We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mittersill Alpine Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$109
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillwinds Lodge(Franconia)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge(Franconia)(Great Value!)
US$74
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arlington Hotel(Bethlehem)
US$173
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastgate Inn(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thayers Inn(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Squire Motel(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
9
22
19
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
22
19
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssofa bedfull size refrigeratorlarge closetstorage areathe fully equipped kitchennorth conwaytime sharecannon mountainexercise roomsmaller tvrci timeshareolder propertybedroom condothe pubhot tubinteresting historybit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip up to New Hampshire for some skiing near our kids who attend college there. While this has been a terrible year as snow accumulation goes, which meant the back country slopes at Mittersill were closed, we still had a great stay. Yes, the resort is old, but that is truly it's charm. Nothing like showing b&w photos throughout the lobby, boasting of all the celebrities who have stayed there! The resort is just about at the base of Cannon Mountain and close enough to a number of other ski areas to enjoy (Bretton Woods, Loon, Waterville Valley...) as well as the national park hiking trails to keep us entertained throughout the week.
The down side is that there is NOTHING else in Franconia so you have to drive 10-15 mins into Lincoln for the closest shopping/restaurants etc. We were at the bar on the lower level of the resort for SuperBowl which was a joke -- they don't have alcohol, just beer/wine, and the bartender has to practically be begged for a refill. If you're a skier, be sure to visit the ski museum located at the base of Cannon's tram -- it was a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed for a week between Christmas and New Year every year for three years. This year was the worst year for snow sport due to the unusually warm weather. There is barely any snow there that week plus a big rain storm ruin our snowboarding vacation. Since we cannot blame mother nature, our experience is still excellent. We exchange through RCI into this resort. We toke a new route through Eastern Vermont to Franconia and it was very pleasure and much shorter. The drive takes about six hours. The resort is located next to the Cannon Mountain. I would consider this a ski in and out resort and there is not many in the New England area within the timeshare network. The front desk allow our to check-in to our room when we arrive at two o'clock. We love them! All the staff are very nice and many of them are new this year. The manager inform us that we have the best one bedroom unit in the resort. Unit 215 has its own parking space and is one of the largest unit available.

Our one bedroom unit was very, very nice. It is located on the first floor facing the mountain with a large wrap around porch. It will be nice in the summer too. The unit has very high ceiling with view from large windows on three side. All furniture are old made of old thick wood and they hold up over the year. The resort is very quiet this year. They say is it the worst Christmas week in ten years. The unit is clean and comfortable. The living area is large with large flat screen TV, dining area and sofa bed. The fully equipped kitchen has with full size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, toaster and blender. It also has all the pots, pans, plates, bowls and utensil you will need to fix a good meal. There is many storage area in this unit, including a large closet and many shelf and chest. The one bedroom unit has a queen bed and smaller flat screen tv. The bathroom is very big with tub. There is no laundry facility in the unit. It is at the basement near the pub.The pub that drinks and light meals. There is a indoor pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna and laundry facility. There is towel exchange Monday and Wednesday. You can get towel at the front desk for the pool. Resort has an assortment of activity including morning social, karaoke and evening drink and cheese. Free Wifi is at the lobby or near the pub. There is a large sitting area for Wifi use.

There is a Walmart, large grocery and small country shop in Littleton. It is also a good idea to get your weather sport gear in Walmart. It is very expensive at Cannon. We make our lunch to take to skiing. Our favorite breakfast and lunch place is Coffee Cup in Main Street Littleton. They make their own bread. The place is small and it is always full. This time we discover Mac's supermarket about 6 miles turning left out of Mittersill entrance. This supermarket is in Franconia and much nicer. Franconia also have a few restaurant.

Room Tip: The resort mostly has one bedroom unit. The size of the unit range from 400 to 800 sqaure feet. Any of the rooms are fine but if you have more than two people you will be more comfortable in the larger unit.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

had a lot of rain but no worry explored area anyway...fantastic foliage and views...room was great for a couple...a few wrongs...pool too cold...spa too hot...jacuzzi just right...bed great...pub was only open on weekend which we found a lot of in area...food great at Above the Notch restaurant in Cannon View hotel in Franconia Notch...also Little Grill at Depot in Littleton...adorable town..Topic of the Town was great breakfast...go to Moose Tours in Lincoln...so fun...chasing moose in the middle of the night on a bus...saw three !! awesome...great guys Eric and Larry...also go to Mt Washington by Cog Railway ...almost made the top but was too windy...got to 5,000 ft...once in a lifetime experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Pros and Cons: The Mittersill was not terrible. They have very nice front desk staff, a nice fitness area, spa and pool. Unfortunately, the room we had was old and a bit dusty. We had constant problems with the plumbing, leaks and broken toilet. They fixed the toilet late our first night but it broke just about everyday. The couches and bed were itchy, not sure if bed bugs or something? We woke up with large bug bites a few mornings. We are not picky and can "camp out" if needed. This was not a return trip place for us.
Internet only worked in one lounge area and did not work everyday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mojeta51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed at Mittersill for a week of skiing in mid-March 2011 through an RCI timeshare exchange. The resort, a big Austrian-style chalet, is old but has an interesting history and a certain quirky charm, with lots of displays of old photos from the forties and fifties when the resort was in its heyday with visits from royalty and movie stars. Our 2-bedroom, 2-bath unit with full kitchen was well-equipped, clean, roomy and comfortable for four of us. The room was not supposed to include WiFi, but our room was located directly above the lounge that had it and we got a strong signal in our room, which our son appreciated. My husband particularly enjoyed the sauna and we all used the pool, hot tub, and Jacuzzi, which were located at the end of a long, maze-like corridor running through all the various additions to the original building. We brought most of our groceries with us from home and cooked all our dinners in the unit. We went down to the Baron’s Pub one evening for a beer and were the only ones there, but the bartender was friendly and shared some stories about the resort’s past.

This was our first time skiing at Cannon Mt. and we loved it! The views from the top are spectacular and the conditions were good, with several beautiful days of blue skies and packed powder before the wind and rain blew in. The lift ticket prices at Cannon are reasonable compared to other areas, with two for the price of one on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The parking lot at the main base is only a very short drive from the resort, close enough that we could come back to the condo for lunch without losing too much skiing time. We did not ski the Mittersill trails, which come right down to the resort but are ungroomed with no snowmaking and are still considered back country skiing, or use the new Mittersill lift. You could walk to the Mittersill lift from the resort but I wouldn’t want to do it in ski boots. We skied only at Cannon, but if we stay here again we might try out Bretton Woods and Loon, which are both fairly close by, and we’ll try the Taft Trail from Cannon over to Mittersill.

Room Tip: For timeshare exchange, ask for 2-bedroom unit
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rhipple21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews