We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Man is Gone, but experience not all lost”

Old Man of the Mountain Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Full Day White Mountain Tour with Cannon Mountain Aerial Tram
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly New Hampshire's best known landmark, this rock formation resembling a man's profile collapsed on May 3, 2003.
Penns Grove, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Old Man is Gone, but experience not all lost”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Great Stone Face was a rather miraculous rock formation on the mountain, most dramatic, one can see why folks such as Daniel Webster and Nathaniel Hawthorne were so impressed. After being there for centuries (at least), it couldn't last forever and fell in May 2003. I had seen it many times over several decades and kept coming back for the wonder and sense of peace. Saw it again in late 2003 and felt like a friend had gone. Now they have installed a plaza and some structures at what was the viewpoint which, while nothing can replace the Old Man, do give a sense of what it looked like. Not a wasted trip: read the postings, find the spot (based on your height), and look up, get a sense of how privileged we were to have had it as long as we did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    59
    44
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I had not heard of the Old Man of the Mountain until 6 months ago and had no emotional reaction to hearing it was no longer there. However, when we visited the site and read the information and saw how people who grew up with "him" felt about his demise, I felt their sadness.
They have cleverly put together a way for folks to still see how it once looked. Kudos and nicely done.
It is worth checking out just to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skowhegan, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Cleverly memorialized”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The plaza built for viewing the moutain where the Old Man's profile once looked out has been very cleverly designed so the visitor can see and experience how the Great Stone Face once appeared. I was very impressed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sazSkowhegan_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“If only The old Man of The mountain were still there !”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

You would think a fitting tribute to the Old Man would have been a bit more thought out ! I found it a Dim tribute . This Figure is on there license plates , also the State quarter . Why not take up donations and recreate this Stone formation in Fiberglass ? After all its almost like it represents the State ! Looking through props just does not justify the original as I remember it as a child ... I was very disappointed .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fldsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice tribute”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Although it has fallen down, the state park has done a wonderful tribute and it is worth to see. It is very easy access from the highway. There is a lot of history of how it was preserved over the years before it finally fell in 2003.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Man of the Mountain Historic Site also viewed

Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 

Been to Old Man of the Mountain Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing