We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location for Hikers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette Campground
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Convenient Location for Hikers”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband is through-hiking the Appalachian Trail and I decided to join him (in the evenings) while he hiked New Hampshire. I chose this campground because of its convenient location. I made online reservations, but when I arrived, the "Jeffs" behind the counter recommended that I take a look at some other available sites since the one I chose was rather small. I thought this was a really nice thing of the staff to offer, and I took them up on it by finding a much better site. The camp store had pretty much anything you may forget. Be warned, though...they sell firewood for $6/bundle. You can find the same size bundles outside of the park for half that price (and I found a place along Route 112 that only charged $1.50)

Although the sites are relatively close with little brush between them, by strategically locating our tent and screen house, we had all the privacy we wanted. The bath house was nearby and included bathrooms and showers. We had plenty of hot water for showers (although we had to pay $1 for 5 minutes). The bathrooms had cold water only, but included an air dryers (not all NH state campgrounds have this feature).

There's plenty to do along Route 93: The Basin, Old Man of the Mountain, the Flume Gorge, and the Tramway to name a few.

The only real negative was that we couldn't get a cell phone signal in camp. Normally this wouldn't bother us, but we needed to be able to communicate when and where I needed to pick up my husband each afternoon when he was done hiking for the day. It was somewhat inconvenient to have to drive around to get a signal that would allow a text message through.

Most people cook on site, but if you're like us (for this trip) and like to eat dinner in a restaurant, there are plenty to choose from in nearby Woodstock and Lincoln.

In general, we were very happy with this campground. It suited our purposes nicely. We also stayed at Moose Brook State Park. I hope to review that campground as well, but there's currently no listing for it (I'll be contacting TripAdvisor about it). It's not nearly as nice as Lafayette!

Room Tip: The sites reserved for first-come first-serve (around #93-98) are awesome. We ended up staying in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blare246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Lafayette campground is very well located on I-93. You can acess many trails from the campground or drive a short distance to go to lakes, grocery store or gaz station. It is probably the best place to stay if you want to hike mount Lafayette. It was my third time there and I really enjoyed it. Campground is clean and staff is welcoming and helpful (ask them if you want advices on hikes). It was also quiet at night so we could relax and enjoy our fire. Access to toilets and showers are just a short walk away. They have a campground store so don't mind if you forgot something at home. About the bear troubles, staff members warn you upon arrival to keep all foods and cooking items in the car. We followed that rule and it did not have any problems with bears.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GabBallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a nice, well-run camp site, and the noise from the road didn't really bother us, but the BEARS did! Two bears have been around for a few weeks so far this summer - they broke a pole on a tent we set up to hold gear right next the tent we were sleeping in. We had one empty soda can next to the tent and absolutely no other food or trash anywhere on the campsite - it was all locked up in the truck. Maybe that's enough to make the bear experience our fault - but campers should be warned that bears are around so they can take extra precautions and maybe not bring small children to this site.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Franconia hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you are looking for a private and quiet camping experience this is NOT the campground to stay at.

The campground has a very good location to serve as a base camp for all the great hikes in the area. The staff were helpful. Access to flush toilets and showers are only a short walk away.

The sites are squeezed in very close together and there is no buffer between you and your neighbours. If I spoke French I'd know all the business that the campers to my left and right were discussing. I took a site that was as far from the roadway as possible but I could still hear trucks driving at all hours of the day/night.

Room Tip: Avoid site 22. Level tent ground is too close to the fire pit. And it feels like you are sharing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lafayette Campground is in a fantastic location on Route 93 with easy access to all the activities / trails / lakes in the Franconia Notch area. The campsites are all very close together and since it's near Route 93, you hear road noise (mostly trucks) all night long. Bathrooms vary - there's one really old one and then two that are modern and new and definitely preferred. The showers are good with plenty of hot water ($1 for 5 minutes plus 25 cents for each additional 75 seconds as of July 2012).

We've used the Campground twice as a jump-off point for backpacking in the White Mountains. It's really conveniently located between the AMC huts Lonesome Lake and Greenleaf so you can hike to either directly from the campground.

If the sites were slightly further from each other and the road noise slightly lower, I would have rated this 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I've stayed here several times, most recently June 2012. It's convenient to many trails, including some that leave from the campground itself. Sites are generally good sized for tents and flat, though close together. Several are along the river. The searchable site map (reservations through Reserveamerica.com) will tell you what the sites are best suited for and whether they are shaded, partially shaded, etc. There are pay showers available, a welcome relief after a hot day on the trail or a cool day when you want to warm up.

It's near the highway, so you will get some traffic noise. And because it's on the southbound side, if you are heading northbound, you'll need to circle back an exit (signs let you know).

Make reservations well in advance and be aware that for weekends, they expect you to stay 2 nights. There's also a service fee for the reservations.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeying_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Camped here two nights while hiking in Franconia Notch State Park. Sites are large and well manicured. This is a busy campground. The place was full the weekend we stayed and there were lots of kids around. If you're looking for a private campsite this is not it. That being said, the location is right at the trailhead for the Franconia Ridge loop so it was perfect for us. Most campers quieted down after 9pm or so. The campground is close to the highway so you do hear some traffic noise, but this also tends to quiet down late at night. It rained one of the nights we were there which actually helped drown out the background noise. Facilities are adequate. There was a bit of a line to check-in due to the fact there's just one person working the general store/check-in desk and he's quite chatty. All in all we had a great stay and got good sleep both nights we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorfan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
5.6 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
6.3 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
621 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
169 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mt Liberty Lodging
Mt Liberty Lodging
#8 of 20 in Lincoln
172 reviews
6.1 mi away
Franconia Notch Motel
Franconia Notch Motel
#14 of 20 in Lincoln
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Campground

Property: Lafayette Campground
Address: Franconia Notch State Park, Franconia, NH 03580
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Lafayette Campground Hotel Franconia
Lafayette Campground Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing