We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience! Highly Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn by the Bandstand
Ranked #1 of 3 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was a wonderful experience! We stayed two nights and three days and had a FANTASTIC time! The Inn is beautiful and very relaxing. Our room was lovely to come into upon arrival. Each morning the Inns keeper served a delicious meal in a rather roomy dining room. There was also a convenient refridgerator with very reasonably price drinks such as gourmet looking sodas, water, and other yummy beverages as well as snacks! Most impressively, there was complimentary coffees, teas, and hot chocolate. We also had the luxury of a complimentary bottle of wine as well as delicious port wine. Located right by the downtown area of Exeter, there were many interesting shops and restaurants to visit. This was truly a delightful experience and can't wait to return. I would recommend this Inn to anyone. It was a wonderful stay. 5 star experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Devonshire room. It was quite convenient to get to- only up one staircase. Very sun...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Inn by the Bandstand
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Inn by the Bandstand is a charming Bed & Breakfast in Exeter NH where I stayed for a "girls" weekend in March 2013. The Innkeeper Susan, was extremely friendly, very knowledgeable of the area and always accommodating. The Inn is spotless, our room was lovely with a big working fireplace and sitting room, perfect for us four ladies. Breakfast is included in the beautiful dining room, which was delicious. The location is in very short walking distance to lots of quaint shops and eateries. We were also very close to Gilman park which provided us with a nice hike through the woods. I will definitely be coming back the Inn again. Thank you Susan for your hospitality!
Elaine Graziano, MA

Room Tip: go on line to their website to pick a room to suit your needs. They are all lovely
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend with friends this past weekend. We had a wonderful time. Susan is a wonderful innkeeper. She gave us great advice on places to go, places to eat and things to do. Would definatley goagain and spend time at the Inn. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Devonshire was a beautiful room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thepsofct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

First visit to the Inn by the Bandstand and certainly not our last! Beautifully decorated throughout, yet very welcoming. Susan and her crew are very friendly and knowledgable about the area. Very relaxing and can't wait to go back. Location of the inn couldn't be better. Breakfast beautifully presented and delicious. thank you for such a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRQuig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I never have been one to post reviews about hotels/bed and breakfasts but my boyfriend and I had such a marvelous time and loved the location and Inn so much that I have to get the word out! Sue (the innkeeper) has such a kind heart, and her passion for what she does shows throughout every inch of the house. She is so kind, and we loved spending time at the Inn.

My boyfriend and I will keep our time there very close to our hearts. It was such a special and amazing experience, which is all due to Susan's hard work and expertise. All of her insight and helpful hints made it so great!

I highly recommend this charming home for your next romantic getaway. Exeter is beautiful and Sue is the best!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pnummelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was looking for a place to ask my lady friend to marry me, and this was the prefect place. They had a nice fireplace and a good view from the window. The rooms had a lot of space and was very quiet. They brought are breakfast up to are room and we ate in front of the fire. They also had a wine package worth looking into.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The Inn at the Bandstand is a beautiful bed and breakfast tucked away in Exeter, NH. My boyfriend and I stayed there this weekend and had a fantastic time. The inn keeper Susan is extremely helpful, accommodating, and is a fantastic cook. We were served homemade chocolate chip cookies in the evening and a delicious breakfast this morning. We stayed in the Windsor suite which was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a great ambiance. I would recommend this inn and surely plan on returning back! Thanks Susan! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
0.5 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Bandstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Bandstand

Address: 6 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833-2737
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: £205 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Bandstand 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Inn by the Bandstand is the premier lodging establishment in Exeter, New Hampshire. This wonderful inn is an 1809 historic home located in the heart of downtown Exeter. Only two blocks from the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, eight miles to the seacoast and beaches, and 20 minutes from Portsmouth, this charming inn offers nine antique furnished guest rooms, all with private baths and a delicious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn by the Bandstand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bandstand Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing