We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot in the backcounty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lonesome Lake Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lonesome Lake Hut
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot in the backcounty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Four of us stayed here for a short backcountry outing. The hut is probably one of the nicest and most spacious of all the AMC huts, and it's highly recommended if you looking to experience a bit of the back-country without packing the tent and stove - and it's great with kids. Here is the scoop: It's a ~2.3 mile hike in from the Layfayette campground parking lot, and while everyone says it is easy (and it is), note that you go up ~1,000 feet, so it's steep. If you are going in snow season, like we did, either bring snowshoes or 'microspikes'. When it is hardpacked (as it was for us), the microspikes / Yaktrax are the better choice. We'll bring those next time! Once you pop out on top, you'll see the beautiful Lonesome Lake, then it's a short .3 miles or so around the lake to the hut. In winter, they start a fire at 4pm, and you share access to the spacious kitchen. Bunkhouses are unheated, but have pretty comfy foam pads in lieu of a mattress. Our room had 7 spots, two double bunk beds and one triple stack (great for kids). There is plenty of water, and the caretaker keeps several pots of boiled water so there is plenty of safe water. Toilets are, as you might expect, composting pit toilets. Enjoy. The atmosphere is great, since everyone really wants to be there. The hut has games (e.g scrabble, cards, monopoly, etc.), and it gets to be quite the communal (in a good way, not the 1960's commune sort of thing) gathering before during and after dinner. Views from the hut overlook the lake (except for a few trees - hugely politically incorrect so suggest cutting them down for a better view, I suppose!). In the summer, they have a larger staff and activities, so it is a great spot once your kids are old enough for the hike and comfortable being a bit 'off the grid.' In winter, it is equally spectacular. Go and enjoy, you won't go wrong!

Room Tip: Get there early to select your bunk. Bring earplugs in case your roommates snore (ask me how I know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeantownBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

Lonesome Lake is a great place to take the familyt to experience the beauty of the mountains without the hassle of camping. The facilities are clean, although spartan, and the food is excellent.

My son loved the hike up (took 2 hours). We spent the afternoon walking around the lake and read a book on the dock. He swam in the lake as the sun set....amazing. The dinner was great and the company fantastic. There wqere about 10 kids under 10 there that night and there was a great program by a naturalist on owls.

If you are willing for a bit of an adventure, but want a roof, a mattress, and someone to cook the food -- go to Lonesome Lake.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EZTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Our first trip to an AMC hut and it was fabulous! A short but steep hike starting at Lafayette Campground leads you to this charming "hut" on serene Lonesome Lake. We got there and checked into our bunkhouse, which had been recently updated. We had a room with double bunks for the four of us so we did not have to sleep communally. Very cozy, easily opened screened windows, little ledges on the wall by each bed to store flashlight, glasses, water bottles, etc. Pillows and cases and 3 wool blankets for each bed are provided. Bring sheets or sleeping sack/sleeping bag. The kids played in the lake but it was very cold so they didn't stay in it long. Lots of kids running around - very family friendly. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and there was plenty of food. All is prepared by the hut staff, who are gracious, friendly and knowledgeable. You can hang out in the dining room to play games, talk, read until lights out at 9:30 pm. Wake up call is a musical number at 6:30 am. We were serenaded by a young man on guitar singing about "eggs and coffee and oatmeal and more coffee." It started the day off with a good laugh. Most everyone is up and out by 8-9 am. For more adventure, hike approximately 2 miles up Cannon Mt. and then you can take the Tramway back down (trail does have some areas where you have to climb up boulders and use hands to pull yourself up). This is a great place to go for an overnight with the kids to get them used to hiking and "camping". Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Hiked the 1.5 mile uphill distance to this hut. which is the terminus on the Eastern end of the presidential range huts that include Galehead, Zealand, etc running to the west. Enjoyable hike near Franconia Notch State Park. Much lower elevation than Mt. Washington area so views are not as spectacular, but are still beautiful. We had been at Lakes of the Clouds the previous night. VERY different experience from Lakes of the Clouds, yet still a great place to stay.

Lakes of the Clouds is the biggest hut in the presidential range and I belive that Lonesome Lake may be the smallest (if not, very close). We enjoyed the quiet solitude of this hut vs. the busy-ness of LOTC. Great "still as glass" lake to cool off in and enjoy a nice swim. Completely secluded and peaceful.

Bunk rooms were recently upgraded and we were fortunate enough to have a 4 bunk room to ourselves as Lonesome Lake had vacancies unlike LOTC the night before.

Dinner was spicy pasta (a little too spicy), veggie soup, veggies, bread, and a really good chocolate peanut butter brownie. Very quiet, peaceful dinner with about 25-30 people in this hut. More families and kid friendly than LOTC and children with other groups seemed to enjoy the swimming in the lake, the ability to explore via the loop trail around Lonesome Lake and the board games available in abundance.

Bathrooms are more primitive at this hut vs. LOTC. LOTC bathrooms were inside the hut. Lonesome lake is pit toilets in a little hut outside the lodging buildings. (can be a challenge at night...have a headlamp at the ready!) This was okay EXCEPT the men's bathroom was right over the wall (which did not extend completely to the ceiling) so if you have any modesty or privacy issues with members of the opposite sex being a thin wall away...this is not the hut for you!! This is something I struggled with and might influence whether I return to this hut in the future or not. Also..only 2 sinks for the entire hut. For females this can cause some issues with having to wait quite awhile at times for grooming, etc.

Overall it was still a great experience (LOTC is my current favorite and I would return there without a second thought to it) but the bathroom situation is a definite gut check at Lonesome Lake.

One final thought...the AT runs through here so you will encounter thru-hikers as well. We met a great couple of retired teachers who's experiences on the AT (they started in Maine) were very interesting. They actually exchanged email with us and we got some great pics of the rest of their hike and a notification when they finished...an added unique element to the stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeepNean09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franconia hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
0.0 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mittersill Alpine Resort
Mittersill Alpine Resort
#6 of 8 in Franconia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonesome Lake Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonesome Lake Hut

Property: Lonesome Lake Hut
Address: Cannon Mountain, Franconia, NH
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Franconia
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Lonesome Lake Hut Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing