We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear troubles!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette Campground
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a nice, well-run camp site, and the noise from the road didn't really bother us, but the BEARS did! Two bears have been around for a few weeks so far this summer - they broke a pole on a tent we set up to hold gear right next the tent we were sleeping in. We had one empty soda can next to the tent and absolutely no other food or trash anywhere on the campsite - it was all locked up in the truck. Maybe that's enough to make the bear experience our fault - but campers should be warned that bears are around so they can take extra precautions and maybe not bring small children to this site.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you are looking for a private and quiet camping experience this is NOT the campground to stay at.

The campground has a very good location to serve as a base camp for all the great hikes in the area. The staff were helpful. Access to flush toilets and showers are only a short walk away.

The sites are squeezed in very close together and there is no buffer between you and your neighbours. If I spoke French I'd know all the business that the campers to my left and right were discussing. I took a site that was as far from the roadway as possible but I could still hear trucks driving at all hours of the day/night.

Room Tip: Avoid site 22. Level tent ground is too close to the fire pit. And it feels like you are sharing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lafayette Campground is in a fantastic location on Route 93 with easy access to all the activities / trails / lakes in the Franconia Notch area. The campsites are all very close together and since it's near Route 93, you hear road noise (mostly trucks) all night long. Bathrooms vary - there's one really old one and then two that are modern and new and definitely preferred. The showers are good with plenty of hot water ($1 for 5 minutes plus 25 cents for each additional 75 seconds as of July 2012).

We've used the Campground twice as a jump-off point for backpacking in the White Mountains. It's really conveniently located between the AMC huts Lonesome Lake and Greenleaf so you can hike to either directly from the campground.

If the sites were slightly further from each other and the road noise slightly lower, I would have rated this 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I've stayed here several times, most recently June 2012. It's convenient to many trails, including some that leave from the campground itself. Sites are generally good sized for tents and flat, though close together. Several are along the river. The searchable site map (reservations through Reserveamerica.com) will tell you what the sites are best suited for and whether they are shaded, partially shaded, etc. There are pay showers available, a welcome relief after a hot day on the trail or a cool day when you want to warm up.

It's near the highway, so you will get some traffic noise. And because it's on the southbound side, if you are heading northbound, you'll need to circle back an exit (signs let you know).

Make reservations well in advance and be aware that for weekends, they expect you to stay 2 nights. There's also a service fee for the reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Journeying_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Camped here two nights while hiking in Franconia Notch State Park. Sites are large and well manicured. This is a busy campground. The place was full the weekend we stayed and there were lots of kids around. If you're looking for a private campsite this is not it. That being said, the location is right at the trailhead for the Franconia Ridge loop so it was perfect for us. Most campers quieted down after 9pm or so. The campground is close to the highway so you do hear some traffic noise, but this also tends to quiet down late at night. It rained one of the nights we were there which actually helped drown out the background noise. Facilities are adequate. There was a bit of a line to check-in due to the fact there's just one person working the general store/check-in desk and he's quite chatty. All in all we had a great stay and got good sleep both nights we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatorfan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Checking into the campground, you will go to the lodge building. If you are lucky, Gordon will be working there. Gordon is very friendly and helpful. He directed us to a great pizza joint in town, told us about the park and surrounding areas, and answered all our questions. And we had many questions, since we were touring from California. So here's to Gordon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank longdistancediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at site 50 which is next to the stream and close to the highway. The noise from the highway was very distracting the first night (we had not hiked yet), the trick to getting a good nights sleep is to hike all day so you can pass out at night and sleep through the noise!

It is a very nice campground, with more than adequate shower facilities. It is smack dab in the middle of the notch, and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hehasawifeyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franconia hotels
3.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
3 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
101 reviews
1 mi away
Mittersill Alpine Resort
Mittersill Alpine Resort
#7 of 9 in Franconia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Campground

Address: Franconia Notch State Park, Franconia, NH 03580
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Franconia
Price Range: £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Lafayette Campground Hotel Franconia
Lafayette Campground Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing