We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting, older property could use some updates” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mittersill Alpine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mittersill Alpine Resort
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting, older property could use some updates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great location at the base of Cannon Mountain in Franconia Notch - same exit as Echo Lake.
Reminds me a little of the Overlook Hotel in The Shining. There are lots of interesting, old pictures from its hey day. The hotel rambles you can see where each addition was made to the property.
Place could really use a full restaurant. We stayed in September so AC was not missed.
Bottom line if you go in with low expectations, and get a good deal, it is a great place to use as a base for exploring an interesting part of NH. Rooms were adequate. No prizes for the bedding.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Luke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is definitely an "older" property, but upkeep is good. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a one bedroom overlooking the pool and mountain. Quiet most of the time with mainly older adults during our visit in late August. No amenities on the premises really, but location is ideal for exploring the Franconia and White Mountains areas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the main building (keep away from the side buildings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richinnewhartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We traded a week in VA for this resort. Big disappointment. Rooms are two old hotel rooms converted to one unit. Small kitchen and bath. Both room doors are still in use. Room was clean and furniture was in good shape. No air conditioning, just a small fan. It was over 85 degrees every day! No restaurant, just a small bar that serves a few dishes. Closest restaurant is about 5 miles away. There is an outdoor and indoor pool and indoor hot tubs and steam room. Has a small balcony with 2 chairs. There are hotel rooms available but this review is for the time share unit.

Room Tip: Stay away from the charcoal cookers. Fumes are terrible since you have to keep your windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We called ahead to let them know that we would be arriving late, so there was no problem when we checked in, the staff was nice, but they charged for everything and closed the pool at 7pm (it was supposed to be open until 10pm) with no explaination. Extra charges for movies, games, etc, our second week in NH was spent at Forest Glen in North Conway, and although the unit there was smaller, we enjoyed our stay there much more, Mittersill was old, but nice, won't stay there again unless it is the only place in the area that is available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Forest, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Mittersill Resort is primarily a vacation time-share "resort" (not the typical definition of resort) that also has 3 hotel-type rooms. My friend and I stayed 3 nights in one of the hotel rooms. The price was good, especially for the location--it is situated in/near Franconia Notch State Park and you can walk to Echo Lake, which has paddleboat and canoe rentals. The surrounding area is quite scenic, as Mittersill is situated at the foot of a mountain and surrounded by trees.
The accomodations are sparse, with very little services available. There is no maid service (apparently the towels are changed on Mondays and Wednesdays if you leave the bag of used towels outside your door), and the front desk was open for only a few hours (9 a.m. until 6 or 7 p.m.). We arrived at the deserted resort around 2:00 p.m. and were told we were unable to check-in until 4:00 p.m. because the room would not be ready yet. There did not seem to be anyone at the resort, and once we entered our room, it seemed as if no one had stayed in that particular room in the recent past, so we wondered why we couldn't check-in at 2:00. I suppose it is part of the house rules, but it was somewhat annoying.
Our room was large for a hotel room, and the bathroom seemed to be fairly new and clean, but it was very small. There is no air conditioning, and the temperatures were in the 90s. We had two windows in our room so we were able to get cross-ventilation, but if a guest stayed in one of the other hotel rooms, I do not believe this would be possible. We did ask for a fan at the front desk, and there is a ceiling fan, but sleeping was still difficult with the heat. As mentioned before, we did not receive fresh towels the entire time we stayed, and if you want pool towels, you must ask at the front desk and leave a $5 deposit.
Again, the biggest attraction is its proximity to activities--if you are in the area, you must visit Flume Gorge and take the Cannon Mountain tram, both of which cost $15. The town of Littleton, about 9 miles north, is worth the trip, and you MUST eat at Polly's Pancake Parlor in Sugar Hill.
While the location of the Mittersill Alpine Resort is ideal, I would not voluntarily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I recently spent a week at the Mittersill Alpine Resort for a ski trip in March. We had a one bedroom unit. We arrived very late on Friday night and were awakened early in the morning by our downstairs neighbors having a conversation and the baby next door screaming. With trepidation, we went to the front desk to complete our check in process. The man said he has never gotten any complaints of noise and there are quiet hours in place. It was not as if these people were being loud, just living their lives. We decided to not request at that point to move units because our view was awesome of a ski run coming down Mittersill Mtn. As it turns out, it seemed as if everyone checked out and we had the place to ourselves. You can still hear people talking and walking in the hall but it was not a big deal. I imagine when the resort is full it would be very loud. Apparently ski season is off season up there. The unit was sufficient. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking stuff (no blender). It was kind of tight for 2 people to be in the kitchen at the same time but no big woop. It looked as if some parts of the condo had been updated as far as furniture. Nothing was dilapidated and falling apart. There was a flat screen tv in the living room, old one in the bedroom. The bed was pretty comfortable but the linens were awful as were the towels. Blankets had us sneezing all night. The bathroom had not been renovated and was pretty gross. The tub was peeling off paint or something and was moldy. I would absolutely never take a bath in it. The shower head was so old it put out one small steam of water. But it seemed like there was radiant heat in the bathroom floor which heated the tiles and toilet and that was awesome on a cold night! So, some parts of the unit were very outdated but some were not. Overall, it was a comfortable place to stay for a week. I would be concerned about neighbor noise if I was to stay there again. There also is no a/c which I imagine might get hot in the summer. There was a small fan in the closet. There is NO mid week maid cleaning. You can switch towels at the desk if you want. The resort is kind of like a maze and it’s easy to get lost which was fun. Its still very old school decorating which I happened to find appealing but it is certainly not fancy or luxurious. The game room was pretty cool with ping pong and air hockey. There were 2 hot tubs which intermittently were heated. The sauna was not working. The indoor pool was too cold for me but there were definitely kids playing in there every day. The restaurant was only open on Fri-Sun so we didn’t eat there. They are quite adamant about it being a non-smoking place but there were ashtrays located by all the entrance doors so you’re greeted by the smell of old cigarettes as soon as you walk in. It was really weird not to mention gross since they stated over and over you can’t smoke. It is pretty isolated from anything to do. It’s about 15 minutes to get to a store in Franconia proper. If skiing at Cannon, it’s an actual hike (15 minutes uphill) to ski Mittersill mountain and if you can find the run right down to the condo you would have to walk back to the lift. So, I would call it ski in but not ski out. And it’s all ungroomed terrain so you can’t ski-in with novices/kids. Most of the restaurants around the area were closed for the season so I can’t recommend any places to eat. Lincoln had a nice little Main Street with some galleries and shopping. So, I would stay here again for a ski trip. It’s not fancy but good enough. I would worry about no a/c in the summer and the noise factor when it’s crowded. I would ask for a room facing the mountain. Many units faced the parking lot. But the location is central for venturing to a lot of places.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bellestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have been coming here since 1979..my parents have transferred it over to me and my kids and we love it!! my grandson thinks its the best place in the world. Its modern not fancy but that's what we love about it..Old school charm we look forward to coming every October

Room Tip: back side and mountain side have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
9.4 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
14.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittersill Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittersill Alpine Resort

Property: Mittersill Alpine Resort
Address: 193 Mittersill Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5128
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mittersill Alpine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittersill Alpine Resort - a four-seasons lodging, vacation rental & ownership resort in scenic Franconia Notch, New Hampshire. Hiking - Biking - Golf - Skiing - Great trails - All nearby! We are uniquely poised to offer great timeshare experiences. The Best way to ensure a good vacation is to own it! A great family get-a-way! Your home away from home! Relaxing and quiet, a perfect location for a quality and affordable vacation. Nestled in a unique mountain side village, experience the beauty of Northern New Hampshire in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest. Something for everyone - enjoy the nature of all seasons and many other area attractions nearby. Mittersill Alpine Resort has been devoted to vacation ownership since 1979. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mittersill Alpine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mittersill Alpine Hotel Franconia
Mittersill Alpine Resort Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing