Bandstand 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Inn by the Bandstand is the premier lodging establishment in Exeter, New Hampshire. This wonderful inn is an 1809 historic home located in the heart of downtown Exeter. Only two blocks from the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, eight miles to the seacoast and beaches, and 20 minutes from Portsmouth, this charming inn offers nine antique furnished guest rooms, all with private baths and a delicious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn by the Bandstand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bandstand Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing