We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it or leave it”
Review of Westwind Cottages

Westwind Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwind Cottages
Reviewed 15 August 2013

When we read the most recent reviews of Westwind Cottages we were kind of worried what to expect. There was no reason for that whatsoever. Eric turned out to be a great, most friendly host (okay, we did not try the swing). The cabins we rented, Zealand 8&9, were great and very nicely priced, completely renovated, clean, spacious, equiped with all the facilities one needs and, very important, real good beds. There were even 6 (six!) towels a person. Two terraces, comfy chairs, picnic tables and bbq's. And a nice swimmingpool. The location is great since Westwind Cottages is not located in the busy part of the White Mountains and Franconia Notch. We stayed for 3 days and regretted leaving. Our stay in Westwiind Cottages was a highlight during our 3 week trip through New England and East-Canada. Thanks to Eric and Valerie.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josvanmeeuwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

I came to stay for two nights with my two oldest friends from the UK. It's a great place if you're looking for a friendly, relaxed place. It's not fancy and the places look like they haven't been done up for a while. It's got a great location near to lots of beautiful attractions at Franconia Notch. The best thing about it is Eric and Valerie, the hosts. Eric set up a campfire for us and provided SMORS for us to roast on it! They both gave a lot of advice about where to go and were genuine and kind people. It was also really comfortable and clean and we had the swimming pool all to ourselves! Great value!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val4ski, Owner at Westwind Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booked a three night stay at this "not so pet friendly" cottage recently. We arrived a bit before check in and owner seemed annoyed that we asked if we could check in . Couldnt pay by credit card ... apparently there was a lightning strike the week before and they hadnt fixed the credit card machine yet.... went to our small , run down cottage only to be told lightning also blew out tvs and they were replaced but tvs werent programed yet. owner had no clue how to fix it. Had to make our own beds... only gave us two towels. The owner then kicked my 10 yr old off the swing set.. told him he was over the weight limit.
We rented two cottages. One for us , family of four plus dog and one for parents. first day there we left dog in cottage while we checked out sights. Came back about 3 hours later to owner telling me dog barked every time she walked by cottage ... she couldnt have a dog barking. Next day we went out for about three hours... only to return and be told we could not leave dog in cottage again .. so our option was to leave... we had to pack up and go. Not very Pet friendly... or people friendly. Dont waste your time or money on this place. Our dog is only an 18lb puggle... who seemed to be a huge pest to her! Actually I think we all were a huge pest!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbertocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I notice that these reviews are all several years old. While Westwind was pretty much what we expected for the cost, others should be forewarned that the property is getting generally run-down so the first impression might be negative. The paint on the cottages is flaking badly and they are in need of general fixing up; the storm door on ours hung oddly and wouldn't close.

However, the inside was very clean and nicely appointed (the shower curtain, towels and bedding were all coordinated and seemed pretty new). We had a tiny 1-room cottage that held a queen size bed and one lounge chair. Only one side of the bed had a small night table. There was a small dresser with a very small (only barely larger than my 15" laptop) flat screen TV on top; a nice small refrigerator, microwave and toaster oven were in one corner. Dishes and silverware for 2 were provided, as was a dish rack, liquid detergent, paper towels. There was also a small table with 2 stools stored underneath but it wasn't really large enough to use for eating. Each cottage has its own charcoal grill and picnic table. The pictures on the web site were perhaps "representative" but the furniture shown in our cottage, e.g., was not the same that is in there now.

The bathroom fixtures appeared fairly new and all worked, though the sink stopper had to be manipulated from under the sink. The shower stall was very small but the water was hot and the showerhead worked! We didn't use the pool but children from other cottages were in it and having a good time. We did get the WiFi at our cottage, though we were told that not everybody can. There is no A/C but running the provided fan overnight with windows open kept us comfortable. The only real "problem" we had was that none of the lights was bright enough to read by at night.

Taking into consideration the cost and the location, I'd still rate it "very good," but it does have an "older" feel and I don't think the property is being kept up now. However, if you're looking for a low-budget option, it was quite adequate and I wouldn't mind going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val4ski, Owner at Westwind Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your on-target review. I wish we were able to do the outside updates this year, but we do have them on our radar as we continue to work on the insides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We highly recommend staying at Westwind Cottages. We had a blast. The owners Valerie & Eric are fantastic. It was everything we needed it to be for our vacation. Perfect accommodations!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swNewburyport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val4ski, Owner at Westwind Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

Thank you for your kudos, it's a pleasure to know the hard work is paying off. Our hope is that it will only continue to get better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Our stay at Westwind cottages was such a positive expierence. We picked the area because of all its attractions and offers but with Westwind cottages being so nice and friendly, we found ourselves staying there more than we ever have at other hotels/cottages/resorts. We all loved the pool, the friendly campfire at night, and the view was amazing! We will be planning a trip back again next summer - for sure!
I would recomend it for sure, no queshtion about it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateofthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My wife and i and our 2 dogs stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage with a full kitchen, a good size deck with both the sun and shade when you need it.Cannot say enough great things
about this place tucked away in the mountains. If your looking for a place that is quiet and you want to get away for awhile and do just about nothing this is the place for you, and you are only minutes away from such attractions as the flume, the basin, cannon mountain, you can take the tram up to the top, and echo state park.The pool is also very relaxing. The 2 owners Valerie, and eric, do all the work them selves, and it shows the cottages are spotless. Each night Eric will start a bonfire and all are welcome to sit around and make smores and even hotdogs and you will meet all kinds of nice people from all around the world.Again this is an awesome place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oneeyeWilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franconia hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
1.8 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mittersill Alpine Resort
Mittersill Alpine Resort
#6 of 8 in Franconia
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwind Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind Cottages

Address: 1614 Profile Rd, Route 18, Franconia, NH 03580-5207
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Franconia
Price Range: £48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and comfortable, pet and family friendly cottages with kitchenettes. Outdoor grills & picnic tables, in-ground pool, playground, horeshoes, indoor/outdoor games & puzzles, guest laundry, DVD/VCR and free movie library. 2-night minimum on reservations, 3+ night discounts and weekly rates. Quiet and refreshing, yet close to area attractions. Just downhill from Echo Lake & Franconia Notch State Park. Open Memorial Day to Columbus Day weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwind Cottages Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing