We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francestown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We just returned from this remote but wonderful resort. The only reason it doesn't have a 5 star rating is because the pool was unable to be used and that would have made it 5 stars. All of the staff we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful,especially Abby at the front desk, they went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as they could. The 2bed unit we stayed in was very clean, modern, spacious with very comfortable beds. The unit had its own private hot tub on the deck. We played golf twice on their 18 hole beautiful course which was not crowded. The onsite Restaurant is excellent, we ate most of our meals there. Be aware though that it is remote and there is not much to do around the resort. It is very relaxing, and we had a good time which would have been great had the pool been available

Room Tip: We stayed on the top level 3B and it was great. There are 4 units in each building and we heard very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crotched Mounta... R, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Dear Irene,

We are so very happy that you thought of us as a 5 star resort. Unfortunately we did have trouble with safety aspects of the pool and had to close it. This is a situation that we are currently working diligently on fixing. Also thank you very much for your kind words about our staff, Abbey in particular. We will be sure to let her and the rest of them know to keep up the good work! We hope you will continue to think of us a a 5 star resort and one in which you book your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We went for a HOLA. I'm an herbalist and this area is so beautiful in the fall. Its filled with wonderful history and quaint little towns. The stall was very good and accomodating and we will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebiJPeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crotched Mounta... R, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Dear Deb,

I am pleased to now have replied to two of your reviews meaning that you did indeed return for another stay here. It's always wonderful to see familiar faces slowly become friends as guests make it a regular routine staying here. Of course we would love to have you back again so that you can continue to explore the area's plant life and history as well as the people and culture of the region. I look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I surprised my wife with trip to New Hampshire and a stay at the Crotched Mountain Resort.

She was VERY surprised to say the least.

Upon our arrival, Jessica greeted two VERY weary travellers with a smile and a welcome that put a smile on our faces and helped us relax after 7 hours in the car.

This resort is awesome! Being in the middle of nowhere, Crotched Mountain Resort is truly a getaway from the everyday. We were pleased with the one-bedroom suite we had and the hot-tub was a WONDERFUL bonus!
The Queen sized bed was VERY comfy...BUT...I feel as though the money spent on maintenance fees for this resort could definately go towards some NEW DEEP pocket sheets for that extra thick comfy mattress!!! THIS is the only drawback to the room we found.
The onsite restaurant, The Toll Booth Tavern, was an awesome place to grab a GREAT meal and chill out.
The night we arrived, my wife dined on Pasta with meatballs and sausage and I enjoyed the New York Steak with Mashed with a side of Mashed!! (yep I like Mashed Potatoes!!)
It was at that point we made the decision that dinner would be enjoyed at the Toll Booth each night!!
We did not did spend time in the dining room as we enjoyed the chill attitude in the bar area so I can't speak to that.
EVERY dinner we had there was fantastic!! The Wait staff were extremely friendly and receptive and attentive. Amanda was our server a few times and she was absolutely sweet. took the time to chat with us "tourists" and gave us some travelling advice when we told her we were going to Boston and Cape Cod.
As I said earlier, this resort is in the middle of nowhere. Find a supermarket BEFORE you get to the general area as there really is nothing there.
We were very disappointed that the pool was not available while we were there. We were told that it is 'privately' owned and was not available this summer??
This is part of the reason that we say this resort is not family oriented at all. The playground (such as it was) was pulled apart and taped off and the pool was closed.
We did see some families arrive and kind of cringed with the thought "what will you do with your kids all week with nothing to do except a small games room and maybe 30 DVD rentals available"??
Predominantly a Golf resort so we really didn't do a lot of exploring. We did wonder if we could have taken possession of a golf cart to check out the rest of the property one day...but then decided to chill at the last minute.

If you are a couple wanting to get away or even two couples wanting to get away then this is the resort for you!! We will definately be back!!

Room Tip: if you are travelling as a couple then a one bedroom is perfectly fine. we didn't see a two bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mekewpieis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crotched Mounta... R, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Dear Mekewpieis,

Thank you for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed yourselves here. We will look into the sheets for the bed as you mentioned and we are currently working on fixing some safety issues with the pool so it can be up and running this coming summer. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are looking for peaceful, tranquility, nature, relaxing lovely place - this is it !!! It is very restful that we did not want to leave. We were in 2 bedroom (room 3D) which is upper floor and has private outdoor heated tub. So exhilarating to soak late at night with the stars and bright moon over you and nice breeze but you don't care for you are in 102 degrees H2O? Even when we had power failure due to thunderstorm, we still enjoyed the hot tub and the rain with candlelight--. So lovely and romantic.

Room Tip: Upper and corner room like 3D.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TERRY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crotched Mounta... R, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Dear Terry,

Thank you for your kind words about our resort. We do pride ourselves on being an "unplugged experience" where our guests can get away from it all. It's always great to hear that our guests soaked up that opportunity and made the most of it...especially during a power outage! That's very impressive! We hope that you consider us for future retreats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The unit was very clean and cozy. We had a 1 bedroom and it was comfortable for 2 people, but I would not have wanted another couple staying with us; 2 small children, maybe, but it would have been tight. We were surprised to receive housekeeping service mid-week; they emptied our trash and changed the towels. The unit was very well stocked; we had everything we needed for the week. We were in a downstairs unit, which made it easy to move in. There was no one staying above; however, when staff came to clean the unit upstairs, we realized how lucky we were to have no one above us all week. This was off-season so there was nothing going on – snow still on the golf course but we came to visit family. There is free Wi-Fi and a fireplace in the LR and BR. I called before arriving and was told only Duraflame logs were permitted, so we knew to bring them with us. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
This is a very comfortable, clean resort in a remote location. Returning during ski or golf season would provide more options for entertainment close by.

Room Tip: Try to get a unit on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Came over to NH from England in February 2013 for a few days skiing before travelling up to see friends in Maine.
The hotel was perfect. Really spacious apartment, 2 bedrooms (1 Double, 1 Twin) and a large lounge and open plan kitchen area.
The food was great also, after a long days skiing at Crotched Mountain, we went to the main building and grabbed a couple of pizzas and took them back to the room.
The room itself was very clean, no complaints whatsoever. We had a nice big balcony that overlooked the trees and it was a great sight in the snow. Some lower floor balconies had outside hot tubs but we were on the upper floor.

Inside the main reception building was great too, a nice library, DVD rentals, ping pong table, bar and restaurant is everything you would need there if you stayed for a few days.

Would love to go back there one day soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJKitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We are here on a RCI rental and have family that live about 30 minutes from the resort and decided to stay here rather than a hotel room in Manchester. We are in a two-bedroom unit (3D) and the unit is very nice.

The unit features two fireplaces, washer/dryer, full kitchen, and private hot tub. The kitchen was fully stocked and very functional. The unit décor is very nice and the unit was in great condition. Everything was in good working order and the room was very clean. I had to kill a few bugs (bee, fly, and ????), but the resort is in a VERY rural area, so I'm not too surprised about a bug here or there.

I contacted the resort when the reservation was made and also about a week before check-in and requested a second floor unit, because I read that it's quieter than first floor units. My contact with the resort staff has been wonderful. The staff responded quickly to my emails and have been really friendly throughout the process. The check-in process was like my other dealings with the resort-- quick, friendly, and very accommodating.

There were no additional fees and a scheduled mid-week cleaning. On the Shell website, it says that there is daily service, but perhaps with rentals/exchanges they only do a mid-week. We're really cool with no service, so a mid-week cleaning is great.

The resort has some planned activities and a restaurant on-site. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but noticed many people at the restaurant. There is one thing about the resort that's a little weird--the abandoned buildings behind the resort. You can read about the history of the resort in a review below, but it's really odd that they wouldn't just tear down these old dilapidated buildings. It must be due to cost and perhaps environmental issues that the old building haven't been tore down.

We weren't here on "vacation", but the area has a lot to offer those looking to explore New England. Although in a rural area, the resort allows access to Boston, NH lakes region, covered-bridges, outlet malls, etc. The resort definitely deserves its RCI Gold Crown rating.

I already booked another stay for April 2014 and in the process of planning a November trip also. As mentioned in the title, this is our favorite timeshare resort. We been to many and this place is just top notch. Highly recommend this place for a nice quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francestown
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
20.4 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#2 of 8 in Concord
341 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Concord
Comfort Inn Concord
#6 of 8 in Concord
234 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Concord Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 740 2nd Nh Tpke N, Francestown, NH 03043-3003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Francestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francestown
Price Range: £83 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crotched Mountain Resort is a timeless retreat where once a toll was collected from traveling stagecoaches and wagons located just 60 miles from nearby Boston. 24 spacious one and two bedroom suites are like your home away from home, featuring fully equipped kitchens and fireplaces in the living area. The resort also features an outdoor swimming pool, two Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a community hot tub and casual dining at the on-site restaurant Toll Booth Tavern. Experience the most charming location in New England. Designed to be your own private hideaway, Crotched Mountain Resort is absolutely perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations, ski trips and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crotched Mountain Resort And Spa
Crotched Mountain Hotel Francestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing