We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“making a great weekend even better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We spent the wkend of Aug 24-26 in your hotel. The accommodations were great...very clean, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was more than expected and very tasty. Loved the decor and the fact that you could open the windows for fresh air as wanted. Would definitely stay in you hotel on our next trip to NH

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

all the good stuff here, the staff, rooms, service, breakfast, location, everything.
exactly what you need from a hotel including the little business center and gym.
the staff was super friendly and helpful
can't say enough good things about this place

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

We can not think of a a negative thing to say. The room was clean and spacious. The workout room was great, we did not have time to use the pool but it looked clean. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was very good. We usually stay at a hotel in Hampton Beach but this year we opted to stay in a less expensive and much cleaner hotel in Exeter. We made a great choice, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stonefly626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at this property one overnight during a New England road trip with family. We booked two rooms, one of which they HH Diamond upgraded to a suite. We ate the hotel's complimentary breakfast and also used their no-charge shuttle.

The common spaces were immaculately kept, with surprisingly fine décor. The area where breakfast is served is done up to also serve as a gathering area. Whoever decorated here did a great job. And, given that people eat in this area, one might expect to find some evidence of that, but, not here: no coffee or grease stains on the cloth chairs. During breakfast the staff were diligently clearing away trash and keeping things clean.

The guest room with two queen beds was clean, modern, and spacious enough for a night or two. We were very happy with it. The suite was ultra spacious and comfortable. There was a small wet-bar, a living area, and a separate sleeping area. There wasn't a hard-wall between the two spaces, but instead a wide desk the went the length of the space. There was also a large dressing area off the bedroom. Very much enjoyed this room. It was hard to believe it was a Hampton Inn!

My only complaint is the same one I have with all Hampton Inns: the breakfast is really just crap. I know it is standard HI, and this property did the best they could, but I find the HI breakfast spread appeals to the at-least-it's-free crowd. "Eggs," greasy sausage, and so on. I'd rather have something a little better and pay for it. Personal preference.

Overall, a really great stay. As a matter of fact, I'm still getting over that this was a Hampton Inn. It is even better than a good number of Hiltons I've stayed at. The staff take great care of the property and treat the guests very well too. I certainly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Given the other reviews here, I guess I had high expectations. I expected greatness and it was just a mediocre stay frankly.
Cons:
The standard rooms are very small. I felt like I was sort of living in a postage stamp. The air conditioning unit is VERY loud. It is made by some company called Amana air conditioning. I am a very heavy sleeper and even I felt as though I was in an airport. At about 3 am, we opened the windows and turned off the air conditioner. Then the fridge made weird cracking noises where we then had to get up once again and unplug the fridge. The pillows were also very uncomfortable they offered no support and we ended up going to Kmart and spending some money on better pillows.
Pros
The breakfast was pretty good for a free breakfast. The room was very modern looking. The bathroom was also very modern, spacious and clean. The shower doors were a nice touch.

If I ever stay in Exeter again I think I may try out another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Brand new, cheerful, fun design. Stayed in a double queen room on the second floor. We were there as part of a wedding block and saw the bride and groom's king suite on the 4th floor. Both rooms were spacious and very comfortable. I love that Hampton Inn's offer a substantial complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solstice21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hampton in Exeter, NH this week and it was the best Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in. The Hotel was in great shape, the breakfast bar was well stocked and everything was fresh. Most importantly the staff was incredibly helpful. Not only were they genuinely concerned about helping us find a place to eat late on a Sunday night, but the woman who helped us the evening prior, stopped by the next morning to check on how our evening went. The personal attention given to myself and family was awesome. We will definitely stay there again when in New Hampshire.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottinnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.9 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
5.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
8.1 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter

Address: 59 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £93 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's newest hotel is the Hampton Inn & Suites - offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, HSIA, shuttle service, meeting room, indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center. The hotel staff is passionate about providing extraordinary service from arrival to departure. It is ideally located within walking distance to historic downtown Exeter and Phillips Exeter Academy; 8 miles to Hampton Beach and a twenty minute drive to Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Exeter
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing