We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A little piece of heaven!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonybrook Motel & Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Olney, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A little piece of heaven!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have traveled for years and stayed in many hotels however Stony Brook will always stand out at the top of my list of favorites! The rooms are very clean, well maintained, and comfortable. The staff were simply amazing and didn't hesitate to go above and beyond handling any requests or needs we had during a very long stay with them. The best way to sum it up is we were treated like family and made to feel very comfortable. I would recommend this as a top place to stay for anyone whether it be for business or pleasure over several options in the area. Words cannot describe Stony Brook... Visit there yourself and remember to breath because this place will take your breath away!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the Cannon Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    53
    46
    14
    14
See reviews for
67
74
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel was absolutely phenomenal! The service was superb! Only thing is that I would call to verify your reservations. I was quoted one price online, and charged a different, great amount when we arrived.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryon5689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the Cannon Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This motel is in a beautiful setting outside Franconia by the edge of a river and has extensive grounds with BBQs and an indoor and outdoor pool (the latter not open due to the season). The indoor pool did not attract my husband as it was very steamy and chlorine smelling , and quite small. This would be a good destination for families. Our room was a good size and comfortable for what is basically a roadside motel. We had a small problem with a deposit we had paid not showing up on their computer. We booked through Expedia and I think the error was probably theirs but we did not find the staff very helpful over it, giving us the number of the out-of-town owner. As it was for $8 only we decided it wasn't worth pursuing but would never book through Expedia again. Breakfast was a bit scanty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobcat605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the Cannon Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Motel/Lodge is located on a very large piece of property and is well maintained. It is perfect for families because of the amenities it offers: indoor and outdoor pools along with an indoor recreation are with a pool table and arcade machines. There were also BBQ grills on the property. The motel room we stayed in was very spacious. Continental breakfast was adequate and coffee was excellent----like every place we visited in New Hampshire. We stayed during the foliage season when rates were somewhat high. Franconia doesn't offer much but it is a good base if your touring local attractions.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the Cannon Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We only had one day and night en route to Maine to see the Franconia Notch area. The owner, Mike, was very helpful in mapping out a route for us to tour the area. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed at a very good rate. I wish we'd had more time to enjoy the immediate area as the setting was quite beautiful. Breakfast in the lodge the following morning was a welcome treat. We would stay at Sonybrook Motel & Lodge if we are ever back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the Cannon Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We are always looking for a mid-way point to stop from Toronto to Maine. Stonybrook was excellent... good reasonable price, clean, good beds, good T.V.. Mostly it was the service as Mike, the owner, was exemplary. When we got there, we had no service on our cells to advise our kids that we'd arrived safely. Mike simply let us phone them long distance from his hard line... no charge, he said, take as long as you need. We arrived on a rainy fall day... the motel is in front of a flowing river... a nice calming background. Although we didn't use it, there is a heated indoor pool and in the lodge, a really nice space, including a huge working fireplace which we imagine would be a joy in winter after a long day out in beautiful Franconia N.H.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VICTORIA w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the Cannon Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and comfortable and the WiFi worked well. The breakfast was fine. The grounds are beautiful with views of the mountains. There is easy access to lots of great places to visit. We would recommend this motel for anyone visiting the Franconia Notch area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the Cannon Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
9.7 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 20 in Lincoln
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonybrook Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonybrook Motel & Lodge

Property: Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Address: 1098 Profile Rd, Franconia, NH 03580
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stonybrook Motel & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 "Best Base For Touring Franconia Notch" New England Travel Guide. Stonybrook is a four season motel nestled in the heart of the White Mountains in the quaint village of Franconia with breathtaking views bordered by a sparkling alpine stream. You'll enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools for year-round swimming,trout pond,game room and a cozy fireplace in our hand-timbered Lodge plus streamside picnic area with grills and winter iceskating. Only 2 miles to Cannon Mountain,Echo Lake and the Franconia Notch! Closest AAA motel to Cannon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stonybrook Motel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonybrook Motel And Lodge
Stonybrook Hotel Franconia
Stonybrook Motel Franconia
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing