We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We wanted to get out of Boston for a couple nights and spend a couple days in the "country" looking at the fiery foliage.
We generally have great luck with Hampton Inns, and this place set the new High bar. The front desk ( especially Dana) were consistently courteous, helpful and friendly. Even the housekeeping amd maintenance staff were noticeably nice and cheerful. The breakfasts we amazing. The hotel itself was possibly the cleanest we have ever stayed in. There are tons of great hiking trails nearby Exeter Academy. Hampton Beach is a short drive away, and even offered fireworks on Friday night ( in October?!) New England Pizza had a great delivery service. There were lots of nice shops and restaurants a short walk away in the picturesque downtown of Exeter. WE will DEFINITELY be back. THANKS EXETER. And many thanks to the Hampton Inn and Suites Exeter New Hampshire!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smackmyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stay at Hampton Inn relatively often for business.
This is one of the better ones. It looks new and bigger. Good size fitness center with working (!) equipment and good size swimming pool.
The staff was helpful to direct us to good restaurants.
There were some errors on the bill, but they all got taken care of, when we brought it to their attention.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The rooms are lovely. I enjoy Hampton Inn and Suites, but this hotel was beyond my expectations. Cozy beds. Large rooms and well decorated. We had a suite and it was nice. The hotel recommended a local restaurant called Blue Moon. It was extremely good. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. It is especially nice for an intimate dinner. The breakfast was good. It's self serve; both hot an cold. Complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours. Even nicer that there is a dunkin donuts right next door. Excellent value! Good for families or couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exflightsattendant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We spent the wkend of Aug 24-26 in your hotel. The accommodations were great...very clean, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was more than expected and very tasty. Loved the decor and the fact that you could open the windows for fresh air as wanted. Would definitely stay in you hotel on our next trip to NH

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

all the good stuff here, the staff, rooms, service, breakfast, location, everything.
exactly what you need from a hotel including the little business center and gym.
the staff was super friendly and helpful
can't say enough good things about this place

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

We can not think of a a negative thing to say. The room was clean and spacious. The workout room was great, we did not have time to use the pool but it looked clean. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was very good. We usually stay at a hotel in Hampton Beach but this year we opted to stay in a less expensive and much cleaner hotel in Exeter. We made a great choice, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stonefly626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at this property one overnight during a New England road trip with family. We booked two rooms, one of which they HH Diamond upgraded to a suite. We ate the hotel's complimentary breakfast and also used their no-charge shuttle.

The common spaces were immaculately kept, with surprisingly fine décor. The area where breakfast is served is done up to also serve as a gathering area. Whoever decorated here did a great job. And, given that people eat in this area, one might expect to find some evidence of that, but, not here: no coffee or grease stains on the cloth chairs. During breakfast the staff were diligently clearing away trash and keeping things clean.

The guest room with two queen beds was clean, modern, and spacious enough for a night or two. We were very happy with it. The suite was ultra spacious and comfortable. There was a small wet-bar, a living area, and a separate sleeping area. There wasn't a hard-wall between the two spaces, but instead a wide desk the went the length of the space. There was also a large dressing area off the bedroom. Very much enjoyed this room. It was hard to believe it was a Hampton Inn!

My only complaint is the same one I have with all Hampton Inns: the breakfast is really just crap. I know it is standard HI, and this property did the best they could, but I find the HI breakfast spread appeals to the at-least-it's-free crowd. "Eggs," greasy sausage, and so on. I'd rather have something a little better and pay for it. Personal preference.

Overall, a really great stay. As a matter of fact, I'm still getting over that this was a Hampton Inn. It is even better than a good number of Hiltons I've stayed at. The staff take great care of the property and treat the guests very well too. I certainly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter
0.9 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
240 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
11 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
11.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter

Address: 59 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £70 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's newest hotel is the Hampton Inn & Suites - offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, HSIA, shuttle service, meeting room, indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center. The hotel staff is passionate about providing extraordinary service from arrival to departure. It is ideally located within walking distance to historic downtown Exeter and Phillips Exeter Academy; 8 miles to Hampton Beach and a twenty minute drive to Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Exeter
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing