We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hampton Inn”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at this hotel on our recent trip to New England. I booked it because it was less expensive than hotels in Portsmouth and we really like Hampton Inns anyway. We were treated to a great experience. Beautiful, fairly new hotel with extremely clean rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was a good variety of cereals, breads, fruit, and some hot items. There was a large dining area so it was not crowded. The staff was great and gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner - the Lobster Boat - which we could walk to. There is also a shopping center, drug store, and Dunkin Doughnuts within walking distance. It is only about 20 minutes from Portsmouth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dniv67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay in Exeter. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. It is a pleasure responding to kind reviews like yours, we sincerely appreciate it! Glad you liked the Lobster Boat, it’s nice to have a restaurant so close and locally owned.
Warm Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    127
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
245
117
40
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel staff was SUPER. The staff kept rooms clean and very efficient in their cleaning of the rooms. The great complimentary breakfast was an added addition...some hotels have complimentary, but quality "sucks". Hampton Inn had a great breakfast with a choice of hot or cold breakfast products.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank motrealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello,
The entire staff appreciates the kind words and your time for writing a review. I will give kudos to the breakfast attendants for a doing such a nice job with the breakfast lineup.
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwood, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hampton Inns can vary from location to location but this was one great Hampton. Maybe the influence of Phillips Exeter Academy influenced this Hampton, but whatever, I wish all Hamptons were like this. It was either new or newly remodeled. Someone at Hampton has been listening or surveying customers because they done some very smart things: Night light (in this case detachable), cubbies hung above the toilet to LOTS of space to put your toiletries, extra deep tub, peephole even a short person (5') can look through without being on tiptoes, even lower extra peephole on handicapped access room, special access code on handicapped room, great & comfortable lounge/breakfast area with v. high ceilings so not cramped, mini "store" of notions & snacks & foods & desserts including ice cream.

Beds were great. Multiple pillows offered so you can have a fuller one or a less full one. Whichever is best for you.

And Hampton staff all seem to be very friendly, including the cleaning staff. Nice job, staff!

Only thing I would suggest for all Hampton Inns...please get larger and softer towels for the swimming pool area. Yours are smaller than bath size and just a bit larger than hand towel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC82010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. I will post your feedback regarding the size of the pool towels to our corporate blog site. Great advice!
Regards, Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed at this property seven or eight times now, both when relatively empty and when every room has been sold out. It is one of the cleanest, friendliest and "easiest" Hampton Inns, or any hotel, I've experienced. Excellent staff, great location, convenient to Phillips Exeter Academy. It's a relatively new property in the area, and is often full of parents and families, but I've never experienced that feeling that the hotel was over-crowded or overly strained to handle all of the guests. ALL of the staff is great -- friendly and helpful. The only down side to this excellence is that sometimes they are sold out when I want/need a room!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank nd8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay in Exeter. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. It is a pleasure responding to kind reviews like yours, we sincerely appreciate it!
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is one awesome hotel. The entire experience was flawless. From check in to check out the hotel was by far above any of the other hotels I have stayed at recently.The staff was perhaps the best part of the experience. Now, keep in mind we were up and out of the hotel at 5:30am for an all day fishing trip before breakfast was open, yet the night attendant ( forgot her name, but very friendly, smiling and a pleasure to talk to) offered to get us some muffins or a bagel because it wasn't open yet. She apologized and wanted to go out of her way to make sure we were happy. We graciously thanked her and appreciated the offer. The whole staff, from front desk, manager and the breakfast group the following morning were all very pleasant and engaging with the guests. Breakfast the next day was very good and kept stocked even though there was a number of guests wanting food. We never had to wait. Not sure if this is part of their training, or if it just comes natural, but it is certainly genuine in feel and appearance. Definitely would stay again and an over the top recommendation for this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites for your recent stay in Exeter. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. It is a pleasure responding to kind reviews like yours, we sincerely appreciate it! The night audit's name was Breanna, I will show her this review, she will love it.
Warm Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while we were exploring the local area. It's a very clean and well-run hotel. The staff were impressive-- very helpful and friendly. If we return to the area I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay in Exeter. What a great compliment for the entire staff. Looking forward to posting this review in the break room, it’s responses like this that make our day!
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,315 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Yes they are! I arrived at 730 and was told the cookies were all gone for the night. Very disappointing. While this was a typical Hampton Inn - with no real negatives - the experience was just not the same. I also was not welcomed with my newspaper in the morning. Plus - the price was quite high. Thus, this is average - whereas I usually rate Hampton's above average.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay . I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. Your feedback is valuable and we will continue to work on making service improvements. I certainly understand how delicious the cookies are and we will strive to make more or figure out how to make the same batch last longer, we like a challenge.
Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
1.0 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
212 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
8.1 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
Address: 59 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's newest hotel is the Hampton Inn & Suites - offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, HSIA, shuttle service, meeting room, indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center. The hotel staff is passionate about providing extraordinary service from arrival to departure. It is ideally located within walking distance to historic downtown Exeter and Phillips Exeter Academy; 8 miles to Hampton Beach and a twenty minute drive to Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Exeter
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing