We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would never go back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Exeter Elms Family Campground
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I went 7/19/13 with a friend. We went tenting. The site was very small and there's nothing to do after 8:00 pm. When we went for showers the water was freezing cold, there was a sign saying "turn on the faucets and make sure the hot water has reached the building" so I did, and it was freezing. I also had no idea that we would have to pay .25$ just to take a cold shower. The town itself looked nice. My friend and I decided to leave a day early, we couldn't take this crappy campground anymore.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Nice basic campground on a river. Had rained so some sites were wet but the roads had been graded to they were good. Nice people, nice place, canoes and kayaks. Plenty of activities for the weekend including a DJ. We also made a lot of our own fun with games etc. Our site was on the river which was high so we had to be careful not to fall in. All and all it was fun and we will most likely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank GaryWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our family used to camp in Salisbury, Ma and we decided to move to a campground that offered more activities and full hookups for seasonals, so Exeter Elms was where we went. We moved in at the end of a summer, and all our neighbors were so ready to help us set up and get acquainted with the place. When we went back the next spring, everyone remembered our names and invited us to join their group activities. My teenagers made friends quickly and spend most of their time outside, enjoying the fresh air and sunshine. Yes, there are mosquitoes after dusk, but then, it is a wooded campground and bugs do live there. If you like camping, you don't mind smelling like bug spray!! The pool is fantastic, and the bocce ball court is a big hit. It would help if the basketball court was moved to a closer location within the campground. We bought a new trailer this year, and the owner was very helpful with our move. It is a great place to have lots of fun and entertainment, but at the same time is very peaceful if you are looking to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Never been camping before, so I was surprised that also had clean bathrooms, playgrounds, entertainment, outdoor movie, pool, store, etc. Crowded like a refugee camp, but well managed and with strict rules to keep the place under control. Spent almost as much on firewood (6x @$6/bundle) than on the camping fee ($39). Overall, an inexpensive vacation and great for children. Bring DEET (insect repellent). The kids had fun and want to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffreyross5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We found that this campground had great reviews online, so we chose to visit. Once we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly office attendant. The office was a cute little building that seemed very inviting. We were asked to pay a 10.00 refundable fee for a gate pass. That was fine! We finally arrived at the site we chose. It seemed nice at first. However, after spending a few minutes setting up we noticed a foul smell which smelled like vomit or spoiled milk. We asked to move so we did. The next site seemed OK but, also had a terrible smell of rotting garbage. There were several rotting mushrooms in the area. The water was stagnant and nasty. The bathrooms were fair. They were old. The showers were .25 cents for 2.5 minutes which we were not told upon check-in. The fly's were unbearable. Probably the rotting mushrooms. If you are looking for a rustic red-neck camping experience this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked this campground based on their boasting of "great fishing in a river". Yeah, more like fishing in a murky pond. The water was murky and swampy, and did not seem like a river. It was a bust,and it pretty much ruined our time. We paid more for a "water view" and we were told you can fish from your chair. Sure, you can fish, but don't count on catching anything but frogs and mosquito bites. Don't even bother paying the extra for the fishing, not worth it! They have a basketball court, which you have to trek through about a 20 foot mud puddle to get to, and then realize that they have a picnic table in the middle of the court. The worst part was the Trains you hear all night long, along with the highway construction. That took the cake! I really wish we had went elsewhere, this was a horrible experience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! There are way too many camping places in NH to waste time here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Nice place, quiet, clean, lots of wooden areas. But.....near a small river with almost no current and on the other side, a swamp. In the daytime not so bad. But after the sun goes down you got to get inside. Unbaerable !!We had bought wood ( $ 6.oo for 5 logs ) And didn't used them for a week. Brought them back home.
Beside that, the showers works like parking meters...25 cents for 2 minutes !!1
The toilet paper roll doesn't roll. They put a kind of rod inside so the roll has to be worked by hand and you have to be patient.

As I write this, we have been here for 3 days and I've got around 30 insect bites on each of my ankles !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
1.2 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn by the Bandstand
Inn by the Bandstand
#1 of 3 in Exeter
247 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pine Haven Motel
Pine Haven Motel
#1 of 2 in North Hampton
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exeter Elms Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Elms Family Campground

Address: 190 Court St, Exeter, NH 03833-4027
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Exeter
Price Range: £22 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun for the Whole Family! Exeter Elms offers a perfect camping location, with a mile of frontage on the beautiful Exeter River for fishing, canoeing, and kayaking. Well-spaced, wooded sites are designed to provide a maximum of privacy. Exeter Elms is only 15 minutes from Hampton Beach, an hour from Boston, and two hours from the White Mountains. Use our clean, first-class facilities as your base to explore and enjoy the entire Seacoast Region. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Exeter Elms Family Campground Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing