We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gale River Motel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Holliston
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Gale river Motel is nothing fancy, but for what it is, it is outstanding. The main motel building appears to be older and the rooms are on the smaller side, but they are very clean and well maintained, and cleanliness is the most important thing for us. The friendly and welcoming owner is very attentive to good customer service, with cookies and tea available in the lobby, coffee machines and snacks in the room, and lots of good advice for area restaurants and attractions. The outdoor pool and jacuzzi are also exceedingly well maintained, and there is a kids play area too. And the price was right! This place is perfect for families. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and are pleased to recommend the Gale River Motel to visitors to Franconia and the White Mountain Region.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    43
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
82
94
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Excellent service, clean, quiet and comfortable rooms and a host who knows lots about the local hiking scene. The hiker-friendly welcome basket in the room was a delightful and unexpected treat. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We slept 3 nights at the Gale River Motel and would highly recommend it to all who appreciate an environmentally green, super clean, comfortable basic room located in the midst of an expansive property with stunning views of the White Mountains. Kevin is probably the friendliest inn keeper we met on our eight-week east coast trip, a genuinely warm, helpful person. The price is most reasonable, and even includes a light fare for breakfast. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We only stayed one night as the Gale River Motel was fully booked and so had to move on. In this time we found Kevin to be a very " hands-on" owner who knew how to accommodate people as they would wish. Nothing was too much trouble. The views from the motel were glorious. What more could anyone want - and the price was right.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACJHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

What can I say that has not been said before, this is one of of the best places I have ever stayed in. Not that it is luxurious, but virtually everything has been thought of and is provided at a high quality, at a motel price.

The location is wonderful with views of the mountains, although I-93 is close by, so some highway traffic noise can be heard at times.

Kevin, the owner, greets you with a cookie as you check in. He is the source of everything and he goes out of his way to ensure you have have a great ime.

The room we had, was spotlessy clean, it was so clean I even tried to find something dirty but gave up. Room had two queen beds which were quite comfortable, a large TV, Coffee Maker etc. A nice touch here was the basket of 'goodies', not only cookies but a few other useful items. There are bagals and muffins available for breakfast, as well as hot tea, every morning in the reception area.

There is a swimming pool and both an indoor and outdoor Hot Tub.

Ask Kevin for eating tips and he will point out a few restaurants in the area, with 10% discount.
We tried the Little Grille in Littleton, they have themed nights through the week, we went on Italian Night which was an all you could eat hot and cold buffet for $13.99.

Kevin also gave us advise on tracking down the wild life, and although we did get to see Moose and a lot of other things, we only saw Bears at the Clarkes Trading Post.

Thanks for a great stay Kevin, we would recommend your Motel to anyone who is planiing a visit to the White Mountains.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rownhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The reason we chose this hotel over other similarly priced locations nearby was because of the extremely friendly person who answered the phone.  Little did we know that this cheerful receptionist was also the innkeeper and the housekeeper and an extraordinary concierge!  Kevin is definitely the heart and soul of the Gale River Motel. He gives the most meticulous attention to detail we've ever experienced  (e.g., personalized dining recommendations, welcome manual with travel tips, complimentary gift basket with unique travel essentials, little note cards about all the rooms features). This is also the most environmentally-conscious motel we've stayed in NH (e.g., refillable soap dispensers, mindful towel policy,  reusable coffee mugs, etc.). If I didn't have a gluten allergy, I would have tried the cookies that everyone else has raved about in their reviews. Staying at this hotel made our weekend and we wouldn't have changed a thing about our stay at the Gale River Motel.  Whenever we're in the area again, we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceydee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is a great place, not because it is so luxurious, but because it is so well thought out. The little things that make travel less hassling have been done. The tub has non-stick surface, there is a designated towel for cleaning your car windshield, there are menu for recommended restaurants with 10% off, there are hints and tips to make your stay easier. I could go on and on with the list of helpful ways the owner Kevin has made this hotel way different than the average. Oh, and he is environmentally conscious with solar hot water assist, recycling, etc. It was a pleasure to stay here and economical, too.

Room Tip: This is located on a quiet road, so I'd guess all rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poocherTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
11.6 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
620 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale River Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale River Motel and Cottages

Property: Gale River Motel and Cottages
Address: 1 Main St, Exit 38 of I-93 to Rte 18 North 1/2 mile, Franconia, NH 03580-4801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking mountain views from every room. #1 Eco-Friendly Motel in New Hampshire. Recognized as an Environmental Champion by NH Sustainable Lodging Program. Spacious rooms with two full-sized beds, refrigerator, coffee-maker, A/C, and Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms. Heated outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, playground, picnic area with grill. Cottages sleep up to six guests with full kitchen facilities. Pet-Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gale River Motel And Cottages Hotel Franconia
Gale River Hotel
Gale River Motel And Cottages Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing