We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must have a new chef ... last visit was not up to par”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Penang & Tokyo Restaurant - CLOSED

Penang & Tokyo Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Must have a new chef ... last visit was not up to par”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have eaten here many times over the years and have always had a memorable meal - great food, service - this last time we were very disappointed. The food did not come to the table as we ordered it, had to reorder both main dishes, the steak and chicken "on a stick" were poor quality cuts of meat and left a lot to be desired - we left most of the food on the dish and didn't take it home. Very disappointed and won't return again. Too bad, as one of our favorite spots to have asian cuisine, we will no longer come back - prefer the fresh food at Pink Bamboo in Portsmouth instead.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MowerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epping, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Everything was wonderful. Ordered an assortment including General Tso's, Sweet and Sour Chicken, Ginger and scallion chicken, Egg Rolls, fried rice, and a Spicy Tuna Roll. The fried stuff was crispy and well flavored. Not very oily which is a plus. The Ginger and Scallion Chicken was amazing. Very impressed, especially with the large and diverse menu. The egg rolls could have had more stuffing and the fried rice could have had a tiny bit more flavor, but overall it was very good. My largest complaint was that when they packed up the take out, the sushi was on top of the hot items, so it was warmer than I would have liked it. Next time I will just ask them to put it separately. Overall it was very good and I will definitely be returning!

PS. The parking isn't very good around 6pm so be aware you may have to drive around the block a bit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alliecat1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently great Chinese and Japanese cuisine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Penang is my favorite place for Chinese food. It's always very delicious and it's not super fat fried the way that other places tend to do things. The Mai Tais are delicious and strong. 1 is perfect. Sometimes the wait staff can be a little stand offish but I don't go there to make friends. I would definitely recommend Penang over any other local Chinese restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearfoxadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Sketchy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

As you walk into this place you may chance a quick glimpse of the kitchen, if that doesn't turn you off you will probably like the food. The staff are bruske and the whole place has a dirty unfriendly feeling. There are many other places you should try before resorting to this one.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“needs an upgrade”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

went once and felt that it was not as good as the other chinese / oriental
restaurants

Helpful?
Thank jchd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penang & Tokyo Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing