We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gale River Motel and Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillwinds Lodge(Franconia)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge(Franconia)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arlington Hotel(Bethlehem)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastgate Inn(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thayers Inn(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Littleton Motel(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Squire Motel(Littleton)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
214
43
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
43
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookiesgale riverthe ownerhot tubadirondack chairshonor systemnew hampshireexecutive roomour home away from homefranconia notchmemorial day weekendgreat place to staycomfortable bedsfamily vacationwhite mountains arearoom was spotlessminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my parents over Memorial Day weekend. It sounded like any typical motel, but we were all very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and sufficient but the best part of our stay was the service. The manager (owner?) thought of every little detail, including a welcome basket in the room and free homemade cookies and tea in the lobby at all times. He even cleaned the snow off our car one morning! (Yes, it snowed on Memorial Day weekend....)

The motel is in a beautiful setting with a great view from the room. The bed was comfortable and I appreciated that the motel was eco-friendly.

Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Have stayed here several times. Always impeccably clean. Nothing fancy but comfortable with good beds, good tv and wireless, good lighting complementary water and snack bars. Very nice view of the notch. Owner is always accommodating, friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amosboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Only stayed a night, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this motel. First of all, it was very clean, and had a very comfortable mattress and set of pillows. Beautiful view of mountains and ski trails from our window. The owner here is the real deal, an old-fashioned innkeeper who cares about his property, cares about his customers, and makes sure anything you need is provided. The rates were very reasonable.

Have to comment again on the owner and especially his dog. He loves his dog as much as he loves his motel and customers. Friendly, furry, and his tail was wagging so hard that this pooch could have provided the air conditioning in our room if it was necessary.

Just a wonderful, pleasant experience. It's nice to know that places (and owners) like this still exist in 2013. This is a rare find. Enjoy the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire, then head back to your room, but before you do, have some cookies provided in the office. This guy thinks of everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

In a pinch, needed a place to stay - Gale River Motel was recommended. What a heavenly, down to earth place to stay! AND, such reasonable rates! Gale River Motel is down to earth, in such a home-town friendly location. You can walk to town - the views are just so spectacular! Kevin, the owner, soooo accomodating, so helpful and so full of information! The rooms, just absolutely gorgeous. OMG! The beds are so comfortable (not flat, creaky, old or way over-used)! Continental breakfast is not offered, but who needs that! Homemade cookies and/or baked items, coffee/tea in the lobby. No need for continental breakfast when you have cafe's you can walk to!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

After a long drive on 2-lane backroads, I was glad to stop for the night at the Gale River Motel. The owner was very helpful in giving directions for nearby shopping & dining, even let me know a short-cut to reach my destination for the following day (which worked out perfectly). Rooms are clean, quiet & comfortable, though not fancy or completely up-to-date (I did not find a hairdryer, for example). But there's free WiFi, a flat screen TV and a beautiful view right outside the room, also excellent homemade chocolate chip cookies available in the lobby. I was there in the off-season, but I think this would be an excellent base for doing day hikes in the area - and it's a real bargain anytime of year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomME50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews