We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to learn! ”

Old Man of the Mountain Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Full Day White Mountain Tour with Cannon Mountain Aerial Tram
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly New Hampshire's best known landmark, this rock formation resembling a man's profile collapsed on May 3, 2003.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lots to learn! ”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We visited yesterday and really enjoyed our visit. It was a nice walk from the parking area to the memorial park. Lots of signs telling about the wildlife in the area and the history of the old man. The museum was nice to walk through. Some souvenirs available in the gift shop also restrooms available on site.

Helpful?
1 Thank Thornes348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    59
    44
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
campton, NH
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice clean and peacful park”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is must 30 minute stop through the notch. The park is small but clean, the views are awesome and nature here is gorgeous. The lake is very tranquil and the streams leading into it is fun to toss pebbles or sticks into. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank doogha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“losing face”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have been here before before NH lost its face:) but the park has a great view. this is the first time we have been here during the winter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gone but not Forgotten”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Although I've lived in NH 30+ years, never actually stopped at this site. Always look up to see the Old Man even though I know he's no longer there.

Thought we'd stop now to see how they did the sculpture to put the Old Man back on the Mountain. Pretty clever how they did it. I expected it to be much bigger than it was but I guess in order to have it look proportionate it would have to be small.

It was very cold and we had had recent rain and then a freeze so the path flooded and froze and was very difficult to walk over. Didn't look like any salt had been put down.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I guess we missed the memo that the old man was gone. We took the short walk, which was not bad for us but the uphill portion seemed difficult for those with mobility impairments. Judging by the looks on their faces on the way back to the parking lot, I would say many of them did not expect to take that walk only to see a recreation of the old man.

The park has poles with silhouettes that you line up with the mountain face to see what the old man looked like. Given that the old man's likeness is on highway signs and such, I can see that they are desperately clinging to this image, however I think tourists should be given more forewarning on the exit signs that the OLD MAN IS GONE. I am with another reviewer who commented that this was pretty lame, just let him go. We were sorry we wasted our time. If we want to see a recreation, his face is on every highway sign. At least it was free.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CristyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Man of the Mountain Historic Site also viewed

Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 

Been to Old Man of the Mountain Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing