We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ski vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mittersill Alpine Resort
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed for a week between Christmas and New Year. The weather was very cold. It takes six and a half hours to drive from Bergen County New Jersey to the resort. The resort is located next to the Cannon Mountain. I would consider this a ski in and out resort and there is not many in the New England area within the timeshare network. The check-in was very easy. We got in at two and was in our unit by two thirty. The front desk attendant was extremely friendly. The only thing to do this time of the year is ski and snowboarding and the location and condition is perfect. Cannon mountain is in great condition and there is more people than last year.

Our one bedroom unit was very nice. It is located on the second floor facing the mountain with a balcony. It will be nice in the summer too. The resort is very quiet this week even thought there is a lot of people at Cannon. The resort area is very beautiful in a snowy way. The unit is clean and comfortable. The living area is large with very small TV, dining area and sofa bed. The fully equipped kitchen has with full size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, toaster and blender. It also has all the pots, pans, plates, bowls and utensil you will need to fix a good meal. There is many storage area in this unit, including a large closet and many shelf and chest. The one bedroom unit has a queen bed and the bathroom has tub and shower. Bedroom is small with small tv but the bathroom is quite large. There is no laundry facility in the unit. It is at the basement, also the pub/restaurant that serve drinks and light meals, gym, swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, gym and garbage removal. There is towel exchange Monday and Wednesday. Resort has an assortment of activity including morning social, karaoke and evening drink and cheese.

Grocery shopping is a challenge in the area especially when weather is bad and the road is blocked in which will happen in the winter. It is a good idea to get your grocery ahead of time at Littleton. There is a Walmart, large grocery and small country shop. It is also a good idea to get your weather sport gear in Walmart. It is very expensive at Cannon. We make our lunch to take to skiing.

There is many not much restaurant to eat in this area. We ate at a Mexican place in Littleton and that was very nice. Cannon mountain was so busy this season. They have shuttle running from the resort to the mountain non-stop from ten to three thirty. That was great. There is no need to drive. You will not be able to park your car anyway. Just grab your board and get on the shuttle. It is the best! We are already book for year 2011. See your soon Mittersill!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Mittersill Alpine Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2010

all i have to say is thank god for this place!!!! my friend and i were driving on the highway when it started snowing, had no choice but to get off and find a place to stay. thank god they were nice enough to give us a room for a few hours until it settled down. the room was nice and came with a fridge and microwave which is more than i got at some more expensive hotels. so all in all this place is my savior!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brittneyfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We exchange through RCI into this New Hampshire timeshare Christmas to New Year Week. Confirmed into a 1 bedroom unit. Check-in was very easy. The resort just off the exit from the highway next to Cannon Mountain Peabody Base Lodge.

The one bedroom unit we have is very, very small. There is sofa bed, queen bed, 2 tv, one chest, closet for storage. The full kitchen has with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, oven, toaster and coffee machine. It also has all the pots, pans, plates, bowls and utensil you will need to fix a meal. Counter sitting for two and table set for four. There is not a lot of space to move around. The furnishing and appliances were all old and tire. Our plan was to snowboard at Cannon as much as possible and cook our meal in the unit. This resort serves our purpose. The resort is also built very nicely. We did not hear much noise from the hallway or other units.

The Shaw supermarket is about twenty minutes drive away right next to NH State run Liquor store. The price is really reasonable compare to NJ. There is also a very nice local market on Main Store in Littleton. There is not a lot of good restaurant choices in Littleton and Franconia. North Conway has a large selection of fine dining, outlet and boutique shopping and more ski area is about one hour away.

There is a small pub with very reasonable prices. The game room has some arcade games. Swimming pool and hot tub is very, very small. The gym have nice equipment. There is towel exchange Monday and Wednesday. Bathroom has very little shelve space. There is a start pack of shampoo and soap in the bathroom. Orientation breakfast is on Monday morning. Many exchanger were interested in purchasing a winter or fall week at the resort. I have to say the location next to Cannon is a very positive quality to this resort.

Cannon Mountain is very good mountain. The resort offer discount tickets. The mountain is a lot of fun. Never crowd, a lot of snow. The only drawback is that it is state own so grooming and snow making is not aggressive and closing time is about four in the afternoon. They don't offer night skiing. The lift ticket is a lot cheaper than other area in NH and Vermont.

I have also walked up the Mittersill Slope due to open for skiing soon. At Christmas week there is a shuttle to take skier back to the lift at the base. I really enjoy my week at Mittersill. I have already plan to return next year hopefully to a larger unit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed at mittersill only because it was a cheap deal through RCI's last minute deals. The hotel seems like it is stuck in the late 50's, when this place was a popular ski resort. it is nestled right next to Cannon mountain which is a plus if you like to ski/board, and you can still see mittersill's old ski area right behind the hotel.

our main problem with mittersill is that there is NOTHING to do in the area. franconia is basically a ghost town, and there is nothing really close by. we tried the food at the "bar/grille" downstairs which is basically wholesale club food heated up in a microwave. My advice would be to stay somewhere in Lincoln where there are a bunch of restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wnharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We stayed here on a timeshare exchange. The area is very beautiful with lots of activities for the kids. We were here in early summer, so it was not that busy, I imagine in the winter it gets very busy as there is some great skiing in the area.

The hotel was a very popular destination in the 40's and 50's(?), and it needs an updating. Our suite was a 2 bedroom suite with a balcony and a great view. The place is clean but the appliances are a little old. During our stay the outdoor pool was closed for renovation so we had to use the indoor pool, which was ok, but the pool is not that big and a bit claustrophobic.

You have to drive a ways for a half decent grocery store, Littleton is 13 miles away and also has a Wal-mart.

If the price is right not a bad place to stay, but there are nicer places in the area, though they will likely cost more.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bajan_loch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
3.8 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
7.5 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#12 of 20 in Lincoln
623 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittersill Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittersill Alpine Resort

Address: 193 Mittersill Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5128
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Franconia
Price Range: £118 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mittersill Alpine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittersill Alpine Resort - a four-seasons lodging, vacation rental & ownership resort in scenic Franconia Notch, New Hampshire. Hiking - Biking - Golf - Skiing - Great trails - All nearby! We are uniquely poised to offer great timeshare experiences. The Best way to ensure a good vacation is to own it! A great family get-a-way! Your home away from home! Relaxing and quiet, a perfect location for a quality and affordable vacation. Nestled in a unique mountain side village, experience the beauty of Northern New Hampshire in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest. Something for everyone - enjoy the nature of all seasons and many other area attractions nearby. Mittersill Alpine Resort has been devoted to vacation ownership since 1979. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mittersill Alpine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mittersill Alpine Hotel Franconia
Mittersill Alpine Resort Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing