We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for the buck!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gale River Motel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 February 2012

But even beyond that, the place is spotless; the owner and service is top notch. We've been going to the Gale for over ten years and it's never dissapointed us. Give it a try...you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxxann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Sometimes a place visited is more remembered for an innkeeper's kindness than the lodging itself. We needed an early start so when the key to our car blew apart disgorging the computer chip-- without which the vehicle won't start--into the freshly fallen snow, (God knows where) a lovely week turned very ugly indeed. I was forced to wake Kevin up hoping to borrow a flashlight and rake to begin the impossible task. Reponding to my answer as to how he could help any further, somehow Kevin appeared by the side of our vehicle sporting a very jaunty pair of headphones attached to a metal detector! Then, with all the necessary patience, he swept the perimeter until he found the damned thing. Can you believe it? Off we went. I might still be out there scratching around the frozen tundra with my bare hands. Thank you, Kevin.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CubC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we recently stayed at the gale river motel. the views are amazing. Kevin is the a wonderful host to this establishment. Fresh cookies in the lobby. Helpful with resturant suggestions.
Yes, the room reminded me of my grandmother's apartment, but it was cozy. clean room. fresh towels. shampoo/ soap dispenser in the shower. very nice touches.
we had a great week stay and would consider staying again. Now, the weather was cold- but we are in skiing territory, not the beach. Very close to cannon mountain.
so, if you are looking for nice to place to stay that gives you what you need without all the bells and whistles- stop by and chat with Kevin and stay at the gale river motel.

Room Tip: sure any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Thanks so much Gale River Motel and Kevin!!! We Loved our stay with you! the welcome couldn't have been warmer or the room cleaner and we loved that the Motel was eco-friendly! also the coupons for Great restaurants in Littleton were much appreciated. Franconia is a place dear to our hearts and it's so nice to know a great spot to stay, we will stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happydaysssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is a little strip motel from mid-20th century, the rooms being perpendicular to the road rather than parallel, and there's a reason for this - pull into your parking space steps from your door then turn around. The view south through Franconia Notch is breathtaking!

The owner was very friendly and helpful, with homemade Tollhouse cookies waiting at the reception desk, and suggestions about where to eat. The room was very clean, nice firm bed and a very nice flat screen TV with cable. But it was the view from the Adirondack chairs just outside the door that really made this place special. My husband sketched the view, while I just sat and watched storm clouds moving in through the Notch - amazing!

Amenities of which we did not partake, but that were available: swimming pool, shuffle board, fire pit, kids playground, indoor hot tub. I wouldn't have minded another day here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Excellent location-- quiet in the shoulder season. Friendly greeting from the owner upon arrival. It was easy to see that Kevin had put a lot into the old style motel to make guests feel welcome. As an eco qualified property, you can see he has put a lot of effort into his operation. Before selecting this location in the Franconia area, we read about lots of accomodations. Gale River Motel stood out not just because of the overwhelming positive rating but because of the mention of the owner's efforts to make you feel welcome.

This is 2011 and hotels, motels, and business owners should be reminded that travelers are looking for value . The visitor may not always view it that way initially but if the experience is not near perfect , they will remember the negative! The morning of our departure, Kevin asked where we were heading. We replied and he advised that the remnants of Irene had washed out the bridge and that we needed to take an entirely different route! We left with even stronger positive feelings.

I suggest that the value Gale River Motel has begins with its personable owner, a view of Franconia Notch in the distance, amenities that meet most individual's requirements --- swimming pool,hot tub, an offering of teas, home baked chocolate chip cookies, dried cranberry snack, immaculately clean accomodations. Visiting in the shoulder season was quiet. Rates are lower, also. I am sure that a summer visit would bring lots of activity around the pool. Gale River Motel offers an opportunity to stay within easy reach of the Flume , the Basins, and many hiking trails at an affordable rate.

Gale River Motel is a different experience than the franchised hotel chain.The location, ownership involvement, cleanliness, and a reasonable level of amenities exceeded expectations. We all make the investment in a night's stay with many considerations in mind. Travelers need to focus on what they take away from their experience. A visit to Gale River Motel leaves you wanting to return again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valueseeker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleRiverMotel, Owner at Gale River Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful words...you captured the very essence of what I am hoping to achieve at the Gale River Motel...It is my desire to set the Gale River Motel apart from the "chain" lodging and have guests experience what traveling was like prior to the big chain hotels and motels. My goal is to truly welcome people to my home and appreciate their choosing to share their travel-time in a comfortable, relaxing, and personally caring environment. It was my sincere pleasure to have served you in way that was reflected in your heart-warming comments. May I share my "Inkeepers Blessing" with you in thanks...."May your travels always bring you back to the ones you love."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Gale River Hotel from Saturday, July 30 to Wednesday, August 3, 2011. We chose it because of the good reviews online, and we're glad we did. Everything was clean--room, bathroom, pool, picnic area, and parking lot. Kevin, the owner, made us feel as if we were guests in his home (which is actually true since he and his family live on the premises). He was readily available with suggestions for eating, hiking, directions, etc.--and had delicious complimentary home-baked cookies in the check-in area.

The motel has a beautiful view of the mountains and a rural feel to it, and yet we could walk to stores and restaurants in Franconia. Sleeping was great with very comfortable beds, and no noise from neighboring rooms. The free WiFi was inconsistent and could pose a problem for someone trying to work from that location. There were plenty of quality towels for our use in both the bathroom and pool area. There was also a play area with swings, a slide, a sandbox and plenty of toys for little ones. If we are ever in the vicinity of Franconia, NH again, we will definitely return to the Gale River Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
776 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
182 reviews
2 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
281 reviews
12.1 mi away
Profile Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale River Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale River Motel and Cottages

Address: 1 Main St, Exit 38 of I-93 to Rte 18 North 1/2 mile, Franconia, NH 03580-4801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range: £36 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking mountain views from every room. #1 Eco-Friendly Motel in New Hampshire. Recognized as an Environmental Champion by NH Sustainable Lodging Program. Spacious rooms with two full-sized beds, refrigerator, coffee-maker, A/C, and Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms. Heated outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, playground, picnic area with grill. Cottages sleep up to six guests with full kitchen facilities. Pet-Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gale River Motel And Cottages Hotel Franconia
Gale River Hotel
Gale River Motel And Cottages Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing