We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi, but that's all I've had”

Penang & Tokyo Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 51 Restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese
Restaurant details
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great sushi, but that's all I've had”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My friends are loyal to this place for their sushi. I tried some on my last trip to the area and found it to be very good. We always got take out and I haven't tried anything else on the menu. So I can't speak to the atmosphere, service, or other menu items.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Must have a new chef ... last visit was not up to par”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have eaten here many times over the years and have always had a memorable meal - great food, service - this last time we were very disappointed. The food did not come to the table as we ordered it, had to reorder both main dishes, the steak and chicken "on a stick" were poor quality cuts of meat and left a lot to be desired - we left most of the food on the dish and didn't take it home. Very disappointed and won't return again. Too bad, as one of our favorite spots to have asian cuisine, we will no longer come back - prefer the fresh food at Pink Bamboo in Portsmouth instead.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MowerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Everything was wonderful. Ordered an assortment including General Tso's, Sweet and Sour Chicken, Ginger and scallion chicken, Egg Rolls, fried rice, and a Spicy Tuna Roll. The fried stuff was crispy and well flavored. Not very oily which is a plus. The Ginger and Scallion Chicken was amazing. Very impressed, especially with the large and diverse menu. The egg rolls could have had more stuffing and the fried rice could have had a tiny bit more flavor, but overall it was very good. My largest complaint was that when they packed up the take out, the sushi was on top of the hot items, so it was warmer than I would have liked it. Next time I will just ask them to put it separately. Overall it was very good and I will definitely be returning!

PS. The parking isn't very good around 6pm so be aware you may have to drive around the block a bit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alliecat1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently great Chinese and Japanese cuisine!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Penang is my favorite place for Chinese food. It's always very delicious and it's not super fat fried the way that other places tend to do things. The Mai Tais are delicious and strong. 1 is perfect. Sometimes the wait staff can be a little stand offish but I don't go there to make friends. I would definitely recommend Penang over any other local Chinese restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearfoxadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Sketchy”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

As you walk into this place you may chance a quick glimpse of the kitchen, if that doesn't turn you off you will probably like the food. The staff are bruske and the whole place has a dirty unfriendly feeling. There are many other places you should try before resorting to this one.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penang & Tokyo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Penang & Tokyo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing