We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day of spring skiing”
Review of Cannon Mountain

Cannon Mountain
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Full Day White Mountain Tour with Cannon Mountain Aerial Tram
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named for its gun-like appearance.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun day of spring skiing”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The price was right (two for one) for a day of Spring skiing at Cannon Mountain. I took my younger son, who had never previously gone skiing, and we had a great day together. The family ski area was particularly great - a bunch of green runs and three blue runs. We never once stood in line. We rented skis for lower cost in Lincoln and packed our lunch. Great time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timoteyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    109
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We visited in the fall (so no skiing or snowboarding) but we took the Aerial Tram up the mountain. For a small price we bought round trip tickets for a ride up the mountain that will surely be pleasing to your eyes if you're lucky enough to go on a day when it's not crowded or you get close enough to the window. It was very chilly at the top of the mountain but the views were incredible. At the top there is a small cafe and bar which were both closed when we visited which was kind of a bummer because there is a great outdoor seating area where you can eat while taking in the beautiful scenery. There is an observation tower and some hiking trails that lead off the mountain however we arrived too late in the day so we did not have enough time to do either of those. It was a nice way to pass some time as we had spent the earlier part of the day in other parts of Franconia Notch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Among the best in NH”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It's really hard to choose another mountain in NH where I'd rather ski. I've skied at various area around NE a number of times over the past few years, and coming off a great day at Cannon the other week, here's how I'd summarize it. Pros: great terrain (groomers, steeps, glades, bumps, terrain park), crowds (very rare), vibe (laid back, skiing/boarding focused, friendly staff), snow quality (Franconia Notch seems to get more than the rest of NH), top to bottom tram, solid family area (Tuckerbrook), all natural area (Mittersill), views (beautiful on clear days). Cons: weather (wind can close the lifts, colder/windier than some other areas, top can be fogged in), trail convergences (there are a couple of places where everyone seems to get funneled, and it can get skied off somewhat quickly), slow upper quad (the only other way to get to the top vs. the tram) - and that's about it.

If you want to wait in lift lines and fight for tables at lunch, head elsewhere. But if you want a great NH ski experience, Cannon is the place...just check the weather first.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank philryan835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Closed?”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just wanted to go up and watch the skiing and have a snack. The whole mountain was closed at 2:30 on a Monday. WHAT?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank weble56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a great time at Cannon Mountain this past weekend. The staff was very helpful on finding a forgotten helmet. We love the Mountain, but after the first night we switched hotels. Littleton is not far away, and less of a party atmosphere. If you are young and want to party, stay around the mountain, if you want to spend the evening checking out great restaurants stay in Littleton.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cannon Mountain also viewed

Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 

Been to Cannon Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing