We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Kinsman Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kinsman Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Kinsman Lodge is the perfect NH inn. Friendly, welcoming hosts. Beautifully decorated farmhouse that has been in the owner's family for generations. Peaceful, quiet location. Delicious, filling breakfast. Porch for relaxing. I did not want to leave and I dream of returning here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buonviaggio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent seven nights at Kinsman Lodge and the whole experience was wonderful. Sue and Chet are charming hosts who do everything they can think of to make you feel at home and to make your stay special. After a long drive across from Mount Desert Island we were welcomed with the offer of coffee and Chet lighting a log fire in the lounge so we could relax and get ourselves together after our journey.
We opted for a room with a private bathroom, just because we like our privacy but the communal bathrooms were fine and I didn't hear any of the other guests fighting to get into them in the morning! The room was spacious and comfortable and very clean, with a lovely view across to the hills at the front of the house. Although we were overlooking the road there is not a huge amount of traffic along it so noise is not an issue.
The breakfasts were the stuff of legends - not sure how Sue could remember everything that she had on offer as it changed daily and there was so much choice. Awesome french toast - Sue was kind enough to put it on the menu at my request on our last morning - it was wonderful. I can also recommend the homemade granola - tastes like nothing that ever found its way out of a packet - it was delicious.
There is a guest lounge available, with a roaring log fire. It is cosy, comfortable and a great place to meet fellow guests and pick their brains for things to do. We spent every evening in there, with a glass of wine (Sue had made space available in the fridge to accomodate our supplies!) chatting to the other guests - we had some truly memorable evenings there.
We would definitely recommend Kinsman Lodge - Sue and Chet are excellent hosts who do everything they can to make your stay memorable - though I think arranging that earthquake (4.0) was taking it above and beyond the call of duty! Thanks Sue and Chet we had an amazing stay.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom ask to stay in South Kinsman
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McPidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We just needed a place to sleep on a busy weekend in New Hampshire, but Sue & Chet made our short stay memorable. The warm, cozy atmosphere of their B & B made you feel at home. There were the Highland Games and Nascar that weekend in New Hampshire so rooms were not too plentiful but Sue made us feel special by moving up their fabulous breakfast from 7:30 to 7 so we could enjoy it as we had a commitment at 8:30 nearby. The room wasn't spacious and the shared baths were new for us, but there were three on our floor and it was never a problem, even with several Highland competitors staying with us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We decided to stay at this Bed & Breakfast at the recommendation of a friend for a weekend of hiking in the White Mountains. The Bed and Breakfast was easy to find, the hosts Sue and Chet were very sweet and welcoming and our room was spacious and clean. Bathrooms are shared but there are enough of them in the house that you are never waiting to use one. As well, there is a beautiful sunny porch out front, perfect place to tan and relax. Homemade breakfast made to order by Sue and Chet was definitely the highlight of this place. Our breakfast choices included freshly baked muffins, oatmeal blueberry waffles, coconut waffles, eggs, bacon, hash browns and fresh fruit. Perfect fuel for a long day of hard hiking! All in all, a lovely and charming place to stay if you don`t mind the 'traditional' home atmosphere of a bed and breakfast. Sue and Chet really do make you feel like they are welcoming you into their home! However, if you prefer to be an anonymous traveler looking to simply do your own thing, you may find this place a little too much like home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We loved our stay of three nights at Kinsman Lodge. Sue goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Disregard the one negative review on this site, and believe all of the positive ones because there are only positives to say about Sue. She is a gem of a person, and thinks of every little thing to help you have a fabulous stay. The lodge is a nice old building, updated and well maintained both inside and out. And the breakfasts are heavenly! The area is very rural and beautiful, also. All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manville, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Best place to stay! Clean, friendly, home atmosphere (thanks Chet and Sue). Had an amazing breakfast of scambled eggs, home fries, bacon, pistacio pancakes, and oatmeal blueberry muffins, all with a breathtaking view of Franconia mountains. Within 10-15 minutes of all local attractions like the Flume, Franconia Gorge, the Basin, and Kinsman Falls.. Looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great B&B in Franconia, N. H. Very. Clean and nicely decorated rooms.
Close to White Mountains Forest and Franconia Notch Park. Mostly difficult trails, with rocks and roots, but also easier ones - The Flume, thé Basin, Klinsmann Falls...
Great outdoor expérience!!!
Could also visit thé Mount Washington Hôtel in Bretton Woods

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvesp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
7.3 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
620 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
4.9 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
220 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
100 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinsman Lodge

Property: Kinsman Lodge
Address: 2165 Easton Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5115
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1860's farm house in the Easton Valley of Franconia. "As comfortable as your old slippers" said one guest. 3 single rooms for one person, 7 double rooms with either a queen bed or 2 single beds and a family suite consisting of 2 rooms and central bath, 1 with queen bed and the other with 2 twin beds. Nearby to Cannon Mountain ski area and Franconia Notch State Park. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinsman Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing