We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By far the most fabulous place to stay, luxurious, comfortable and absolutely unique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn by the Bandstand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn by the Bandstand
Ranked #1 of 3 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“By far the most fabulous place to stay, luxurious, comfortable and absolutely unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for only 2 nights. However if we had more time we most definitely would have stayed longer. Each suite is decorated to its own unique standard. The room was spectacular and the service phenomenal! Breakfast was beyond delicious and the fruits were fresh from a nearby organic market. The local shops were interesting and intriguing as well as well kept and fun to browse. The back patio was gorgeous and very serene as well as relaxing. At night we visited some very nice restaurants and returned to a night cap that stood in a crystal bottle next to our bed. It was a very wonderful experience. The inn is beautifully decorated and gives an elaborate history of the building.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
137
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to try out the Inn by the Bandstand when we found a Groupon for a two night stay, bottle of wine, and bike rental. The Windsor Suite was immaculate with a beautiful, comfy king size bed and luxurious jacuzzi tub. The Inn has the perfect mixture of antique furnishings and modern conveniences, including a fully-stocked coffee and tea Keurig station. Our stay was lovely and relaxing; we especially loved spending our evenings on the back patio reading. The staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was incredible both days. The bikes on site are a great touch, and the town of Exeter is a really nice place to ride around in. The location of the Inn is perfect because it's in the center of downtown so you can easily browse the local shops, grab a bite to eat, and walk along the river without having to drive anywhere. We were also happy to find that we were only 20 minutes from Portsmouth and 15 from the Hampton Beach boardwalk, so we were able enjoy different NH attractions without having to use up an entire day. We can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The Windsor Suite is perfect for couples! It was very quiet and overlooks the beautiful bandstand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My sister and I only see one another once a year, so we wanted this year to be special, and special it was! Inn by the Bandstand is not only beautiful and historic, but the wonderful staff made it exceptionally pleasant. We felt like beloved family members coming home for a visit! The warmth and kindness shown to us by Jamie, Agostinho and Kim was truly remarkable. Hospitality beyond compare. I must say, my favorite moments of the entire stay were listening to Agostinho telling stories about his time with the peace corps after breakfast one morning. I could have listened to this charming and brilliant gentleman all day! The room was spotlessly clean, quiet, and lovely. The bed comfy cozy. The robe and slippers wonderfully thoughtful, the cooked to order breakfasts, divine. The town is beautiful, with wonderful shopping and dining. Lovely town to stroll through with beautiful historic homes and museums, and close to the beaches. It was amazing to go back to the centerpiece of Exeter, the Inn by the Bandstand, after a full day. The hospitality is amazing, but they also give you your privacy, and are non-intrusive. We also loved the 24 hour coffee and tea offered in the main hall. My sister and I have found our favorite spot, and can only dream of our next visit with our new friends and "family" at Inn by the Bandstand. Truly a pleasure, one that I will forever hold as the gold standard of hospitality! Thank you Jamie, Agostinho, and everyone at Inn by the Bandstand! We cannot wait to return next year! Your success is well deserved, and and if I could give you 10 stars I would! Many thanks, dear ones!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful, but the rooms in the front have a view of the lovely town and the bandstand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missscarlett181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven ct
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Regular followers of my reviews know I am picky, picky, picky. I would give Inn at the Bandstand in Exeter 10 stars if I could.
The rooms are all different and charming with gas fireplaces, interesting furnishings and spotlessly clean. It is historic and lovely. There is a charming garden with flowers and sculpture. It is used by guests and for events.
Breakfast was delicious and plated elegantly. Jaime asks specific questions about food preferences which is complicated for us and he was able to prepare something delicious for us. Tables seat 4 and everyone was friendly and sharing tips about the charming town of Exeter. Lot’s of interesting shops and restaurants and the American Independence Museum. The inn provides discount tickets.

It is not far from the shore and the fabulous Fuller Gardens in Hampton.
With a LivingSocial coupon accommodations were $141.
They allowed us to stay later so my husband could recover from the precious night’s dinner. They brought him chamomile tea, toast and ginger ale for his tender tummy, all without asking for any specials service.
The pictures will tell the story of this Inn better than words. It is a gem.

Room Tip: room but it is 3 flights of stairs.Ask for a quiet room. Downstairs is noiser but a bargain price. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our son and daughter-in-law work the summer session at Phillips Exeter Academy. We decided to stay overnight on our first visit and we were fortunate to stay at the Inn by the Bandstand. We absolutely love the accommodations for many reasons: beautiful rooms, attentive staff, comfortable mattresses and bedding, beautiful patio, and delicious breakfasts! We just completed our third stay and hopefully not our last.

The Inn by the Bandstand is top-notch!

Room Tip: We have stayed in three of the rooms offered. Each is unique in its decor. All are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilacalnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Inn on our wedding night in mid June-2014, in the Sheffield Suite, and many in the wedding party also stayed at the Inn. I have to say, bar none, this is the best, most friendly, most welcoming inn in which I have ever stayed in.

Absolutely everything was a delight, and I have traveled all over the world and stayed in all types of places. The innkeepers, particularly Jaime, were extremely personable and we felt completely at home. The Inn's back patio and the drawing room are perfect for gathering with friends and family and the atmosphere is both colonial charm and New England warm.

The room itself was immaculate and all the details were very thoughtful, particularly the new bathroom, which after a long wedding night, was heavenly in the morning. I have to say the breakfast was also top notch.

This review probably sounds too good to be true, but I really have nothing negative to say, and I think any guest would both enjoy their stay here and feel good about patronizing a local business. We and our wedding guests also appreciated that they could walk everywhere in town, including to/from the train station.

Room Tip: Each room is designed differently and appeals to different tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trip247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had the pleasure of staying in the tastefully decorated, newly renovated Kensington for two nights in June and we had a wonderful stay in the beautiful Inn. The wine upon our arrival was a very nice touch. Nothing but praise for everyone there. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and on the new patio. Jamie and Agostinho are very gracious and friendly host who enjoy chatting with the guest. The Inn is located in the center of Exeter and not too far from the coast . We would definitely stay there again while in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
8.4 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Bandstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Bandstand

Property: Inn by the Bandstand
Address: 6 Front Street, Exeter, NH 03833
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Bandstand 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Inn by the Bandstand is the premier lodging establishment in Exeter, New Hampshire. This wonderful inn is an 1809 historic home located in the heart of downtown Exeter. Only two blocks from the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, eight miles to the seacoast and beaches, and 20 minutes from Portsmouth, this charming inn offers nine antique furnished guest rooms, all with private baths and a delicious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Inn by the Bandstand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bandstand Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing