We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This property always gives me excellent service , is very friendly and helpful. Since I stay there every month for 3 days, I am usually upgraded to their best rooms. I have never had any problems even with objects left in the room as they are always returned

Room Tip: most all of the rooms are quiet as it doesn't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tknee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Happy Holiday's From the Fairfield Exeter Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

I return again and again. A hotel that truly treats me with kindness and grace. This visit Marissa at the front desk took care if every challenge and Robin Steve's the breakfast service as if you were a guest in her home. I look forward to my next visit. Thank you all

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haricharn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our Guest Service Associate Marissa and Robin in Breakfast! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

If you are in the Portsmouth area and want to stay overnight, the Fairfield Inn is an excellent value. The grounds, the lobby and our room were well maintained and CLEAN. The staff were friendly and attentive. Easy access to the highway and to Portsmouth. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Clean and bright, efficient and safe, works for us.

Room Tip: We were four doors from the pool and elevator and it was quiet. The best restaurants in the area are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Fairfield Inn & Suites, Exeter NH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This place, as all in the area, is a little expensive in October, but it is very clean and the staff are exceptional.

They only had rooms with 1 king or 2 double (no queen), but they are comfortable.

They have a pool and a small exercise area, as well as an impressive continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments! We hope to see you again soon. We will make sure to share your kind words with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel was clean & comfortable. Everything is nice & brightly coloured.
The staff go out of their way to be friendly & helpful. Overall good nights sleep.
The only down side was that there was not much to choose from for restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pye a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you so much for the compliments about the Fairfield Inn & Suites Exeter. The staff work very hard to make sure you enjoy your stay and are treated like family. We are pleased to know that we stood by our promises to you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Room was clean, Check in a Breeze, parking lot a little over crowded. Weird and smaller lot with not enough spaces so get there early to park.

Great restaurants in the area. The desk person sent me about 5 miles to a great sandwich shop which was not a chain or fast food!

Room Tip: Parking is an issue. Check in early!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_to_shop60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We noticed that you would be interested in seeing other breakfast item selections. We would love your suggestions on what would make great additions to our selections. Again thank you for taking time to rate us on TripAdvisor:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

One thing I really dislike about hotels is when guests are allowed to smoke around the entrances. I hate this. Not only do I have to endure this choking hazard due to chronic asthma, it is disrespectful of non-smoking guests, looks bad, and creates ugly trash (smokers rarely use the recepticles to discard their waste). Such is my first impression of this Fairfield.

Inside, the lobby, hallways, and rooms are bright and colorful, but I believe everything has been dsigned on a micro scale. Chairs seem smaller, the desk is undersized, the lobby seems cramped with too much furniture but its really just a smaller space, and the pool is half the size normally found at hotels. Not that this matters because they have designed efficiency into their spaces. The bathroom was very nice, bright, clean, and appears larger, somehow more open. My only true complaint is that the bed and pillows are not as firm as I would prefer so I rarely get a good nights sleep here (true for any Fairfield I've stayed at). Their breakfast offers all the basics and was well maintained. My preference is Hampton Inn but they are often booked leaving me to find alternative accomodations like this.

Room Tip: The first floor back side is partially below ground level; weird view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomerang025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guest feedback, be it positive or negative.

We are sorry that during your stay we failed to live up to our goals. As we share these reviews with our staff, this review will be highlight of our next associate daily promise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.4 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
240 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
8.2 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter

Address: 138 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2108
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £70 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Marriott in New Hampshire is ideal for business or leisure travel. Near Phillips Exeter Academy, just one mile north of downtown Exeter and minutes to glorious beaches and historic Portsmouth. Rooms feature luxurious bedding, complimentary wireless and HSIA, 32-inch HDTV. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast and use of the fitness center with personal TVs. When looking for a Seacoast hotel, you will not find a better choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter Hotel Exeter
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing