We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to just kick back or hike/bike .......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinestead Farm Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pinestead Farm Lodge
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“If you want to just kick back or hike/bike .......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed with my wife and 3 grown daughers. We had a good price and had 3 rooms with a kitchen area and a bathroom. It is a very laid back operation. The host are nice folks. No credit cards accepted. Beds were really comfy and the homemade quilts were a nice touch. We went hiking on the Greenleaf Trail up to the AMC hut just below Lafayette Peak. This isn't the trail for the weak. Get started early, especially if you want to get up to Lafayette. Other than the worn carpet in the kitchen area, I really don't have any complaints. I have stayed before and enjoyed it with a bunch of guy friends while hiking. Nice location, but a little drive to any place to eat. The Franconia Inn has excellent meals and is the closest right down the street, but is a bit pricey. Also you can horseback ride there and get glider rides. I would not hesitate to recommend the Pinestead, but keep in mind that it is a bit "rustic" so if you are used to the Ritz, this might come up a might short for your taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RADARSHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Bob and Kathleen provide you with everything you need during a perfect stay. Their farm is a really nice place and we felt very welcomed and comfortbale there.
They provide you with a lot of info to make your stay perfect, but we never felt bothered by them.
One of the greatest things is that you are really close to a lot of points of interests and that you can create your own meal with their vegetables in the kitchen.
We are sure that we will come back at one point!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
münchen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

If you want to experience New England at it's most cozy and heartfelt, this is the place to do it! Pinestead Farm is family run, a working farm, and they even make their own maple syrup in their own sugar house! Each of the apartments is lovingly decorated. The traditional quilts are also home made - and can be bought at their store in town - and are cozy to snuggle into at night. Each bedroom in our apartment had a double and single bed - easy for the family to share rooms. The kitchen is fully equipped. We didn't cook but could have. Don't expect luxury, but everything is clean, functional and cozy. The setting is gorgeous and you can walk the grounds, visit the animals and hike. Perfect for a stay if you want to see Franconia Notch! Thanks to the wonderful family for their outstanding hospitality. We felt truly "at home"!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank werbeelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liège
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

A farm lodge with little comfort but all the necessary things were there. Everything was clean and ready at our arrival.
One kitchen is shared for 3 rooms. We were alone at that time and the kitchen was great. It is a good place for a visit in the white mountains region. We had a great time with our 13 month child.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 9213olivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

Very nice place, has everything what you need in a rustic setting. We spent 2 nights of our NH/Maine trip at the lodge, marvellous piece of land to stroll around between intruiging machinery. The owners were very nice people, very helpful in suggesting us some nice walks we managed to do in the (unfortunately) short period of time we were there.
Would definatley recommend this place to people visiting the area!

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DriesDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

I went from TX to NH to visit my daughter & grandchildred. We decided very last minute to go the the White Mts. for Labor Day wk-end. Grandchildred ranged from 9 yrs. to under 2 yrs. We were fortunate to find availability. The area was beautiful. The farm was well kept, room were very clean. It is a farm, so nothing fancy, however; for the money we saved and the proximity to all we wanted to see & do, it was great. We had living area, 2 bedrooms, and a very nice kitchen. Local attractions were within driving distance. We hiked & did sightseeing every day. The mattresses were a bit hard, and the couch not too comfortable. The owners were very pleasant & helpful, great porch & rockers for a late evening glass of wine. There was even a small play area for the kids with swing & slide. I would highly recommend for anyone who doesn't need room service & likes saving money.

  • Liked — great value for the price
  • Disliked — matresses a little hard
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vbm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

I have been using Pinestead for winter ski trips for families for 7 years now and truly consider it a home away from home.

The four efficiency units are very simple, the furnishings eclectic, and the spaces between the units are unheated but it is spotlessly clean, the beds are comfortable, the showers hot and the rooms themselves are well heated. (Not airconditioned though for summer visitors!) Best of all, Bob and Kathleen Sherburn are welcoming and accommodating and full of wonderful stories and endless advice on what to do, where to go in the area.

Pinestead makes a great base for winter (or anytime) fun in the Whites. The lodge is located just down the road from the Franconia Inn and backs onto the Inn's network of XC ski trails. It is 12 minutes from Cannon Mtn for down hill skiing, 35 minutes to Bretton Woods (down hill and XC), 35 minutes from Loon and Lincoln.

The farm also has great appeal for kids with chickens, horses, maple sugaring and a large garden to explore (depending on season)

We come with groups of 10-25 people and take over 3-4 of the units at a time, using one (Pantry) as our cooking and socializing area and the others for downtime. We usually bring most of our food from home but the supermarket in the center of Franconia offers most everything you could want at reasonable prices.

If you're looking for a clean, comfortable, welcoming place to lay your head, I heartily recommend Pinestead. If you're looking for the Ritz... or even a Holiday Inn (with tv's, phones etc)... look on.

  • Liked — rustic comfort
  • Disliked — poor cell phone reception
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank safarilady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
7.7 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
7.3 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#5 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Farm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Farm Lodge

Property: Pinestead Farm Lodge
Address: 2059 Easton Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5115
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Franconia
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Pinestead Farm Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing