We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at Best...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hammersmith Sandwich Company - MOVED

Hammersmith Sandwich Company
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: We are a small sandwich shop offering specialty sandwiches, salads, soups (seasonally) and hot and cold beverages.
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average at Best...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Although the staff are very friendly and attentive,the eat in area clean and the outdoor eating area very pleasant, the sandwiches are just average...at best...I ordered the "Sun-dried BLT" on french roll...The french roll was very underbaked and quite doughy...the lettuce looked wilted and there was very little tomato for a $7.00 plus sandwich...The "sundried" mayo sauce was ok...Overall I was disappointed... Maybe I chose the wrong sandwich...But a BLT ? A sandwich shop needs to get that one right !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Watervilleray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammersmith_Sandwich, Owner at Hammersmith Sandwich Company, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Ray!

We see you weren't satisfied with your BLT, and would like to apologize for your experience. Our bread is made by a local bakery, and being a hand-made product, can run ultra-soft at times. We toast it in house to better regulate the product's consistency, but it will typically be on the softer side. Several customers request the rolls be toasted longer which removes that "dough" factor you didn't like, or alternately we can make any cold sandwich on a wrap. We also have several hot sandwiches on a bakery-fresh ciabatta bread that runs more on the firm side, and may be more towards your preference.

Our produce is all fresh and local from Golden Harvest, and we use romaine rather than a traditional iceberg. It doesn't have the same crunch at iceberg, but we feel it works much better in wraps and sandwiches due to it's lack of water content. I can assure you we go through a tremendous amount of lettuce this time of year and any "wilt" you might have noticed is just the natural softness of the leaf, rather than mishandling or age. What you ate was delivered, cleaned and cut no more than a couple hours before you ate it.

Being as you weren't happy with what you had, we invite you back to try something else on the house, as I'm confident we can wow you the second time around. Just let myself or my wife know who you are and we'll be happy to feed you something more to your liking. There's a reason we're the highest-rated sandwich shop in Exeter, and it isn't because we settle at "average".

-Shawn Rafferty
HSCO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent soups, gumbo and sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just had the gumbo and the "cowboy" sandwich and both were excellent. My wife had the cranberry & walnut salad and loved it as well. The service was friendly and quick. We don't live in the area but if we did we would be regulars. Great job!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quick, tasty, and good location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I've been to Hammersmith many times. I like going here because theres rarely ever a wait, its extremely quick service, and the food is very yummy. Its small, but just enough room for everyone. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Great place for sandwiches if you dont want to wait, and are looking for great sandwiches or wraps.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LovetoeatNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The sandwiches at this place are very tasty, and there is a lot of variety. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's a small place, but cozy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bondoobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, NH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Wonderful, fresh sandwiches. Everything is delicious, including the potato salad. Just wish parking were easier and there were more tables for eat-in. But a cute place to get a fantastic unique lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NHTravelingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hammersmith Sandwich Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing