We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in Exeter NH? Take it easy at the Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Staying in Exeter NH? Take it easy at the Hampton Inn”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I know it is a chain hotel but when you are on the road and looking for somewhere comfortable to stay at good value prices in a part of the world where hotels are not that easy to come by, the hampton Inn and suites in the gorgeous and historic town of Exeter NH was just the job for me and Mrs EastYorkshire Fingers!

Guartanteed standard of accommodation and wonderful service with the emphasis upon families and friends, this pllace was welcoming and comfortable. Recommended for UK visitors because of the quality of recepetion and the "feel at home" factor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want to avoid a view over the car park. There are 2 M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I sincerely appreciate the kind words and feedback associated with value. We work hard to keep this property in top shape and hope you will stay with us in the future.
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    126
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
240
115
39
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had a great trip. Stay four different United States, Hampton Inn. All very clean and smell good. Hot and cold breakfast was very good. Would stay again any time I travel. All workers very helpful with any thing you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi,
The entire staff appreciates the kind words and your time for writing a review. I will give kudos to the breakfast attendants for a doing such a nice job with the breakfast lineup.
Warm Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We elected an upgrade to expanded suite. Everything was first rate. We were attending a hockey tournament with 4 games scheduled 30-60 minutes in different directions. The staff all did an excellent job making our stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The entire staff sincerely appreciates the kind words.
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at this hotel on our recent trip to New England. I booked it because it was less expensive than hotels in Portsmouth and we really like Hampton Inns anyway. We were treated to a great experience. Beautiful, fairly new hotel with extremely clean rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was a good variety of cereals, breads, fruit, and some hot items. There was a large dining area so it was not crowded. The staff was great and gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner - the Lobster Boat - which we could walk to. There is also a shopping center, drug store, and Dunkin Doughnuts within walking distance. It is only about 20 minutes from Portsmouth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dniv67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay in Exeter. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. It is a pleasure responding to kind reviews like yours, we sincerely appreciate it! Glad you liked the Lobster Boat, it’s nice to have a restaurant so close and locally owned.
Warm Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel staff was SUPER. The staff kept rooms clean and very efficient in their cleaning of the rooms. The great complimentary breakfast was an added addition...some hotels have complimentary, but quality "sucks". Hampton Inn had a great breakfast with a choice of hot or cold breakfast products.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank motrealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello,
The entire staff appreciates the kind words and your time for writing a review. I will give kudos to the breakfast attendants for a doing such a nice job with the breakfast lineup.
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwood, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
245 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hampton Inns can vary from location to location but this was one great Hampton. Maybe the influence of Phillips Exeter Academy influenced this Hampton, but whatever, I wish all Hamptons were like this. It was either new or newly remodeled. Someone at Hampton has been listening or surveying customers because they done some very smart things: Night light (in this case detachable), cubbies hung above the toilet to LOTS of space to put your toiletries, extra deep tub, peephole even a short person (5') can look through without being on tiptoes, even lower extra peephole on handicapped access room, special access code on handicapped room, great & comfortable lounge/breakfast area with v. high ceilings so not cramped, mini "store" of notions & snacks & foods & desserts including ice cream.

Beds were great. Multiple pillows offered so you can have a fuller one or a less full one. Whichever is best for you.

And Hampton staff all seem to be very friendly, including the cleaning staff. Nice job, staff!

Only thing I would suggest for all Hampton Inns...please get larger and softer towels for the swimming pool area. Yours are smaller than bath size and just a bit larger than hand towel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC82010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. I will post your feedback regarding the size of the pool towels to our corporate blog site. Great advice!
Regards, Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed at this property seven or eight times now, both when relatively empty and when every room has been sold out. It is one of the cleanest, friendliest and "easiest" Hampton Inns, or any hotel, I've experienced. Excellent staff, great location, convenient to Phillips Exeter Academy. It's a relatively new property in the area, and is often full of parents and families, but I've never experienced that feeling that the hotel was over-crowded or overly strained to handle all of the guests. ALL of the staff is great -- friendly and helpful. The only down side to this excellence is that sometimes they are sold out when I want/need a room!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank nd8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay in Exeter. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. It is a pleasure responding to kind reviews like yours, we sincerely appreciate it!
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
1.0 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
8.1 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
Address: 59 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's newest hotel is the Hampton Inn & Suites - offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, HSIA, shuttle service, meeting room, indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center. The hotel staff is passionate about providing extraordinary service from arrival to departure. It is ideally located within walking distance to historic downtown Exeter and Phillips Exeter Academy; 8 miles to Hampton Beach and a twenty minute drive to Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Exeter
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing