We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinsman Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kinsman Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is a fab place to get a feel for true local life in Franconia. We were made to feel very at home by the hosts, the place has lots of character, rooms are cozy and breakfast is lovely. This is a great place for relaxing, enjoying the scenery and chatting with other guests. This place is not for you if you want to keep yourself to yourself or you like 4* chain hotel type accomodation. This is a great little find in my opinion.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I have never reviewed anything on tripadvisor before, but this place made me feel like doing so. This place is super cozy, clean, and comfortable, and the owners, Sue and Chet, are extremely welcoming, nice and helpful.
The place is perfect for hikingtrips to Franconia Notch State Park or to stay when you want to go skiing there.

And the breakfast is incredible, Sue will prepare whatever you want while you wait.... I can recommend the waffles :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amalie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Think carefully before going to the Kinsman Lodge. They are friendly on the phone and it sounds like a good deal, but we didn't sleep, rest, or eat well.
We stayed two nights for a cross-country skiing trip, so this was during the winter. We live in New England and are used to the cold, but we were freezing under multiple blankets and woke up in the night. (They only heat the rooms in intervals -- the host claimed there was nothing she could do about this). The breakfast was good on the day we could have it -- on the second morning, it was served only until 8.30 am because the host herself wanted to go skiing. The host Sue is said to be friendly, but is actually cold and overbearing; she doesn't understand social cues well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank earlymillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

The Kinsman is a good example of a B&B that works, eagerly and attentively operated by Chet and Sue, who know the area well and clearly enjoy taking guests in. Spotlessly clean, though guests looking for total privacy should look elsewhere. Breakfast is prepared to order by Sue, who is always on the lookout for your every need.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nyquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We stayed in the Kinsman Lodge with our two young daughters (9&6) for three nights in the new family suite - 1 double room joined to a twin room via a private bathroom connecting the two rooms - perfect. Chet and Sue are wonderful, warm and friendly hosts and our daughters loved chatting with them and generally wandering around and exploring. The breakfasts are outstanding. We spent each evening relaxing on the front deck looking out for bears but sadly didn't see any.. If we visit Franconia again we will definitely stay here, it is a true gem of a place and very very easy for families with young children. Our SatNav tried to take us the wrong way down 116 away from Franconia when heading from Sugar Hill, just make sure you head towards Franconia. Also highly recommend Mojo's bagels in Franconia, a great place for take away bagels plus has hundreds of vinyl records - it is an interesting find.. A tip, if you visit The Basin, walk the extra 0.5 miles to Kinsman Falls - they are simply breathtaking and worth every step.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

It's hard to pick the best thing about the Kinsman lodge: lovely lovely hosts Chet and Sue, gorgeous location in Franconia National Park and a short drive from all the main sights and walks, peace and quiet but excitement from moose and bears nearby and the best breakfasts ever!

Stayed for 3 nights and wished it could be longer - so much to see and do and Chet and Sue are brilliant at recommending walks, restaurants and sights. They are welcoming and friendly without be instrusive and will be involved as much or as little as you like.

Trying really hard to think of something negative to say but the only thing I can come up with is that the lodge is a little way out of town which was exactly what we wanted for the peace and quiet but I guess some people might want to be withing walking distance of a supermarket for example.

If you are coming to the White Mountains look no further, I promise you will have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenchen
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

-clean and tastefull furnished rooms; huge breakfast including homemade specialities; very kindly hosts

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrickMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.6 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinsman Lodge

Property: Kinsman Lodge
Address: 2165 Easton Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5115
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1860's farm house in the Easton Valley of Franconia. "As comfortable as your old slippers" said one guest. 3 single rooms for one person, 7 double rooms with either a queen bed or 2 single beds and a family suite consisting of 2 rooms and central bath, 1 with queen bed and the other with 2 twin beds. Nearby to Cannon Mountain ski area and Franconia Notch State Park. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinsman Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing