We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem In Exeter”

Epoch Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Epoch Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Transit: Stops in front of Inn Coast bus
Description: We welcome you to Epoch Restaurant and Bar located in Exeter NH. Join us for casually elegant dining featuring the freshest seacoast of New Hampshire products creatively presented. Our award winning kitchen staff takes great pride in serving only the most exquisite food to our guests. Come try this new creative restaurant with great service and outstanding food.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gem In Exeter”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Epoch restaurant at Exeter Inn is an unexpected find in this small New Hampshire town. The Chefs are top-quality and often go on to larger, more urban venues. The bar and wait staff can be transient so training is frequently incomplete. The food is always outstanding, with flavor combinations that often make me say "Why didn't I think of this?" The atmosphere is very cozy. The restaurant is expensive for Exeter - expect Boston prices - but well worth a visit for special occasions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    69
    27
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently moved into the area and were looking forward to dining at Epoch. The atmosphere and setting were good but from there on everything was average to poor. The service was lacking, our waitress seemed to know little about the menu and questions we asked went unanswered. Wine service was terrible. The one good part of the meal was the mussels appetizer which was very nice. We ordered our mains from the special menu, fresh scampi with house made gnocchi. For $28 per dish this was shocking. A meager amount of scampi were served in a bland sauce with an abundance of gnocchi. We returned one of the mains and replaced it with the tuna which was good. Even though the restaurant was fairly quiet the manager walked past our table several times without a word. Apart from replacing the one main there was no care or concern taken to acknowledge our disappointment with the meal. We did not stay for dessert and will not be going back to Epoch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Farm to Table”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice dinner experience here. I started with the beet and watercress salad. All the ingredients are locally sourced and excellent in quality. For the main, I had the bouillabaisse which was teeming with scallops, mussels and shrimp in a tasty saffron cream broth. The dessert was a berry tart with ice cream. Yum! There is a small but high quality wine list and single malt scotches and small batch bourbons. The service at the bar was knowledgeable and friendly. I would highly recommend stopping here when you are in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoeHafky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good but not great”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

i came here with family and felt disappointing
the food was average nothing to cry home about
service were half nice but always seemed to have other things on their minds
we did have a nice time overall but i was expecting some charm from this place

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We went here with 2 other couples during restaurant week. Our reservation was for 7pm and we were seated right away but it was all downhill from there. It took at least 20 minutes to get a drink and the service remained bad, resulting in a 2.5 hour experience! The tables were not all full and our waitress didn't seem to be tending to many of them. She would disappear for long periods and despite our urging, never took up the pace. Other tables came and went and we were stuck waiting for everything. On our way out, I noticed a table that was just off the main hall with people still sitting and dishes piled up everywhere...they must have had bad service as well. Food was pretty good, priced as expected. We have eaten here, at the bar before and always been happy, but I will never do a table again. It was the first experience for the others and I'm sure they won't go back, it really ruined the entire evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jrodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epoch Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Epoch Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing