We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crotched Mountain, NH remote location, but a wonderful golf course.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francestown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albany, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Crotched Mountain, NH remote location, but a wonderful golf course.”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

It is called Crotched Mt Resort and Spa but it also has onsite a very nice 18 hole par 71 golf course. Hilly and narrow in places, it is a course that suits all levels with some nice views of the mountains of southern Vermont. The condo rooms (1 or 2 brs) with full kitchens are clean, nicely decorated with in room wifi and a hot tub attached to your balcony or just outside the door. The pool is clean and well maintained and offers a cool refresher after 18 holes of golf. The TOLL BOOTH tavern offers good solid lunch fare. For dinner there ar a number of nearby restaurants. For a day travel to Greenfield State Park about 12 miles away. Good beach, a shady tree areas with picnic tables and a place to rent canoes. It is very kid friendly with clean restrooms. Mancester is only 35 minutes away with the Mall of New Hampshire and Double A baseball with the Fishercats (affiliated with the Toronto Blue Jays).
We have gone to CM the last two years and will return again and again. We had a 1 BR and a 2 BR for 5 adults and 4 children under the age of 8. All had a great time. Try it and don't forget the golf. The staff are friendly and ready to help. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaForbes, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our resort. We are a bit off the beaten path but I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to dine at Toll Booth Tavern and play a little golf. I am also please that our staff was friendly and helpful. We always strive for excellent guest service.
I would love to have you visit again and have sent you a link for a discount on a future stay.

Sincerely, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    52
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
75
74
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Almost in a middle of nowhere, full relaxing place to go even more if you play golf !
Very nice restaurant on the spot, lodging simply wonderfull, surpassed our expectations and they were high !
Condo style, fully furnished, washer & dryer, stove & fridge, glassware, dishes, etc etc....
The personnal are really friendly and attentive to our needs.
Swimming pool, tennis court, golf club, game room, computer internet avalibility, large selection of movie DVD avalaible at the front desk for free, library...
We've done the covered bridge tour and we really appreciated it.
Without any hesitation we recommend it to whom wants to relax.

Room Tip: Choose the suite which has your own spa direct on balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaterie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaForbes, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating. I appreciate you recommending us to family and friends. I would love to have you stay with us again and have sent you a link for a discount on a future stay. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groves, TX
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights in June, 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The accommodations were very well appointed and comfortable. We were on an extended (5 week) road trip from Texas to Nova Scotia and back and appreciated the relaxing atmosphere afforded by Crotched Mountain Resort. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaForbes, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our resort. I am pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and theat the our staff was friendly and helpful. I hope you will be able to visit again soon and have sent you a link for a discount on a future stay.

Warm regards, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Was passing through the area on business / family trip and needed to find a hotel for one night. Ive paid more for a holiday inn before and this place is fabulous! Wonderfully appointed room with kitchen (granite counters) bathroom, laundry, bed room, pull out bed, fire place, DVD player / LCD TV, deck over looking property, etc. Very nice people. Toll House restaurant on location is fantastic and inexpensively priced. The golf course looks great (wish I had time to play) and is CHEAP! Tennis courts were very nice. Great pool. The location is off the beaten path - takes a while to get to from the hwy... but that is part of its charm. if you are looking for a great place to spend a few days that is very affordable and really nice - this is the place. Especially if you are an avid golfer. I guess there is skiing here in the winter too LOL.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosfet32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaForbes, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am pleased you found our resort enjoyable and that our staff was hospitable. I would love for you to come visit us again and have sent you a link for a discount on a future stay.

Sincerely, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband & I stayed overnight on our way up to the White Mts. Only room available was the 2-bedroom, 2 Bath suite - which I must say was rather large, very modest & plain decor, had a nice sitting room area, a stereo, a sizable/clean kitchen and my favorite --a deck upon which sat a jacuzzi. Amazingly difficult to find, the directions for out of towners were extremely bad, especially if you're traveling at night. We arrived late from NYC so it was like a ghost town. We drove exceeding fast to the next town, 20 minutes away, Hillsborough, so we could get the equivalent of 7-11 like food. But we were grateful to get anything at all because this place is in the middle of nowhere.. with not even a vending machine to frequent. You would have to desire a VERY quiet vacation and if that were the case I'm sure you'd enjoy. Check out was exceedingly slow, but the staff was pleasant. We had breakfast in Bennington, (a one-horse town) just down the road, because there is nothing in Francestown.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMacNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaForbes, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your positive posting. We are a bit off the beaton path but I am happy that you found us and that your enjoyed your stay.

I have emailed you a link for a 15% discount for a future stay should you find that you are in our area again in the future.

Sincerely,
-Lisa Forbes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My friends and I were "blown away" with the quality of the accommodation, cleanliness of the area, friendliness of the staff and the excellent restaurant. We loved the view from our private deck which looked out into the woods and contributed to our ability to unwind after many days on the road. I whole heartedly recommend this resort - not only do I intend to return but will consider giving a weekend getaway as a gift.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the quiet second floor room with the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Crotched Mt. Resort is a perfect place to enjoy a quiet and peaceful vacation. There is enough to do, yet simply sitting on your private deck with a hottub nearby makes this place amazing. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit with another adult couple. The onsite golf course was challenging for the men and created a beautiful backdrop outside of our unit. The onsite restaurant has a lovely deck,(under renovation) and good food. The pool is old but fits the ambience of the location. On a rainy day we played pool, pingpong and other games in the activity center. There was noone else around yet the resort was 100% occupied. Our outings included Peterborough for lunch and again for dinner and shopping, it is a quaint MUST see village. We also visited Keene for a ladies day out. Amazing restaurants and shopping. The drive to anywhere is breathtaking. Rolling hills, covered bridges, farm land and animals and beautiful country homes.

Crotched Mt. Resort and Spa is not a spa! The name is deceiving. It is owned by the Shell Corportation and is a timeshare resort. The golf course and restaurant are privately owned. The partnership seems to work well. We have never and I mean never met staff so willing to help,chat and behave in such a genuine friendly manner. This resort tops the list for courtesy.

We will return when the renovation is complete.

Room Tip: Building C has private hot tubs and is an RCI building. They are also 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubblesLaRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francestown
21.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
20.4 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#3 of 8 in Concord
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
20.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Concord
Comfort Inn Concord
#6 of 8 in Concord
218 reviews
10.2 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 740 2nd Nh Tpke N, Francestown, NH 03043-3003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Francestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crotched Mountain Resort is a timeless retreat where once a toll was collected from traveling stagecoaches and wagons located just 60 miles from nearby Boston. 24 spacious one and two bedroom suites are like your home away from home, featuring fully equipped kitchens and fireplaces in the living area. The resort also features an outdoor swimming pool, two Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a community hot tub and casual dining at the on-site restaurant Toll Booth Tavern. Experience the most charming location in New England. Designed to be your own private hideaway, Crotched Mountain Resort is absolutely perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations, ski trips and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crotched Mountain Hotel Francestown
Crotched Mountain Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing