We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Exeter Location for this Very Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn by the Bandstand
Ranked #1 of 2 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just spent 2 nights at the Inn by the bandstand and enjoyed it very much. We pass through Exeter often but seldom stay there, so it was great to find such a nice place in a very good location. Also, it is a good place to stay when visiting the coast and Portsmouth, since it avoids the congestion. Exeter can easily be explored from here by foot, including some great restaurants. The owners are new within the past month and are extremely pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was good but a bit skimpier than what we are used to at other B&Bs (probably better for our waistlines!). We will choose this again when we are staying in the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in Devonshire Suite , front 2nd floor. Very nice room but some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for a couple of days over the 4th of July weekend and had a wonderful experience. The new inn keepers were very accomodating and friendly. They have a lot of pans and ideas for the inn and we can't wait to go back and see the changes that will be taking place. Our room, The LakeHeath Lodge was perfect and the breakfasts were delicious - and i don't even eat breakfast normally. The inn just had the perfect warm and inviting atmosphere for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our 19th anniversary, and the accommodations were perfect. The Inn is perfectly situated in downtown Exeter, and a short drive to some of the great restaurants we discovered in Portsmouth (Jumping Jays Fish Café, Café Mediterraneo Ristoranti Italiano). Our visit fell only 5 days after Jaime assumed ownership and he went out of his way to make sure that everything was perfect for us. We were treated to homemade Belgian waffles topped with a fresh blueberry sauce our first morning and homemade croissants the next. Delicious! The owners took the time to get to know us and spoke of their future plans for the Inn. We will certainly be back soon to see their plans and dreams take shape.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getawayc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Charming B and B in the heart of Exeter. We had great set up, double room plus an adjoining room for our 12 year old daughter. Decoration is traditional and quaint. Rooms are very clean with wonderful amenities. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners. Breakfast is different daily and served in a most elegant room. Due to the location, some street noise overnight but close to all the restaurants and shops. The in window AC was essential in the heat. The green bean is our pick for lunch and Blue moon for dinner. Exeter is full of charm and lovely people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froggyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime L, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Thank you taking time to write your review. We very much appreciate you taking time to highlight your visit to this charming town and for highlighting the number one destination in Exeter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We cannot express how truly wonderful our stay (4 nights) was at the Inn by the Bandstand! Jamie,Tino and Susan went completely out of their way to make our stay a totally memorable experience! The Inn is gorgeous, meticulously clean, breakfast a gourmet treat (thank you to Jamie for remembering that I had a fruit allergy and made special dishes to accommodate this) and comfortable! The Inn is within 20 minutes of beaches, whale watching, antiquing and wonderful restaurants. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Devonshire, a large room with sitting area for reading and relaxing, a sunny corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailauletta623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime L, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had a great experience here for a quick birthday getaway from Boston...nice that it is only an hour away, but feels like a whole different world. From the moment we walked into the inn, we felt at home. Susan, the innkeeper was absolutely lovely and so helpful and thoughtful. Whatever we needed for our stay was already thought of and provided! An example, a plate of delicious cookies in our room to greet us since she couldn't be there when we arrived!

We were in the Windsor room, which was beautiful, roomy, and comfortable. Loved the beautiful fireplace and the chandelier in the bathroom...just really nice touches all over the inn! It was March, so appreciated the cozy flannel sheets and extra blankets. Also like the "green" aspect of the shampoo, conditioner, and bath wash dispensers, instead of the tiny throw away bottles.

Breakfast was delicious every morning and we appreciated having coffee & tea out and available all the time. The location was perfect, right in the middle of town within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and Exeter Academy, which was beautiful to walk through.

Susan really made our stay special and we look forward to visiting again. Zachariah was also a perfect host and one of the best parts of staying at the inn!

Room Tip: Each room is so lovely and different. Be sure to browse each one on the website and see which is pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a delayed 5th Wedding Anniversary get away. It was a much needed escape after a very stressful few months. The inn was a beautifully charming and the innkeepers were just lovely. The town was very quaint. We took advantage of the cookies and cocoa delievered to our room in the evening and also the breakfast in the morning. Everything was delicious, but the cookies were AMAZING!! We still talk about those cookies now!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobstoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Bandstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Bandstand

Address: 6 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833-2737
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: £175 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Bandstand 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Inn by the Bandstand is the premier lodging establishment in Exeter, New Hampshire. This wonderful inn is an 1809 historic home located in the heart of downtown Exeter. Only two blocks from the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, eight miles to the seacoast and beaches, and 20 minutes from Portsmouth, this charming inn offers nine antique furnished guest rooms, all with private baths and a delicious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn by the Bandstand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bandstand Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing