We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, relaxing stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Horse and Hound Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed in the Horse and Hound for 5 nights and it was a fantastic experience. The inn itself is a beautiful old building, and the recent restoration work -- especially in the library and dining room -- has preserved that beauty.

Our hosts were always on hand and helpful if we had a question or problem. I had to get an emergency package delivered to the inn during our stay, and they were all over it -- they even offered to send it on to me if it happened to arrive after we'd left.

As the other reviews have said, the food here is incredible. Breakfasts are delicious, and dinner was even better. We both happen to be vegetarian, and our hosts handled this requirement very well. Plus, the bar's mixologist makes awesome cocktails using her own homemade preserved fruit.

In all, this was a great stay, and the highlight of our time in New England. Our only regret was that the bar and restaurant weren't open every night of the week!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Horse and Hound Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

The Horse and Hound Inn was a very smart place to stay. It was warm, beautiful, we were well fed, and we thought it was reasonably priced. We were there for a romantic weekend of hiking in the stunning Franconia Notch. The inn was just what we needed with a large, hot shower, hearty breakfast, and gracious hosts. After a long day hiking, were were wrecked, and took advantage of the lovely restaurant run out of the inn in the evenings. The chicken pot pie was just what I needed after a chilly hike, and I only regret not having room for the clam chowder that smelled delicious, too. My only challenge was sleeping on the pillow-top mattress. Seriously. I know. Our bed at home is pretty firm. I would definitely recommend Ron and Ken's Horse and Hound Inn.

Room Tip: Room 1 is near the stairs and is probably loud on the bare wood stairs. If you need a firm mattress...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em and M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Delightful rooms in recently and beautifully restored inn with lots of character, for reasonable cost. Owners welcoming and attentive. Food excellent. Good atmosphere in both the bar and the restaurant, and also in the library/sitting room. Buffet breakfast with excellent hot quiche.

No TV in room, but not an issue for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I visited NH for two nights and stayed in a roadside motel the first night before going to The Horse and Hound for her birthday night. Considering the level of hospitality we received at the price we paid we should have stayed here two nights. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The amenities including wine and time with the innkeeper were above and beyond what we expected. It was just enough out of the way to be quite and comfortable. We dined one evening to an exceptional meal prepared by a master chef and it was beyond anything we have enjoyed at an inn in quite some time. We visited with the chef the next day over breakfast which was included in the cost. Wow what a breakfast it was. The chef and the inn keeper spent time with us and relished in our positive remarks. This is a newly renovated inn and under excellent management. It should be consider first on your list as a couple or a family and is certainly close enough to the area ski slopes to be considered an excellent place for skiers to stay. We would recommend without reservation. Incidentally we are prior hospitality owners and maintain a critical eye to the sites we visit. I only wish we had been able to provide this level of hospitality.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We were two couples travelling New England and had the pleasure of staying at the Horse and Hound. The owners Ron and Ken made us feel most welcome. The hotel is warm and clean and the rooms are tastefully decorated, not to mention the superb breakfasts. They also have a wonderful restaurant. We spent 3 nights there and I can honestly say we will always warmly remember the Horse and Hound and Ron and Ken.

Room Tip: They are all great!. We stayed in No. 2!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice_Ch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

As we were driving down small country roads looking at leaves we came across the Horse and Hound, and we couldn't have been more impressed with our stay there. The innkeepers are smart and warm. The decor is sophisticated, clean and inviting. The included breakfast was out of this world. What a great deal. I couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJBoston80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is a most beautiful place, ideal to explore the White Mountains. Two minutes off the main road in the Franconia region, the inn sits in a beautiful large garden, surrounded by forest and mountains. The rooms are tastefully furnished, the bathroom is spacious and luxurious. (The only drawback was the bed, which was a little small even for a romantic couple, and sagging a bit.) Owners Ron and Ken are most gracious hosts, who keep a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Make sure to spend time in the incredibly beautiful library. Breakfast is an a la carte choice of yoghurt, granola, eggs, pancakes, and toast, served in the inn's tavern; we also recommend dinner there, especially if you don't want to drive to find a restaurant. The Horse & Hound is ten minutes from the Flume George and other attractions and hiking trails in the White Mountains; we had a most wonderful time there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
1.4 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
169 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Hound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Hound Inn

Address: 205 Wells Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5148
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range: £81 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RETURN OF A CLASSIC. The Horse and Hound, located in the rugged White Mountains of New Hampshire, first opened in 1946 as a tasteful inn, tavern and restaurant. With three fireplaces and knotty pine paneling throughout, the inn welcomed everyone from Hollywood stars to local outdoor enthusiasts and quickly established a reputation for great food, elegant lodging and warm hospitality. Now celebrating its 65th anniversary, the Horse and Hound was closed from December 2010 through June 2011 while undergoing a comprehensive restoration to its classic lodge style. Now completed, the cheerful tavern, gracious dining room, elegant lobby, handsome library/lounge, and nine restful guest rooms once again invite you to unwind and relax after an active day in the Great Outdoors. Thank you for your interest and we look forward to welcoming you back. FOOD, SPORT & STEWARDSHIP OF THE GREAT OUTDOORS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horse And Hound Hotel Franconia
Horse And Hound Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing