We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gfffyju”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western White Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
1 review
“gfffyju”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very nice place. Not very fancy but roomds were well appointed and staff trird to accommodate needs. Pool and hot tub were in good working order due to hotel managers efforts to keep everything in excellent condition. Very nice overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank davidsF3541OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    214
    112
    62
    48
See reviews for
255
214
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Beware of this place although the front desk person was extrmely nice the room was FILTHY the bathroom stunk like a dirty locker room the paint had markings all over the place from leaking overall needs a total revamo of the whole motel seems like owner is just taking all out and outting nothing back in. It is located right off the interstate but Not Worth it... Frankly I cant believe that Best Western Corporate has not pulled the name !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Beware Needs alot of work and Cleaning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Franconia hotels

Shutesbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I had planned on staying there for a week. We barely lasted one night. Never again. Feel like this place was just horrible.

The hotel has no elevator and the pool is downstairs on the basement level. I'm not sure how this is legal. It certainly isn't ADA compliant. We never got to use it anyway as it was closed when we arrived (we arrived late admittedly). At breakfast it was covered, and the hot tub was covered also. I asked about this and was told they cover it at night to save energy. Our room was on the second floor and with no elevator it was difficult to do with our luggage. There are luggage carts but with no elevator they are useless. I was told there were no rooms available on the main floor.
I had asked for a mountain view. We were facing the interstate. I questioned this and was told it was a nice view, better than the parking lot view on the other side. The photos on their website led me to think this was a secluded place, away from the highway. So wrong! I listened to trucks flying down the interstate at 70 mph all night long. I complained to the overnight desk clerk (who was actually in Room 114 he said). He told me my window must be open because he couldn't hear it at all. Um, no. I checked my window and it was closed. I still heard those trucks. He said maybe if I hadn't arrived so late then maybe I wouldn't be so cranky. (REALLY??) This was after I had arrived with my family at 11pm to find that the night auditor had CANCELED our whole reservation just before we arrived because my credit card that I was holding the room with had recently expired. Had they tried to reach me about this problem? Yes, they called my house 30 minutes before I arrived. (I live over 3 hours away. 30 minutes before they called I was somewhere in VT probably). So after having our room canceled, and then getting it, then lugging all our luggage up the 2nd floor, and then listening to the trucks, and then noticing that there was obviously not a decent ac/heating unit in service and more... I was quite upset. I went down to the lobby phone and talked to the desk clerk by phone (since he preferred to stay in his room and not come out to the desk). We canceled the rest of our stay and promised to vacate in the morning.
In the morning the breakfast was horrible. My husband said the eggs were salty, soggy, and gross. I took his word for it. Managed to get our daughter a waffle (which has become standard continental fair in most places now). I managed a bagel and some coffee. I reloaded our car and got us out of there as fast as I could.
The morning clerk, Ange was her name, was courteous when I checked out at least. She was aware of the fact that we were leaving and only charged us for the one night. They have a 72 hour cancellation policy which I think is nuts, but whatever... I asked her who the usual guests were and she said they get a lot of government rates and truckers. I did see that. In the summer they get some summer tourists and families, but lots of highway crew guys, Homeland Security, truckers, and whatnot. I imagine a single guy travels a lot lighter than a family on vacation does. They probably don't use the pool much either.

Never again for us. I am usually loyal to Choice Hotels but when were on another trip some of our friends were staying at a Best Western and they said good things about it. So I thought I would give the chain a chance on this trip since the rates were lower than the Choice hotels I was looking at. (Granted the location wasn't as convenient so I was trading location for price.).

While I was awake and unable to sleep that night I made a few phone calls and spent some time on the internet and after not having any luck with a place in Lincoln, I got us into a place in Lancaster. Not perfect location, but neither was Franconia.

So beyond me being overtired on arrival, let's review- 1)They canceled my reservation 30 minutes before I arrived even though they knew I was arriving around 11pm. (2)Mountainview = view of Interstate highway, including the on-ramp. So view and noise were definite issues. (3)Rude clerks in evening & overnight. (4)Breakfast was gross. (5)See photos. (6)Can't comment on pool because we didn't use it. (7)No elevator.

I think that's enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a parking lot view. Honestly it has to be quieter than the "mountain-view.". Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton-Est, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The room was a big disappointment. The ceiling had had a leak and the ceiling had not been repaired. The window in the room would not close so you could hear the traffic from the highway. The airconditioner was not working properly so the room was hot. Our room had an ajoining room with a door between and the people that were in that room were very noisy and you could hear everything like the door was open. We did make a complaint about the noise because it was 10:30 and the staff did handle it.There was lots of noise in the hallways as they were little children running up and down the halls all evening. It was not a restful experience

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located directly off interstate 93. Upon arrival we were given a room with a great view but preferred a room facing the parking lot so we could keep an eye on our Harley. The staff was very accommodating in moving us. This hotel is in the process of updating. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. They had just put in new carpeting in the hallways and the smell was very strong but didn't affect the room. The breakfast was ok but for the size of the hotel the eating area needs to be larger.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hcrossx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This place was terrible. The staff was sarcastic and rude. Our room smelled like old feet. The pool was gross and had a green tint to it. At 1230am we got a call from the front desk about noise on the floor!!! Mind you we were all asleep and they woke my 3 month old , 5 and 6 yr old up!!!!!! All the manager had to say when I brought my complaints to him was well you guys did get a discounted rate from orbitz? Wow please don't waste your time or money here

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank namias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is adequate. On the one hand, the staff are friendly and professional. On the other hand, the decor is tired, and the breakfast provides a powerful disincentive to return -- tables are jammed together, food is mediocre, just an overall unpleasant mealtime experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
746 reviews
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
11.2 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
273 reviews
2.4 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western White Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western White Mountain Inn

Property: Best Western White Mountain Inn
Address: 87 Wallace Hill Rd, off I-93 Exit 38, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western White Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn is an outdoor enthusiast's dream! Located in Franconia, this New Hampshire hotel proudly offers the best in customer service and amenities at an affordable rate. Guests staying at this Franconia inn will be a short distance from Cannon Mountain Ski Park, Loon Mountain Ski Resort and the Wildcat Mountain Ski area. Other nearby outdoor activities include hiking, biking and golf. Favorite attractions in Franconia include the Mount Washington Auto Road, Mt. Washington Cog Railway and Santa's Village. This Franconia, New Hampshire hotel offers spaciously-appointed guest rooms, each complete with high-speed Internet access and cable satellite television. This 100% non-smoking hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. Additional amenities at this New Hampshire inn include an larhe heated indoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, steam room and guest laundry. Business travelers will appreciate the hotel's business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome with restrictions. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Franconia, New Hampshire, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western White Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White Mountain Hotel Franconia
Best Western Franconia
Franconia Best Western
Best Western White Mountain Resort
Best Western White Mountain Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing