We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have No Fear - This Place Is Great”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gale River Motel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Have No Fear - This Place Is Great”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Only stayed a night, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this motel. First of all, it was very clean, and had a very comfortable mattress and set of pillows. Beautiful view of mountains and ski trails from our window. The owner here is the real deal, an old-fashioned innkeeper who cares about his property, cares about his customers, and makes sure anything you need is provided. The rates were very reasonable.

Have to comment again on the owner and especially his dog. He loves his dog as much as he loves his motel and customers. Friendly, furry, and his tail was wagging so hard that this pooch could have provided the air conditioning in our room if it was necessary.

Just a wonderful, pleasant experience. It's nice to know that places (and owners) like this still exist in 2013. This is a rare find. Enjoy the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire, then head back to your room, but before you do, have some cookies provided in the office. This guy thinks of everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djr_nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    43
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
79
93
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

In a pinch, needed a place to stay - Gale River Motel was recommended. What a heavenly, down to earth place to stay! AND, such reasonable rates! Gale River Motel is down to earth, in such a home-town friendly location. You can walk to town - the views are just so spectacular! Kevin, the owner, soooo accomodating, so helpful and so full of information! The rooms, just absolutely gorgeous. OMG! The beds are so comfortable (not flat, creaky, old or way over-used)! Continental breakfast is not offered, but who needs that! Homemade cookies and/or baked items, coffee/tea in the lobby. No need for continental breakfast when you have cafe's you can walk to!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

After a long drive on 2-lane backroads, I was glad to stop for the night at the Gale River Motel. The owner was very helpful in giving directions for nearby shopping & dining, even let me know a short-cut to reach my destination for the following day (which worked out perfectly). Rooms are clean, quiet & comfortable, though not fancy or completely up-to-date (I did not find a hairdryer, for example). But there's free WiFi, a flat screen TV and a beautiful view right outside the room, also excellent homemade chocolate chip cookies available in the lobby. I was there in the off-season, but I think this would be an excellent base for doing day hikes in the area - and it's a real bargain anytime of year!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomME50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Possibly the world's friendliest and most helpful innkeeper - nothing was too much to ask. There were lots of maps on offer and helpful suggestions about where to go and what to do locally (even where to find the cheapest gas). Though basic, the rooms are clean and comfy and it's excellent value. There are infinite amounts of cookies at the counter, a lovely view outside and discounts provided at a selection of local eateries. We even stayed an unplanned second night here after a long hike.Good stuff all round.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This place is basically clean and comfortable, but a little rough around the edges. The owner is very chatty and appears to be operating it as a one man operation. The location is sort of remote at the edge of town, left behind on the old highway once the interstate bypassed.Franconia. Your first impression when you drive up - have I made a mistake? - the exterior is not inspiring - needs a facelift. Rooms are better, somewhat busy with retro sort of furnishings and lots of little instructional notes. Does have flat screen tv's and the bed was very comfortable. I would probably return in a pinch although I know my wife would not. OK for a night, but I wouldn't want to spend any extended time here. Although the website seems to want to portray the Gale River as a destination resort, I think it's going to be a bit of a stretch for most folks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bavarianbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is a frill-free but clean place to stay in a very attractive location near Franconia State Park in New Hampshire. The location was a major selling point for me, as was the fact that the motel is pet-friendly (we brought our dog). Even with other pets and families present, it was also a very quiet place, which we enjoyed.

We stayed for two nights in the early summer. Our kids (ages three and five) enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool. We loved the view of the mountains in the distance, and the fact that it's a very affordable place to spend a weekend.

Rooms were clean but unspectacular. Our bathroom door didn't close completely (it would get stuck) and there decor in general is a little dated. There's no buffet breakfast or any other real perks. Nevertheless, for what it is, it's a good place to stay for the money. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cabins if you want a little more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank americanadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stopped here on way back from 5 nights camping in Maine before heading back into Canada. It was quaint. Loved that there was a jacuzzi in the outdoor pool area; it was nice to sit and unwind the muscles after 6 hours of driving. It was a place to stay overnight on the way home; we did choose it with the idea to go to The Flume Gorge at nearby Franconia Notch State Park before heading home. It's located 2-3 stops up the highway. Liked that we had a fridge in the room to keep our food/drinks cold. Kevin was a great host, very helpful with information about local activities. Was able to borrow hair dryer that night. Enjoyed the complimentary chocolate chip cookies, tea and hot chocolate in the front office. I would return, it's a good spot to cut up a long trip across the East coast. Didn't go into town so I can't say anything about what's there.
It was clean, beautiful scenery to look at from the chairs in front of our room as we had coffee/tea and bagels in the morning before we left.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stretchottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
11.6 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.0 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale River Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale River Motel and Cottages

Property: Gale River Motel and Cottages
Address: 1 Main St, Exit 38 of I-93 to Rte 18 North 1/2 mile, Franconia, NH 03580-4801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking mountain views from every room. #1 Eco-Friendly Motel in New Hampshire. Recognized as an Environmental Champion by NH Sustainable Lodging Program. Spacious rooms with two full-sized beds, refrigerator, coffee-maker, A/C, and Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms. Heated outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, playground, picnic area with grill. Cottages sleep up to six guests with full kitchen facilities. Pet-Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gale River Motel And Cottages Hotel Franconia
Gale River Hotel
Gale River Motel And Cottages Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing