We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn by the Bandstand
Ranked #1 of 3 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Jaime and Tino are wonderful! Some highlights for my husband and I: clear email confirmation that helped us figure out exactly where to park. they graciously accommodated our late arrival. we stayed in the kensington. complimentary port awaiting us on arrival to our room. room was immaculate, but still had that victorian charm. bed was creaky but mattress was comfortable. slept like a baby. Gilchrist & Soames of London lotion, shampoo & conditioner, and bath gel in the bathroom. water pressure was fantastic. had tub, a/c, wifi, and TV with full selection of channels. downstairs had nice living room area to relax in. access to communal fridge and ice machine. 24hr access to keurig coffee and tea. (can pay for other snacks in common area--chips, candybars, etc). breakfast was fruit parfait, frittata, and toast accompanied by juice and coffee. filled me up perfectly! breakfast was in dining room with separate tables. they have an AMAZING knowledge of the area attractions both in exeter and surrounding coastal/Portsmouth areas. Taking into account our interests, they helped us plan our entire day. I couldn't have planned it better myself! I have now fallen in love with the area and will be back. I can't wait to return to the Inn in the winter when the fireplaces are in use! overall, a perfect place to stay--- they have such a wonderful balance of hospitality and professionalism.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondieish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    13
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
137
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This place was an absolute gem. I was just looking to try a nice bed and breakfast deal through Groupon somewhere random in NH. When I arrived with my girlfriend, I was taken away by the history and authenticity of this building. Our Inn keeper, Susan, was an absolute delight and gave us a little tour of each room that she could upon our arrival. I loved how immaculate and unique each room was. And after seeing all of them, I felt as though we unexpectedly lucked out and got the best one on the property. It was meant for a family, but we got it all to ourselves. Absolutely beautiful and comfortable furniture, romantic fireplace, bath robes to go with the gigantic bathroom, and a fancy complimentary liquor set with some tasty port. The town of Exeter itself was also quite quaint and charming. I took a long stroll one morning and cruised down the Exeter River to get a glimpse of the town in motion. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was very delicious and again, Susan and her lovable sidekick Golden Retriever, made it feel even more like we were staying with friends and not even paying for it. We will definitely be making our way back to this lovely location some time in the future. Hopefully sooner than later.
-Matt & Jill

Room Tip: Ask for the one on the first floor right at the rear entrance (Sheffield). Honestly though, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photoninja27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We (our family of 4) went there for an extended weekend stay and it was just perfect. The house is fantastic, super clean and stylish. Just as you would picture a B&B. And the new owners are wonderful, friendly, have great ideas and make your stay just great (incl. a fantastic breakfast!)

Room Tip: Suite is perfect with kids due to the separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennes1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

In celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary, my husband and I stayed two nights in this charming bed and breakfast. Since this was our first trip to New England, we really didn't know what to expect. The innkeepers were amazing and made us feel truly loved and appreciated. The town of Exeter is beautifully quaint with its lovely scenery and peaceful ambience. We were even treated to a free concert at the bandstand. Thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandaCC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, General Manager at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just spent 2 nights at the Inn by the bandstand and enjoyed it very much. We pass through Exeter often but seldom stay there, so it was great to find such a nice place in a very good location. Also, it is a good place to stay when visiting the coast and Portsmouth, since it avoids the congestion. Exeter can easily be explored from here by foot, including some great restaurants. The owners are new within the past month and are extremely pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was good but a bit skimpier than what we are used to at other B&Bs (probably better for our waistlines!). We will choose this again when we are staying in the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in Devonshire Suite , front 2nd floor. Very nice room but some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for a couple of days over the 4th of July weekend and had a wonderful experience. The new inn keepers were very accomodating and friendly. They have a lot of pans and ideas for the inn and we can't wait to go back and see the changes that will be taking place. Our room, The LakeHeath Lodge was perfect and the breakfasts were delicious - and i don't even eat breakfast normally. The inn just had the perfect warm and inviting atmosphere for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our 19th anniversary, and the accommodations were perfect. The Inn is perfectly situated in downtown Exeter, and a short drive to some of the great restaurants we discovered in Portsmouth (Jumping Jays Fish Café, Café Mediterraneo Ristoranti Italiano). Our visit fell only 5 days after Jaime assumed ownership and he went out of his way to make sure that everything was perfect for us. We were treated to homemade Belgian waffles topped with a fresh blueberry sauce our first morning and homemade croissants the next. Delicious! The owners took the time to get to know us and spoke of their future plans for the Inn. We will certainly be back soon to see their plans and dreams take shape.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getawayc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agostinho77, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for not having responded earlier but learning a new business is always a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Bandstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Bandstand

Property: Inn by the Bandstand
Address: 6 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833-2737
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Bandstand 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Inn by the Bandstand is the premier lodging establishment in Exeter, New Hampshire. This wonderful inn is an 1809 historic home located in the heart of downtown Exeter. Only two blocks from the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, eight miles to the seacoast and beaches, and 20 minutes from Portsmouth, this charming inn offers nine antique furnished guest rooms, all with private baths and a delicious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn by the Bandstand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bandstand Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing