We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonder”

Inn at Crotched Mountain
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Francestown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Crotched Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Francestown B&B and Inns
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonder”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Discover a quiet wonderful New Hampshire inn - with a view that goes for miles. This inn is is not only a pleasure to experience, but solid, in good working order, and comfortable (including the bed). The owner, John, is super competent - an excellent cook (breakfast), beautiful gardens and spacious lawns, a swimming pool perfectly located to see for miles, plus two clay tennis courts. Coffee is ready at 6:00 a.m.; breakfast is between 8 and 9 a.m.

This Inn is in the middle of the country (trees and meadows) away up on a substantial hill, yet with access to a great well-mailntained beautiful country golf course (<10-minute drive), fine country dining at several locations within twenty minutes, plus swimming at Purgatory Falls (<30-min drive, plus a 15-min easy hike on a good trail; best in late spring or early sumer). Despite having 13 excellent rooms, the inn is quiet. John's marketing efforts (he appears to be the owner) appear to be minimal. Do not be turned off by John's abrupt manner; he runs a first-class establishment, means well, and beneath his somewhat gruff exterior is super friendly.

The nearby Hancock Inn serves an excellent dinner. The golf club does a fine job for both lunch and dinner. The internet WiFi (no charge) is responsive. Our three-night stay was thus a class act. John know the area, and goes out of his way to clearly answer questions, including drawings and concise directions

Best Day: A slow relaxing breakfast, bag a lunch at Wilton, swim at Purgatory Falls (just east of Wilton), drive to Peterborough, browse at bookstore (0n School Street), a quick nap in the shade at the adjacent park next to the river, dinner adjacent at the Waterhouse Restaurant (riverside table; fine dining), an evening show at the Peterborough Players playhouse, then return the The Inn at Crotchet Mountain via the Hancock Inn in Hancock, where we stopped for a nightcap.

Enjoy,
Paul and Jeannie

Room Tip: You and your gal... Go for room #7 (ground floor). Mom and Dad with kids... Go for rooms #8 and 9 (g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pqueneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Our room was lovely and clean. The owner is a great host, and excellent bartender. We met local folks in the tavern and had interesting conversations about the area. It is very convenient to the mountain. Our dog was welcome and that meant a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jib2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Before we booked our reservation, I read the reviews - all but one of rated the Inn as excellent. I was struck by the one from JReid74, whose a rude and intentionally damaging tirade described her stay as "horrific." Our experience was quite different. We arrived just after Hurricane Irene had knocked out power to much region. The Inn at Crotched Mountain had a generator, but the pump for their well was not working properly, so before we arrived, our hosts and thoughtfully arranged for us to stay at another inn nearby. Fortunately, the next day we were able to return to Crotched Mountain and had a wonderful stay. We found the hosts to be charming and gracious, and the food the prepared was delicious. The buildings, grounds and scenery were if anything, even more picturesque than the photos on the website. I especially enjoyed the spring-fed solar-heated pool with its view of the distant mountains - and couldn't help chuckling about how the spoiled damsel who wrote that review had been upset that there was a bug or two in an outdoor pool!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

More detailed review later but for now.......
I had to post this quick reply to the "gentleman" who rated this beautiful, historic inn as "Horrific"!!!!

ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!....
my wife and I (and my 84 year old dad) had an absolutely wonderful three day "unwind" at this treasured B&B!!!! A place where you can travel back to a time when life was so much less complicated, artificial and stressful! For those who enjoy the "olden days" lifestyle, book your stay as soon as you can plan a get-away. I guarantee you will thank me but, more importantly, thank John and Rose who have owned the inn for 35+ years!!

So MR "HORRIFIC"....... please hold your stuffy "Ritz Carlton lifestyle expectation" comments as you stand alone in your opinion of this serene inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank well_traveled_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. The owner was short-tempered rude and unwelcoming, no television????, ironwas 1980's and cord was frayed. The entire place was rented for a freidn's wedding party. Clearly we would need to iron and at $215 can't you go to Target and invest on some for your guest? No plugs available to charge phones in room. Mattress and bedding was completely dated and hard. Asked for two extra towels and that was a problem. Front desk was not open despite the arrival of our party all at the same time and there is a note and phone on the wall to call???? Pathetic and ridiculous for the price. Spiders, Insects and Dirt in pool.

Room Tip: Don't stay here go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JReid74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and just relax in a serene, calm atmosphere. My boyfiend and I stayed at the resort just 2 days and were so in love. The hotel accommodations were great! It was like living in our own home. The view was so beautiful and to top it all off a very relaxing hot tub to take away all the stresses of everyday life. A great place to take your loved one for a romantic getaway or even the whole family. Not too far from Boston but you'll even enjoy the ride down, seeing the beauties of nature at it's best! Two days was not enough, we will definitely be back before the summer is out!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tihector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend over President's Day weekend and had an overall excellent time. I've stayed at a range of NH accommodations (26 years of family vacations and counting), and I've worked in several b&bs and hotels. In my opinion, this place hits just the right blend of historical charm and sincere hospitality, without being kitschy. It was exactly what we wanted for our NH weekend.

John, who seems to be the front-of-house half of the couple who runs the inn, was extremely helpful and welcoming at check-in. After showing us to our room, he brought coffee and homemade apple brownies (unexpected and very much appreciated) to our room. He is the bartender on Saturday nights when the small in-house tavern is open, and he is the main breakfast waiter. Apparently he also makes ice cream in his spare time. And yet he is never too busy to call up a local restaurant for you. The man is amazing.

The facilities were excellent for the age of the building, and everything was very clean. We especially enjoyed the fireplace in the parlor in the evenings and in the breakfast room in the mornings. There are a few common areas to spread out and read or play a game, so you don't feel like you need to spend all of your time in your room. I also was impressed with how warm the inn was, given that it was an old building and it was about 5 - 20 degrees out on the days that we stayed. The abundant heat was great most of the time, but at night we had trouble figuring out exactly how best to adjust the steam radiators so we wouldn't broil in our sleep. We both woke up a few times to deal with this.

The location is fairly remote, but near some beautiful stuff. If you ski, Crotched Mountain is just a few minutes down the road. If you want to snowshoe (which we did), you can walk to the end of the road and tromp around in the woods, or just walk through the inn's backyard. I'm sure it's stunning in the summer and fall, with plenty of hiking nearby and a swimming pool on the hill overlooking the mountains.

Last thing: breakfast was delicious and freshly made. Coffee was plentiful and out early. And the tavern, which is only open on Saturday nights, is a great experience, with a crew of chatty locals filling the bar. The food is tasty and reasonably priced, and saves you a 20 - 40 minute drive to the closest restaurants. Drinks are a little pricey, but you are paying for the ambiance, and you get to hang out by the fireplace while you sip them.

Overall, we felt that the Inn at Crotched Mountain was a great value for the service and accommodations we experienced there. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for low key, comfortable accommodations in rural NH, for any season.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohoRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francestown
0.9 mi away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hancock Inn
Hancock Inn
#1 of 1 in Hancock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
10.0 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
12.1 mi away
Colby Hill Inn
Colby Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Henniker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Crotched Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Crotched Mountain

Property: Inn at Crotched Mountain
Address: 534 Mountain Rd, Francestown, NH 03043-3913
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Francestown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Francestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing