We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cannon Mountain View Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Value”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I've read some of the negative reviews and our experience was the exact opposite. We had booked 3 nights and because of a family emergency, we left after 2 nights. The owners promptly and agreeably credited our account for the unused 3rd night. For the 2 nights that we were there, the room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, everything in the room worked, the staff was friendly and accommodating and the locale was peaceful and scenic. The bar/restaurant adjacent to the property served good food and cold beer, and similar to the motel, all at a reasonable price. What more could a traveler ask for ?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary54464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    1
    1
    8
See reviews for
6
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We had a nice king room, very comfy and clean. Had food and drinks at the tavern, watched the game on the patio tv, it was great. Wednesday night was mexican night- $1 tacos and $3 margaritas. Friendly staff and locals too. All in all it was a charming place, relaxing. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Went to the Restaurant and Tavern for dinner two Saturday nights last month. Mainly locals, a good sign. The second time (January 26th) happened to be the owner's 52nd birthday. Spontaneously, he popped 8 bottles of champagne and passed it around, followed by a piece of cake. Great time, nice people and good food. Planning to got to Franconia next weekend, but this time plan to stay in the motor lodge as well as enjoy the tavern and restaurant.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonBill47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

In need of a place to stay on very short notice we were lucky to find a room at the Cannon Mountain View. The staff was really friendly and our room, though not upscale, was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a pizza in the Tavern and the kids even tried their hand at shooting pool. The motel had an over-all retro feel to it (the build-in tile ashtray next to the toilet was classic) and, as we listened to the music from the tavern while stargazed from the immaculate outdoor pool, we started thinking about a cross-country, Rt 66 style vacation, staying in places much like the Cannon Mountain View!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miacapretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stopped into the Cannon Mountain View Restaraunt and Tavern for a pizza. We sat at the bar and ordered a drink. The bar tender was not very friendly. We ordered a pizza and while waiting for the pizza we noticed lots of black flies landing on the glassware that was hanging from a glass rack in the middle of the bar. I was glad that I hadn't ordered a drink that was served in a stemmed glass. The bar tender was swatting the flies and killing them on the bar. He never washed his hands after removing the dead flies from the bar. We then noticed that there were lots of fruit flies hovering around the area where the limes and lemons were kept. I was grossed out and wanted to leave but we had already ordered the pizza. We asked to have the pizza to take out. We took the pizza back to our hotel. The pizza was not good. Tasted like cardboard with bland sauce. I would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSainato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Franconia hotels

New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Cut into my buffalo chicken sandwich and it was raw. Fries were soggy and tasted like burnt oil. Food took close to an hour to come out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The CMV makes you feel like family.... From the minute we arrived after a long drive..till the time we left.. The people at the CMV made me feel comfortable, and always had a moment that would make you laugh,smile, and even share stories of anything under the sun. After a couple of hours you literally feel like you've known everybody for years. The people at the CMV go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. They are genuine people who want to know who/how you are. I had a great time there, and will be heading up again soon. Special thanks to Ray,Yvonne,Jess,Tommy, and everyone else I had the pleasure of meeting!

Room Tip: I stayed in #5. It was quiet, a great shower, short walk to "Above the Notch" tavern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.8 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
10.5 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
621 reviews
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
274 reviews
2.0 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannon Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannon Mountain View Motel

Property: Cannon Mountain View Motel
Address: 729 Main St, Franconia, NH 03580-4807
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Number of rooms: 87
Also Known As:
Cannon Mountain View Motel Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing