We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exeter Elms Family Campground
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“would stay again”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at Exeter Elms Campground for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer! It was the weekend after the 4th of July. There were planty of activities for the kids, face painting, pool, pig roast and italian ice. The seasonal campers were very friendly and helpful! There was also a playground there but we never used it, the pool was the biggest hit. I thought that the water was a little cold, but the kids didn’t mind at all. The basketball court looked a little beat up and was a far walk for the kids so we never used that either. We camped in a large 5th wheel camper so when we made our reservation we asked for a large site with full hook up. I also requested a semi private site since we brought our two pugs. This is the only negative part about our stay, when we arrived we were told that me had been moved to another site. We went with the flow and decided to check it out. When we got to site #1 I thought it was a joke! It’s right at the beginning of the camp ground so everyone drives past it (NO privacy at all!) and was SMALL! By small I mean and dirt drive way area for the camper, and a 5x10 piece of grass. It didn’t even look of feel like camping at all! I think I would have rather set the camper up at home and made a weekend of that! After the long ride my husband wanted to just set up so I went for a walk with the kids and dogs to check out rest of the place. By far #1 is the #1 worst campsite they offer!!! When we got back I went up to the office and explained the situation and they happily changed our site to one I saw when walking. Our new site was perfect! It was large, no one on either side of us and really felt like camping. It was also on the river, not that made a difference to us. The river looks more like a swamp and for us it just made it so no one could camp behind us. We also drove to Hampton beach and that was only about 15mins away! Overall, I would say we enjoyed our trip and would stay there again, just only this time it would be for more then two nights!!

Room Tip: NOT SITE #1, you want something away from the entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank c_lynn129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    8
    15
    14
See reviews for
43
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at Exeter Elms last year and had a great time. It was a family event and everyone enjoyed all the amenities. The pool was awesome, bathrooms clean and everyone seemed very friendly. We have another trip planned there for the 2012 season. We camp all over NH and this is one we like to hit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revere, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I am a first year seasonal (used to be an advent tenter) and have camped at most of the campgrounds in the area. I find that there is entertainment every weekend unlike most campgrounds I have visited.

The staff is great, anything I need they seem to be in a hurry to provide. I do use the showers and there is always plenty of hot water although yes they are coin operated but I have never spent more than 50 cents for a shower.

I have a small dog and do walk him regularly there are bags placed strategically around the campground so there are no excuses not to pick up after your pet. This allows me to see the entire campground and it is very well maintained.

My site is on the main road near the shower area and I have seen some rowdy campers but security is very quick to put a stop to anything loud or if people do get out of hand. Quiet time on the weekends is 11pm through 8am and I have never been woken up in the middle of the night or early in the morning.

There are plenty of activities for both children and adults and people are very sociable so my family and I can hardly wait for the weekend so we can go back.

So to Audra, Dana and their entire staff thank you for making our weekends so much fun :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steveiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This place is camping, it's wooded and pets are allowed!! Very nice pool and bathrooms are very clean!! Coin op showers but that works out well so the showers aren't always busy (you don't have someone spending an hour in the shower) It is quiet after after 10 trust me that is enforced ;) I had a great time and will be going back many times!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rhonda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Took my fiancee and daughter up here. Despite the many negative reviews, we decided to try it anyway. The pool area was very clean and the activities were fantastic. Our daughter had a great time. I can not believe that people are complaining about mosquitoes. It is camping. Put some bug juice on. They have kayak and canoe rentals, a large grassy area for kids to play wiffle ball or what-have-you. They have horseshoes and plenty of walking around space. Peaceful for the most part.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I first went here 2 years ago & was told the new owner had been in hotels & would be doing many upgrades. The 1st time I stayed here there was flooding & I had to evacuate to another site during the evening.No one seemed to care about the inconvenience and the seasonal camper who was an employee was rude.The next day she yelled at me & my family as we were viewing the campground & finding out whether or not we were allowed to go back to our original sites. This year I went back, expecting the improvements spoken of on my 1st visit. NONE were made. The seasonal campers were mostly losers with atrocious looking sites.One appeared to be a group of devil worshippers, with skulls as decorations and "666" on a table! Some people picked up after their dogs, but many did not. Nor did they care that the dogs barked constantly. Many people allowed children to scream at early hours (5:30-6:00am was normal). There was very little consideration for others. I actually stepped in dog mess after an inconsiderate person brought their dog onto my site, let it go & did not pick it up! Thank goodness I was wearing shoes. The campground is full of bugs, due to the fact that a large portion of it is wet, overgrown & maintenance is not taken care of often. The bathrooms were very clean, which was a surprise considering the state of the campground. The showers cost 25 cents for 2.5 minutes and 25 cents for an additional 2 minutes. One cannot add more than 2 quarters at a time, so if you need more than 4.5 minutes, you have to get out of the shower and then add more coins. The showers were VERY hot, which was nice. There is a food truck, but the owners have not been able to work out an agreement with any vendor because they want 60% of the profits & will not allow the selling of anything they sell in the camp store. Therefore, the truck is going to waste, just sitting there. There was not one bit of entertainment on the 4th of July week. You cannot swim in the lake because of the poor water quality. I suppose it would be nice if you like bugs, because that is about the only entertainment available! My sister's site had fleas in it & we were bitten. Some employees were nice, but most of the campers were not. I heard the couple who own the campground are divorcing & that is why nothing is being done to maintain the campground & they are fighting over who gets control of it. It is sad they are making campers suffer due to mismanagement.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilder, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Oh i will never go back here again..there is no hot water in the shower areas that is why they didn't mention about showers on their site.There is a coin slot where you have to put a 25 cent for 3minute shower or sumthing but still didnt work ..do not waste your coins!!!!lots of mosquitos and of course they like biting me son of a vitch!If i were you i will never try to camp on this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank switbut3rfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.3 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
221 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
84 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
6.2 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Elms Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Elms Family Campground

Property: Exeter Elms Family Campground
Address: 190 Court St, Exeter, NH 03833-4027
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun for the Whole Family! Exeter Elms offers a perfect camping location, with a mile of frontage on the beautiful Exeter River for fishing, canoeing, and kayaking. Well-spaced, wooded sites are designed to provide a maximum of privacy. Exeter Elms is only 15 minutes from Hampton Beach, an hour from Boston, and two hours from the White Mountains. Use our clean, first-class facilities as your base to explore and enjoy the entire Seacoast Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Exeter Elms Family Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Elms Family Campground Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing