We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home base for your time in White Mountains”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gale River Motel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My family and I loved our stay at the Gale River. The motel is quaint, the views from the front porch were amazing and Kevin (who runs the joint) was by far the best host I've had the pleasure of meeting. The room was perfectly clean, the beds were comfortable and Kevin doubles as a travel agent and local area expert. I would give the motel 6 stars if Tripadvisor would let me.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichardBernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleRiverMotel, Owner at Gale River Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and high praise. I shared the review with the housekeeping staff who also express their thanks for the recognizing their efforts in preparing your room for your arrival and taking care of you during your visit. I am personally humbled by your taking the time to comment on the personal attention that I try to offer to each and every guest at the Gale River Motel in steering them to the best of the area when it comes to dining, hiking, attractions, shopping and any other activities that might be of interest to those who choose the Gale River Motel as their lodging choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Gale River Motel for a couple of days in late July, but we would have loved it to be more! Kevin is a gracious, thoughtful host who runs an immaculate motel. He had great suggestions for area attractions and restaurants. My daughters loved the pool and also the swingset/playground area; in fact, out of our two week vacation out east, the girls have told me that this was their favorite place we stayed. It's a great location to Franconia Notch State Park as well as the White Mountains. On a clear day, you can clearly see the buildings at the top of Mount Washington. Fresh air, a comfortable bed, a clean room- you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My father and I arrived to freshly baked cookies and a wonderfully caring and friendly owner. Our room was immaculate and ready for us as soon as we arrived. The owner, Kevin, had lots of great suggestions for things to do, places to eat, and provided us with directions for all. The pool and grounds were just as well maintained as the room. This is not the Hilton but it is just as good, if not better, in my book!!! The beds were extremely comfortable, it is eco- and pet friendly, had a small refrigerator, and let me mention again, that the room and bathroom were immaculate (something that isn't always the case even at the best 5 star motel/hotels that we have stayed in!). The room was a bargain compared to other hotels in the area and we would definitely stay there again and again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 and it was excellent - quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SSWEVHSSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleRiverMotel, Owner at Gale River Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind and thoughtful comments. It was a particular pleasure to have enjoyed the conversation with your father about how he and you re-united after so many years. It was a wonderful story and one that I will remember fondly. Thrilled that you enjoyed your brief visit at the Gale River and will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Until then, may all your journeys bring you back to the ones you love....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Close to many hiking Mountains. Clean, comfortable, easy & fun to be here. The Owner is terrific, helpful, and has a fresh batch of cookies when you arrive. The pool and grounds are great too. This motel is eco friendly and pet-friendly. This is easily the one of the best bargains in this area. I've stayed many other hotels, but this has been one of my favorite experiences overall.

Room Tip: If I was staying longer or had more people in my group, I'd get the cabin to be able to cook mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahB0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed in the larger cottage which had plenty of room to sleep 6. It was close enough to visit many attractions yet far enough away to have a quiet relaxing atmosphere. There was a pool, hot tub, which was kept clean. Kevin the owner was very accommodating when we needed anything or had questions. If you wanted a fire at night Kevin would make one for you and your family. The grill is small but we brought our own large one since we cook a lot. Thank-you kevin for a wonderful family vacation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patty120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you're looking to stay in New Hampshire's White Mountains, this is THE place to go. If there were 6 stars, I'd award them to the Gale River Motel!
The location is perfect - very close to the center of Franconia and all local attractions but set such that it feels like you are away from it all. The River flowing, the gardens, the incredible views of the Mountains from your room, make this a special place. There is nothing better than sitting in the Adirondack chair outside your room watching the sun rise or set over the mountains. Add to that, the rooms and grounds that are immaculate and well maintained, extraordinarily comfortable, spacious rooms, a mini frig in the rooms, a huge pool and great hot tub and you have most of the ingredients for a wonderful vacation stay.
What makes the Gale River earn the 6th star though, is the welcome and hospitality of the owner. Kevin makes it feel that he is not checking in hotel guests but rather that he is warmly welcoming friends old and new to his home and sharing his neighborhood with them. He happily answers questions, offers suggestions and serves coffee and muffins in the morning and homemade cookies in the afternoon. He goes out of his way to accommodate special requests and does an amazing job of making the Gale River Motel feel like a true home away from home. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Small hotel and all rooms have mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileenpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleRiverMotel, Owner at Gale River Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your extremely kind and thoughtful review of the Gale River Motel. Your words definitely spoke to the philosophy that guides us at the motel. Many of our guests become like family as they return year after year. In many cases, families have pictures of children growing up over the years swimming in our pool, playing on our swing set, or standing in front of our sign, capturing the memories of times spent at the Gale River Motel. Hope that you will return to continue the tradition that you have enjoyed over the years with a visit to the Gale River and breakfast at Polly's.

Best wishes for good health and may all your journeys bring you back to the ones you love...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This motel is a great deal for the location. The room was clean and in good shape. The room has a mini fridge which is very convenient for road trippers. The best part is the friendly and helpful host. He was very welcoming and gave us great tips on things to do in the area. This place is pretty close to the Franconia Notch State Park which is a great visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawkeyeCubs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
11.6 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#15 of 20 in Lincoln
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Nootka Lodge
Nootka Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodsville
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
182 reviews
2 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale River Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale River Motel and Cottages

Address: 1 Main St, Exit 38 of I-93 to Rte 18 North 1/2 mile, Franconia, NH 03580-4801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range: £37 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking mountain views from every room. #1 Eco-Friendly Motel in New Hampshire. Recognized as an Environmental Champion by NH Sustainable Lodging Program. Spacious rooms with two full-sized beds, refrigerator, coffee-maker, A/C, and Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms. Heated outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, playground, picnic area with grill. Cottages sleep up to six guests with full kitchen facilities. Pet-Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gale River Motel And Cottages Hotel Franconia
Gale River Hotel
Gale River Motel And Cottages Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing